We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Kayak Tours, LLC

Tierra Verde, FL, USA
More
About Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Come explore Shell Key Preserve with us. We offer a 3 hour guided kayak adventure for just $28 per person. Our 50/50 Shell Key tour provides views of the mangrove keys & local wildlife you can't get from any motorized vessel and time on the island of Shell Key to swim, shell hunt, or relax. Tours are scheduled daily, weather permitting. Visit our website for more information. Call or text us to schedule your tour.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Overview
You get an expert guide to show you through the mangrove tunnels (tide permitting) and time your adventure just right to give you the best chance at seeing dolphins & manatees who only visit the area at certain times of the day. You also get time to explore Shell Key, whether that means shelling, swimming, snorkeling, or simply enjoying the view. Keep in mind our tours take place in a shallow saltwater preserve. There are no alligators, and most of the water is knee to waist-deep; perfect for both beginners and experts. Growing up here in St. Petersburg has given me more experience in Shell Key than any other kayak company. Kayaking is one of my favorite things to do. This has allowed me the opportunity to find all the best kayaking spots and to accumulate the local knowledge to give you a true Florida experience, something other kayak companies just can’t do. I started this kayaking company to share these places with you.
156Reviews5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 155
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Megan B wrote a review Apr 18
1 contribution
Highly recommend these guys! Scott provided so much information about where we were and kept us entertained the entire time! The whole trip lasted around 3 hours. We paddled to an island, had some time to walk around, paddled through mangrove tunnels, and back to shore. The pace that was set was perfect, not too fast where you’d get tired quickly. Beyond worth the $28!!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Tiffany S wrote a review Apr 13
1 contribution
We have gone on several kayaking tours . This tour was one of the best. Our guides Scott and Karissa were genuinely kind people who both knew about the area, but the land as well. They had a great sense of humor and really wanted everyone just to have a wonderful experience. We were blessed to see dolphins, that is always a bonus!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from islandkayakt, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you very much for all the kind words and taking the time to leave us a wonderful review! We had so much fun kayaking with your family at Shell key. The dolphin show that day was a really nice surprise! We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation and look forward to seeing you again next time. Safe travels. Scott & Karissa
Read more
Michelle A wrote a review Apr 10
1 contribution
The location of the launch site was changed last minute. A text was sent regarding this but it wasn't super clear as to the change as it still told me to go through the toll booth and park in the first lot, which I did. I finally got in touch with Karissa and informed us they would be in a grass lot BEFORE the toll booth. We went there and were greeted and put in kayaks. All was going well and I was thoroughly enjoying the trip. Once we arrived at shell island, the male in charge from Island Kayak Adventures approached me to address the error in location. Instead of just saying, "hey is everything good?" or "sorry about the miscommunication", he decided to berate me and yell at me (and HE DID YELL AT ME) in front of my friends and family, as well as the people on the trip that I didn't know. He wanted 100% to prove he was right and that "everything was my fault" he did not let up until I was crying and had to tell him multiple times to walk away from me. I'm not sure why he felt the need to do that and definitely not at this point in the trip. He ruined the entire experience. Despite his unprofessional actions, they still deemed it fit to charge me full price. If you want to be yelled at and pay for it, this is the trip for you! They do not understand that the change in the location is not why I am upset. It was the harassments and argumentativeness received from them during the middle of our trip. They have never apologized to me in any way .All communication from them has only been to prove how right they believe they are. Zero customer service from these two... I was not upset until they approached me in the middle of the trip and were hostile towards me. Could the directions of been clearer, sure, but that IS NOT WHY I AM UPSET.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from islandkayakt, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Responded 1 week ago
Michelle, we have spoken privately and apologized for the misunderstanding over the launch site location. This was a weather related change, and we did this to make your tour more enjoyable. The notice of change was sent to you the evening before your tour. This included written directions, a link to a map, and street address. When you responded to the message we thought you were clear on the directions. We will work to be sure the wording is as clear as possible in the future. At no point did anyone yell at you and no one was trying to prove anyone wrong. As I past out shell bags to your family on the beach I asked if everything was "OK" and you were clearly mad. As you said "I was mad early but it's getting better" I apologize again and asked "if there was any way we could have done things better" since we were in private and no guests were around. I asked this question so we would not make this mistake again and you would not be mad at us. This is what was said. Everyone in your group came up to me after the tour and told me they had a wonderful time. We are sorry that you did not. We apologized for the confusion and you were still mad. As we told you in our private communication.
Read more
Cara wrote a review Apr 10
1 contribution
This was a great trip for my whole family, ages 12 to 78. It was a relaxing paddle with great views and wonderful guides that gave so much information about the plants, animals and area in general. Thank you, Scott and Karissa!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from islandkayakt, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Responded 1 week ago
You're very welcome! Thank you so much for coming out with us. We enjoyed the opportunity to paddle around Shellkey with you all. Thank you so much for all the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again next time. Safe travels. Scott &Karissa
Read more
Norma R wrote a review Apr 7
1 contribution
The kayak adventure with Scott and Karissa was exceptional from start to finish. The communication for booking was quick, efficient, and pleasant. Upon arrival, I was greeted warmly and by Scott and Karissa and introduced to the others that would be paddling with us. Scott has an engaging personality and shared his local knowledge of birds, plants, weather, and history. Super fun are the cormorants who swim and dive next to and under the kayaks! I have been over to Shell Key several times via the shuttle but this experience was hands down the most awesome way to explore the preserve and surrounding area! We explored several mangrove tunnels and then had plenty of time to explore Shell Key on foot. Scott took the lead and Karissa brought up the rear making sure all guests were attended to, safe, and included. Another bonus is that Scott is former Navy and I so appreciate supporting a member of our armed forces that start up small and local businesses.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from islandkayakt, Owner at Island Kayak Tours, LLC
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for coming out kayaking with us. We enjoyed getting to know you and showing you all of Shell Keys treasures. Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you again next time. Scott &Karissa
Read more
Previous