We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About American Balloons
Hot Air Balloons Flights over the beautiful growing terrain of Lutz, Land O Lakes, Wesley Chapel, New Tampa, Zephyrhills, and St Leo Area. Soaring over the tree tops at the mercy of the winds. All this followed by a traditional champagne toast and hot breakfast at our local airport cafe'. We are located close to Tampa and just off the interstate for easy access no matter where you are visiting. We look forward to making your dreams a reality.
Read more
Travelers talk about

American Balloons
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
126Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 106
  • 10
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Renewed82 wrote a review Jul 2021
9 contributions
I was given a gift certificate 2 years ago for me and my husband to ride in one of their air balloons. We have scheduled it 3 different times and all 3 times it was cancelled because of weather. I know this isn't there fault but this has been going on 2 years now. We live 3 hours away and we have to be there at 530am to ride. We have spent more money on hotel rooms, food, gas, and taken time off work to do this then I would like to admit. Plus we had to put down a deposit to ride. This gift has turned into a burdon. They are going to extend our gift certificate because it is expiring now so I'm waiting to see what date they can fit me in at but that flight will be cancelled as well I'm sure. They refused to give a refund to my giftor and suggest I give it to someone else so I won't have to worry about it anymore.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from JKZMT, Manager at American Balloons
Responded Jul 26, 2021
For public knowledge - this customer booked 3 times in 730 days. We did get cancelled due to weather and we have offered to extend gift certificate to a better time for them. Customer state that it is inconvenient for them to make the trip and just wants their money back. We don't offer refund for gift certificates and that is clearly stated in the purchase (even in 2019 when it was purchased). Once we had a conversation with the customer we have decided that we do not wish to fly with this group if they are not happy and choose to react in this manner with a 1 star review after only leaving a message in the morning and not receiving a call back in an hour (we were flying). We have issued a refund to the person that purchased the gift certificate for them. We work very hard to keep our customers happy from start to finish. We do understand that weather does not always agree with your plans or ours. If you live outside the area and need to make the travel we always say to call before checking into the hotel - we work very closely with them should weather not be good to fly they will let you cancel. Also, please keep in mind that Hot Air Ballooning is a weather dependent sport. We want good visibility, good winds, and good direction. We want you both safe and happy. We do not want to charge you for a 20min flight (some companies do) nor for a 1 hour flight over a parking lot. We want you to enjoy your flight to the fullest extent and want to come back again.
Read more
lakeishab617 wrote a review May 2021
Tampa, Florida3 contributions
We had a fantastic hot air balloon ride. The team was very knowledgeable, safe and fun. Very impressed with the whole experience.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
michele m wrote a review Oct 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida36 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Such a great ride, people are super friendly, very informative. You get to actually help with it all if you want. Loved it!!! Can’t wait to do it again.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
JZorn wrote a review Jun 2018
Tarpon Springs, Florida67 contributions17 helpful votes
Had a great flight this AM with 3 of my friends. The weather was beautiful but not a lot of wind. Tom (the pilot) advised us at the hotel meeting place that it may have to be rescheduled if not enough wind, since he did not feel it would be a good ride if we just were pretty much stationary. We decided to head to the launch point and he sent up a test balloon which appear to be good so off we went. The ride was about an hour or so and the landing was very smooth. Following the pack up we went back to the meeting place for a champagne breakfast. Very nicely done and thanks to Tom, Jessica and Jake.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Sheryl M wrote a review Jun 2018
Lutz, Florida13 contributions17 helpful votes
Great people, great ride!! Ed was an excellent pilot and his wife an excellent supporter in their business.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from AmericanBalloons, Owner at American Balloons
Responded Jun 26, 2018
We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience!
Read more
Previous
123456