We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capt. Jay's Deep Sea Fishing Miami

Features Animals
Miami Beach, FL, USA
More
About Capt. Jay's Deep Sea Fishing Miami
Deep sea charter fishing on the All New 57' Custom built USCG licensed & Inspected "Spellbound". A/C at sea, fishing for Sailfish, Shark, Marlin, Mahi, Tuna, Snapper, Grouper & More. We are licensed by the Coast Guard to carry up to 20+ passengers. We can take your larger group fishing all together on our one boat!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Capt. Jay's Deep Sea Fishing Miami
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
47Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 41
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erik S wrote a review Feb 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I’m not sure how it could be much worse. My friends and I went for a bachelor party venture and the weather was supposed to be a possibility of showers. There was no precaution by the captain at all and we just went out to sea. 6-7 foot swells with the entire boat rocking and 1 guy getting sick. I would have expected the captain to advise us at least beforehand so we have an idea of the weather conditions and concerns. He didn’t. Then, 4 of us made our way to the top deck and the captain repeated made outlandish racist remarks the entire time. He made all of us extremely uncomfortable and even asked one of our guys why he was wearing a BLUE shirt!!! Some of us are from GA and he asked us why Georgia turned blue!?!? We didn’t catch much of anything and we ended the trip early because of the weather and not to mention how uncomfortable we all felt. I feel bad that this man is so small minded but political views and racist comments don’t belong in any form with a paying customer. We should get a refund for that nonsense.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay C, Manager at Capt. Jay's Deep Sea Fishing Miami
Responded Feb 16, 2021
I see two reviews for the same trip .... So I will post our reply again here Good afternoon Mr. Renfroe, We replied to your feedback via email the very next day you informed us you were unhappy with your experience. We investigated your the circumstances you discussed and understand when rain occurs 45 min into a trip, many miles offshore it is out of our control and not our policy to cancel trips due to potential rain, and generally most customers prefer to keep fishing. We understood you decided that was not what you wanted to do and the Capt. returned to the dock safely with fish in hand, at your request. Our business policy is to not get involved in political conversations and we are sorry a political conversation occurred on your trip. Please know this policy has since been reviewed with all of our staff and crew. We sincerely appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and would be happy to extend a special offer to you if you should return to give us another opportunity to give you a great fishing experience.
Read more
Adam R wrote a review Feb 2021
Jacksonville, Florida1 contribution
For clarity, I am a white dude who was in Miami Beach at a bachelor party with 3 other white dudes and 4 of our closest brown friends. Deep sea fishing was supposed to be the highlight of our trip and turned out to be the worst experience we had in Miami Beach. Once we were on the boat and headed out to fish, Captain Manny, unsolicited, started discussing everyone's favorite subject, politics! We tried to move on from the conversation so we could enjoy the fishing but he refused. Shortly after, he began making overtly racist comments one after another. We were absolutely floored that he was making these comments at all, much less that he is hosting paying customers on a $1700 private fishing tour. All of this happened in the first 30 minutes which completely ruined our trip and made all of us uncomfortable. To make matters worse, it was absolutely pouring on us the entire time but Manny didn't use 'Captain's Discretion' and cancel the trip. And the customer-last mentality continued after emails to Captain Jay (owner) and Kim have gone unanswered. I sent a polite and candid email to Captain Jay to let him know that one of his employees (Captain Manny) is conducting himself in a manner that should be concerning to them. And....no response... Stay away from this company. There are plenty of charters in Miami so no need to subject yourself to a racist.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Jay C, Manager at Capt. Jay's Deep Sea Fishing Miami
Responded Feb 16, 2021
Good afternoon Mr. Renfroe, We replied to your feedback via email the very next day you informed us you were unhappy with your experience. We investigated your the circumstances you discussed and understand when rain occurs 45 min into a trip, many miles offshore it is out of our control and not our policy to cancel trips due to potential rain, and generally most customers prefer to keep fishing. We understood you decided that was not what you wanted to do and the Capt. returned to the dock safely with fish in hand, at your request. Our business policy is to not get involved in political conversations and we are sorry a political conversation occurred on your trip. Please know this policy has since been reviewed with all of our staff and crew. We sincerely appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and would be happy to extend a special offer to you if you should return to give us another opportunity to give you a great fishing experience.
Read more
Raymond K wrote a review Jul 2019
Houston, Texas186 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
Best fishing trip ever ever. We have done many trips but this is by far the best ever. Capt Manny on day 1 and Capt Jay on day 2 kept putting us on fish. The first mate Mike was just epic and so friendly! They all know their business so well. Keep this going guys. We will be back for more!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
helloaloha11 wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom188 contributions68 helpful votes
I don’t know how much upset I was with this company. We made a reservation one day prior and before we processed the payment, we asked to confirm whether the captain would take us to the gulf stream or not as we were looking for Mahi Mahi. The person who picked up the phone said “Yes” therefore, we made a reservation. Since there were 12 people, so they charged us for $1450 which is a bit much for 6 hours but well, we booked last minute and they have a big boat.. we agreed with it. On the arrival day, we got on the boat. The captain was very arrogant, rude and acted as if he was doing us a favor and he acted as if all of us were brunch of idiots and knew nothing about fishing. On top of that, he charged us 20% tip up front! and overcharged us $50 (we found out later) Since the captain seemed to have the impression that we must be an idiot, so he only cruised around North Miami beach. He did not go far at all. There was no effort from him and his crew and on top of that I heard they talked behind our back. What a great service especially up front tip!!!! Please bear in mind that everyone noticed about your behavior but we did not want to say as we did not want to ruin the trip. After cruising around North Miami beach and of course we did not catch any fish since we were not even 3 miles away from the coast meanwhile there were around 3-4 fishing boats near us.. definitely you would catch nothing.. therefore my friend asked if they could stop at the sand bar where is right to their deck. If course, the captain was not very happy and said sth about extra charges. Regardless whether or not you want to hAve a great fishing experience, please avoid this company, please go somewhere else as they will think of u as an easy money.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Veritas12345 wrote a review Jun 2019
Miami, Florida114 contributions70 helpful votes
Bait and switch job. We paid these guys $1500 for just 4 hours of 'deep sea fishing' We were 8 adults and 4 kids and they charged same for kids as adults. The captain, Manny, was extremely arrogant and rude and made us pay his tip (20%) up front. He didnt ask a single question about our experience fishing and just looked at us as if we were dumb tourists. He seemed in a bad mood and spend most of the time on the phone or radio talking friends about guys inspecting boats the previous day. He spent little time on 12 customers. Zero customer focus nor manners. He took us about half a mile out and then over to an area that was polluted with other boats included research and group charters. Not a good start. As we were families with kids, we politely tried to make the most of it and inquired and asked whether we would use live bait and go out further, but the captain insisted on keeping us a mile offshore (clearly to preserve gas and increase profit) so we just cruised around off the cost of North Miami beach. No hunting for fish. No deep sea as we had asked (and paid for). It was clear that we wouldnt catch anything in this area so when 3 o clock hit and everyone's patience was thin, one of our friends said for the sake of the kids to stop by for a swim in the spot that was right next to the marina where the boat is kept. The captain acted as if this was a big ask and even murmured something about an extra cost...though it was literally on the way back and littler right in front of the Haulover marina! When we got back we complained to Kim and asked her why we had this experience even though we expressly asked for deep sea fishing (i had asked if the boat goes out to gulf stream which is found several miles off shore, not a half mile off which is as far as we went. I had also asked if they use live bait. Having gone deep sea fishing many times before, I know what to expect and this was clearly not deep sea fishing. To make matters worse, the owner, Jay, called to lecture me at one point arrogantly pointed out that he was taking his precious time to speak to me as if he was some big shot and I was some nobody. He even made veiled threats as if paranoid we would cancel payment on our credit cards. Class act. While I agreed with him that one cannot guarantee catching fish, it is very clear to any reasonable person that one cannot catch fish if one doesn't try (the captain did not try hard at all) and its impossible to catch deep sea fish if you don't go out into the DEEP SEA! Same logic as you cant hunt deer in your backyard. We even asked him to return part of tip and said 10% vs 20% would be fair and our friends also reported that they overcharged us by $50 despite being super clear on the total amount. In the end they only returned less than 1% of the total! The cherry on the cake was when Jay the owner texted me today asking to take down a review...I hadnt written my review yet...this was surely one of our friends but it stands to reason how incredibly immoral some people are to think they can rip people off and then try to bully and silence them! Absolutely shameful!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Miami Beach
from $60.00
More Info
from $700.00
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
from $40.34
More Info