Spa Oceana at The Don CeSar

Spa Oceana at The Don CeSar

Spa Oceana at The Don CeSar
4.5
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Spa Oceana at The Don CeSar and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles53 reviews
Excellent
40
Very good
6
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
5

LDA
Tampa, FL2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
My sister flew in from Phoenix to Florida to surprise me for my 40th Birthday. She chose The Don Cesar because each time I have stayed at the hotel, the spa was booked, and I have always wanted a spa day at Spa Oceana. Months in advance, she reserved spa appointments for 9/19 for me, herself, and our Mom so that we could have a girls spa day.

The very moment that our massage was about to begin, a fire alarm went off, forcing everyone on site to go outside. For spa goers, that meant we went outside in our robes (mine had several brown stains on it from a previous guest). We stood outside of the hotel with the other guests in the heat and heavy robes for about 30 minutes until we were told that it was safe to go back in.

On our way back inside Spa Oceana, front desk supervisor, Victoria H., informed all spa guests that we could only receive the service booked for the duration of our pre-booked time. Therefore, my mom, sister, and I only received a 20 minute massage, not the one hour massage we had all been looking forward to.

Although the 20 minute massage was "comped" we actually lost money because we tipped the three masseuses for the entire hour, as the fire drill was not their fault.

Upon checking out of Spa Oceana, Victoria apologized for the inconvenience, but did not offer for us to come back later that day or the next for us to receive the service we had been anticipating for months.

I have never been so disappointed in a spa--especially one that is associated with a hotel that is supposed to be luxury. I have stayed at The Don several times with nary an issue. It is so sad that all of these negative events unfolded on what was supposed to be a special weekend for my family.
Written September 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that the fire alarm went off unexpectedly during your visit but we are happy to see that everyone was able to exit to safety and that no one was hurt. Your care and safety is our highest mission. When we received your feedback our Management Team reached out immediately to you and discussed ways to make your next visit more enjoyable which we are happy to report you were very satisfied with our resolution. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Written October 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Megan S
Onawa, IA40 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 • Couples
My husband and I really enjoyed our massages today. Unfortunately what ruined the entire experience was that we were forced into paying 22% gratuity. When I questioned the service desk about the gratuity she was very firm that the therapists deserved that amount. While I was planning to tip them well, I wasn’t aware prior to booking about the 22% gratuity. The therapists did a nice job, but didn’t go above and beyond to the extent of 22%. (For example they arrived several minutes after our scheduled time and finished early.)

I agree with other reviews in that the roof top garden is severely lacking. There are a sparse number of plants/flowers and the fountain isn’t even working. The cushions and furniture are stained and the general maintenance of the facility is lacking for the 5 star price we paid.

I appreciated that they validated our parking, but they did not offer that information to me, I had to inquire about it.

Unfortunately, I would not recommend a spa here for the prices that they charge for the services we received in the environment that we had.
Written March 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We spoke with you a day after you left this review and you instructed us to reduce the overall service charge to a total of 15% and we obliged your request and issued you a refund which you stated left you satisfied. We apologize that you were not aware of the Resort's service charge policy before you booked your treatments. For your convenience, a 22% service charge is automatically added to all spa services and reviewed with you at check-out. 19% goes directly to your Massage Therapist and 3% goes to the support staff, like our Spa Attendant Team.
Written March 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carley S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Couples
Would literally give this 0 stars if I could. The on-site staff was fine however there was construction happening throughout our 2-3 hour treatment directly below the room. We both left with headaches. Management did not care once contacted. Literally had to listen to drills and hammering shaking the floor while I was getting a massage. We were not told about the construction prior to entering the treatment room.
Written June 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We apologize that you're experience was diminished due to the renovations taking place. We would have been happy to assist you with re-scheduling your treatments to a different day or would have offered other options if you would have made us aware of your dissatisfaction. We do care about your experience and hope you have the opportunity to visit in the future so we can make it up to you. --The Spa Oceana Team
Written September 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cara M
Columbus, OH11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Solo
Never even got a chance - botched reservation system and no staffing for phone calls. I tried calling 5x in the past 2 weeks and either no answer or placed on hold so long I had to hang up. Sent 2 reservation requests through their email portal well in advance of my stay. Never heard back. When I finally got through to a human on the phone, they said they don't even process the online requests and had no availability left for the services. The whole customer experience was so poor I'm glad I didn't waste my money here.
Written May 1, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elizabeth B
New York City, NY2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Had the 2nd worst massage in my life; not the quality I'd expect for the Don Caesar and for the high price of the service. Shower walls and floor were also coated with other people's hair / hair ball, experienced after the terrible massage. Staff gave me 10% off. Didn't offset the disappointment. Wish I'd seen reviews of the massage staff in advance.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are disappointed that your visit did not exceed your expectations. We strive to provide a clean environment with pristine facilities and a talented team of massage therapists to assist you with your wellness needs. We would love the opportunity to discuss with you further as we take your feedback very seriously. And would like the opportunity to invite you back so we can show you how your experience has helped us improve!
Written February 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kim
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Couples
Yesterday my husband and I came to the resort for $700 worth of spa services for his birthday. Our massage therapists were great, however, we were disappointed with the hot environment. It seems that the A/C stopped working at the spa which caused the rooms to be hot. The massage therapists also stated that the heat in the rooms was not normal. They tried to increase our comfort by not putting the bed warmers on. The hot rooms offset the relaxation of the spa treatment when you're sweating. I would imagine a high end hotel would have done better. I reached out to management and they apologized & said they hope I visit in the future. Definitely not for a hefty price tag to sit in a uncomfortably hot room. There was no resolution to the A/C issue.
Written December 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Melanie Stanford
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
I had Beverly for my hair stylist and she was terrific! Very professional and personable, and did a great job. My hair looked so Beautiful when she was done that I just absolutely loved it. I am extremely satisfied and will definitely be back to see her, thanks again!
Written March 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sunlovinmama
Bedford282 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Solo
Spent a wonderful, relaxing 1/2 hour getting a mini pedi at the spa. They serve this delicious coconut oil water in the lobby. the massage chairs are a necessary touch. My manicurist was so sweet and helped me pick the right color. For the mini pedi, you still get a lot of TLC. And the hotel is marvelous!
Written March 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brooke618
Apollo Beach, FL41 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018
I had the pleasure of visiting Spa Oceana at the Don CeSar. What is better than a spa day? A spa day overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. It was a cloudy day, however, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The spa is modern and immaculate. Staff members are friendly and will go out of their way to assist guests. I selected the Oceana renewal treatment. This consisted of a lovely scrub followed by a moisturizing custom massage. Nicole was my therapist and she did not disappoint. I cannot wait to go back. FYI-parking will be validated for spa guests. Thank you for a relaxing, stress free experience.
Written March 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for choosing Spa Oceana to escape into blissful relaxation. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and for recognizing our Team & their passion for excellence! We cannot wait to welcome you back for another peaceful and serene spa day.
Written March 14, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kristen K
Tampa, FL7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
My Dad, sisters and I bought the Day of Indulgence for our Mom for Mother's Day and it was the most perfect day! She rarely pampers herself and this was the best gift- massage, facial, break for lunch/relaxing, mani/pedi and a blow out. The products they use are all organic, and you receive a voucher for lunch as well. Overall, it was an incredible experience and we are going to be making this an annual tradition.
Written May 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 50
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Spa Oceana at The Don CeSar - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All St. Pete Beach HotelsSt. Pete Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. Pete Beach
All things to do in St. Pete Beach
Day Trips in St. Pete BeachAmusement Parks in St. Pete Beach
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars