We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
fun

My wife and I rented a couple beach cruisers (their least expensive bikes) and took a ride around... read more

Reviewed February 25, 2016
ElBirdos
,
Saint Louis, Missouri
Nice folks - iffy Scooters

Son and I rented scooters to motor around on Marco Island. The staff was helpful if a bit cavalier... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2014
Mas S
via mobile
Read all 10 reviews
1
All photos (1)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good10%
  • Average10%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible30%
Feb 29, 2016
“Great bike”
Feb 25, 2016
“fun”
About
Scootertown is Marco Islands oldest and best place to rent motor scooters and bicycles for all ages and all sizes. We also rent beach strollers, beach wheelchairs and much more.
Contact
1095 Bald Eagle Dr, Marco Island, FL 34145-2193
Website
+1 239-394-8400
Call
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
5
1
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
1
1
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2016

I rented a hybrid bike for three weeks in February. and was given a Jamis Citizen 2. What a great bike, comfortable, smooth riding and fast. I rode for miles off the island and never had a problem. I did have a flat tire while...More

Thank Carb711
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Hello Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to hear the bicycle was so comfortable and everything went smoothly for you, unfortunately those flats can happen as we all kow, but I am glad we got you back on the road quickly. We...More

Reviewed February 25, 2016

My wife and I rented a couple beach cruisers (their least expensive bikes) and took a ride around Marco Island. We checked out some homes, went to Tigertail Beach, rode by the bald eagle sanctuary, and then went to lunch at Lee B Fish. All...More

1  Thank ElBirdos
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are always happy to hear when someone has such a wonderful time bicycling around our Island. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

I rented a Pedego electric bike for 3 days and throughly enjoyed it. I highly recommend trying this new way of biking - it a ball and the extra power comes in nicely against headwinds and for longer rides and hills. Matt, the owner was...More

1  Thank rc56
Matthew W, Manager at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2016

Rob, Thank you so much for the review, I am very glad you enjoyed your cruise around the island on the electric bike, it sure is a fun way to check it out and a little faster. I hope you stop by and see us...More

Reviewed April 11, 2015

Tons of bikes and accessories. Excellent knowledge of the Island and where to go and avoid. Was very helpful. Love the talking birds too. Feels real Island life like!More

Thank Darian B
Matthew W, Manager at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2015

Darian, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Scootertown. We enjoy advising our guests on where to ride and where the best places to go, or even the hidden places as well. I hope you come visit us again soon, and...More

Reviewed March 22, 2015

Quick, easy bike rentals...baskets, lock included ...no fuss ...sign in and go.. Check in , check out simple no time waisted

Thank rickysred
Matthew W, Manager at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Hello Thank you for taking the time to send us a review!! I am glad you had a great time with our bicycles, we try to make it as quick and easy as possible. We sure hope you join us again soon!!

Reviewed December 8, 2014

I have never left a bad review but I was surprised by the staff at this business. The person we dealt with was rude to me more than once and was rude to other customers in front of me. The bikes are not in good...More

1  Thank Rosemarie F
Matthew W, Manager at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Rosemarie, I am very upset to hear you did not have a great experience at our shop and that our staff was rude to you is unacceptable and will not be tolerated and I will have a meeting with them asap about this happening again....More

Reviewed November 30, 2014

we visited the shop with our twenty something adult kids & were repeatedly told that scooters were not available. However, we rode by continually & scooters were sitting there in the same spot day after day. I truly believe that the owner did not want...More

Thank Michelle C
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2014

Hello Michelle, First of all we do not discriminate against any one, we do however have certain policies for scooter rentals, all of which most people in your party fit (18 years of old and above, with valid drivers license and credit card), but we...More

Reviewed August 21, 2014

Son and I rented scooters to motor around on Marco Island. The staff was helpful if a bit cavalier about the equipment. He did fully review and explain all safety and controls of the motor scooters. However, when I asked about the near end of...More

Thank Mas S
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Hello, We are very sorry you did not fully enjoy your scooter experience, we strive on having the best possible equipment to ensure a fun and safe time for everyone. The two scooters you rented are older, but we always mention the option to renters...More

Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went in to rent a mid range bike for a few days for a friend who wanted something more than the basic beach cruiser. The curmudgeonly guy grumbled about it and when he checked his own bike from his own rack, it needed repairs...More

1  Thank 171,959
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hello Thank you for your review and I am sorry you had the experience you felt you did. I have to respectively tell my side of exactly what happened in this situation. First, I am the "curmudgeonly" person you dealt with when your friend and...More

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We rented 2 cruisers and spent the day exploring the nature-filled island while getting our tans and exercise on. Best part was the incredibly helpful shop owner, who provided us with a map, suggested routes and stops, and hints for where we can spot manatees....More

1  Thank travelpleasures
Matthew W, Owner at Scootertown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a great review!! We are so happy you saw so many manatees, I haven't seen one in years! I sure hope you stop by the next time you are in town, maybe you can...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Marco Resort and Club
28 reviews
.27 miles away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
264 reviews
.31 miles away
The Boat House Motel
872 reviews
.36 miles away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
612 reviews
1.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 125 nearby restaurants
Sweet Annie's
464 reviews
.99 miles away
Paradise Seafood & Gourmet Market
175 reviews
.88 miles away
Lee Be Fish
1,592 reviews
.28 miles away
Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn
393 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 199 nearby attractions
Malenda Trick Art Gallery
34 reviews
.28 miles away
Keewaydin Express
24 reviews
.48 miles away
Local Color Art Gallery
10 reviews
.28 miles away
Island Bike Shop
49 reviews
.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Scootertown staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines