Quality Boat Rentals
Quality Boat Rentals
4
Write a review
About
We are your One-Stop-Shop for all your fun on the water in the Florida Keys! With boat rentals, kayaks, paddle boards and bicycles, everyone is sure to find something to their heart’s desires for an awesome adventure while on your vacation!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
53 reviews
Excellent
37
Very good
2
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
7

Gatorchef
29 contributions
Jun 2021 • Family
We rented the 26’ twin engine cat for our family of 7 and dogs for the week. It was super windy the week we were here and the cat made the ride both gulf and Atlantic side a lot smoother than a monohull would have. The boat is an older one with no bells and whistles (note - bring your own cooler for drinks), but was very roomy and great for fishing. They even threw in a marine bean bag which my son loved. We had one issue with the engine (As always seems to happen with rental boats...) but Josh made quick work of the fix - super responsive and helpful. We also would highly recommend picking up some toadfish can coolers from captain hooks - they stuck right to the boat meaning that the lack of cup holders was a non event. Definitely a good value if the boat suits your needs (it was a lot less per day than the last two boats we rented).
Written June 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience renting with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback :)
Written August 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Noah T
Johnson City, TN2 contributions
Feb 2021 • Friends
We rented a home here in Marathon for a week and we’re quickly advised to rent a boat rather than find a beach. I spent many hours searches boat rental companies and they all seemed pretty positive, so I was unsure on which to choose. I called Quality Boat Rentals and spoke with Angela and she was extremely helpful and accommodating. She even offered a discount to healthcare workers (this trip had 5 out of 6 people whom are medical professionals). This was EXTREMELY appreciated and did not go unnoticed. Before we even arrived, we had a couple with health issues and a potential for having to cancel our pre-booked and paid days. Angela, once again, was more than accommodating and only asked for as much of a heads up notice for cancelling as possible and offered a refund on the days we weren’t able to use the boat.

Jimmy is the man who helped us at the boat dock. He explained EVERYTHING very thoroughly and even gave us multiple suggestions on what to do for the day based off what we were looking for. We did have a minor issue with a boat one day, and Jimmy was there to save the day within 15 minutes. The event was unforeseen and couldn’t be avoided. We were more than happy with the level of helpfulness and assisted we were provided.

Overall, I would 10/10 recommend Quality Boat Rentals. In fact, we will be back to Marathon in the future and plan to use their services when we do.

The Hurricane boats are great for a group of people who want to party and lounge, just an FYI.
Written February 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you! We appreciate all the members of society that give service to the community. We look forward to seeing you again!
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steph H
1 contribution
Sep 2020 • Family
We booked our Hurricane deck boat rental with Angela over the phone, she was so nice and very helpful. Nathan touched base with us the morning of our reservation just to let us know the boat is ready for us whenever we arrive. When we got there he was so courteous and insisted on loading and unloading all of our snorkel stuff, coolers, etc. The boat was so clean and comfortable. They had a great fleet to choose from, Angela recommended we book the hurricane deck boat since we have a 4 year old and friends with us. It would still have the speed my husband was looking for to reach the destinations he wanted to go to, and was more comfortable for lounging than a center console. It had lots more shade with a large Bimini top. That was a great recommendation by Angela, so thanks. Nathan went over everything on the boat quickly before sending us off. When we returned he was at the dock ready to jump aboard and dock our boat for us. We rented from a different company just a few miles north 2 days prior and we did NOT have the same experience. It was $75 more to rent from Quality and hands down worth it. We will definitely be renting from them again. Nathan thank you so much for your service and making our experience fuss free and fun! We have our own boat and have traveled down to Marathon with it many times but we didn’t want to fuss with all that so renting was the way to go for us and we’ll do it again! We highly recommend Quality Boat Rentals. Their staff is great and their office and fleet of boats are clean and presentable. All around great experience. Thank you!
Written September 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a review! We love hearing that our customers had a great experience! We look forward to your next trip down to the Keys
Written October 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Couples
Beware of this boat rental company. I am a very frequent boater diver and fisherman and I live in Miami this I’m pretty experienced with boating. The first time I rented a boat with this company they called me three days later and told me that the prop is broken. I found it odd that he called me three days later to tell me that the propeller was broken. Sure if you need to make a payment on the cell phone bill for the was actually broken.When I left I trimmed the motor up and make sure everything was fine I actually cleaned the boat with the gentleman that was there who is the owner. I was charged $150 without my consent. I just made a reservation last week for one day for the rental, drove down from Miami to Marathon I want to show up to the place to the marina he tells me he sent me a text message better rental was canceled because his boat had a fuel leak, then he walked away as of I never. We both got into an argument and the owner decides he wants to get into a fistfight with me in front of my wife and my sister, and he insisted that we go off camera where no one would see what can happen. For a second there I thought he was going for his weapon out of his truck I felt very unsafe. He didn’t bother to apologize for the inconvenience after I spent $1000 I’m diving and fishing gear for the weekend. Not to mention he texted me at 7:30A.m. and a reservation was at eight in the morning. Very unprofessional and the boats are never Been clean not to mention that the radios do not function properly in case of an emergency, channel 16 is impossible. The radios do not work, these people should not be in business it is not safe to the public. They are baboons running a rental boat business
Written June 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
How to begin with responding to this review…this is not factual at all! When you spun the hub on the prop from a previous rental, we called the NEXT day to let you know we were charging you for damaging the prop, you can’t actually SEE a spun hub, which if you are a boater you would know that. We had to refund the rental for the next person because the boat was unusable at the time because of the damage you had done to the prop. If our boats are unsafe, then why would you continue renting from us? Your recount of the next rental that you had where we had to cancel because of a fuel leak problem is beyond ridiculous. There was no fight, if anything you were being aggressive and wanted to initiate a fight, at which point Jimmy (NOT the owner, but an employee) walked away from you. All of the VHF radios work completely fine, the boats are cleaned nightly, we have been in business for over 20 years. We thank you for your previous business and wish you well in the future.
Written July 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Camper818389
1 contribution
May 2021
We rented a 26 ft. Pro Cat twin Engine boat from Quality Boat rentals on May 13, 2021. We arrived at 8 a.m. as instructed. There was one, slow moving young man doing all the paperwork, going through boat handling procedures with renters AND launching the boats. We watched for over an HOUR as he slowly got three other boats off. We were offered no extended return time because of the one hour delay. When we finally received our boat we noticed the gas gauge indicated 3/4 full. When we mentioned it we were told the gauge was "off" and it was actually full. "Ok", we said, and we left. We went to Sombrero Reef for diving and then moved about one mile south for some fishing. We brought the boat back ten minutes ahead of schedule (3:50 pm). Since we needed to return our dive tanks, we said we'd get back to them about the refuel fee. They said that was fine, the charge would be on the credit card I gave them. We gave the kid who checked in the boat a tip and left. The next day when I called them, I found I got a refuel fee of $240 for 60 gallons of fuel! I was stunned, and said I'd be right down there to discuss it with them. When I got there the same young man who rented us our boat looked up the rental paperwork information. He said we were charged for our refuel fee PLUS the refuel fee of the previous renter the day before because he wasn't charged for his fuel! Just what I suspected. He gave me a $120 refund, but I'm still not certain we even used $120 worth of fuel. I could've gone back and asked for the GPS plotter tracking to verify our use and guesstimate our actual cost, but they would probably dispute it. I'm not pleased, Quality Boat Rental.
Written May 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We apologize for the mistake of over charging you for the fuel, but we did immediately rectify the situation and refunded you. If you used the boat from 9 am until 4 pm, that is 7 hours of boating, 30 gallons is not hard to burn, especially when there are two motors, so there are two tanks to fill. We meant no harm and hope you will reconsider and give us another chance next time you are in the Keys.
Written August 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clifton F
2 contributions
Apr 2021 • Family
Our first trip to the Keys. We decided to rent a boat versus dragging ours down. Upon arriving at the dock, the staff was extremely friendly. They went over the boat with me and this is where it started to go downhill. I was told the trim tilt didn’t work, that it was out of fluid and that we should be fine. I asked if they motored their VHF if we ran into any issues and they said they did. That would be awesome, except the VHF on the boat did not have an antenna. The ladder was hard to use in the water and the swim platform was very slippery causing my daughter to slip and fall. The prop had a good chunk missing from it so as soon as you put it in gear, you could feel the vibration through the entire boat. The throttle was extremely hard to adjust. You had to use two hands and a lot of force to move it either direction. We ran the boat a total of 31 miles and they charged us for 16 gallons of fuel! There is. I way unless there is something wrong with the motor. Given the condition of the rest of the boat, there is a good possibility there was.
Definitely not suitable for anyone with limited boating experience. If you have a boat, take your own, don’t rent!
Written April 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback, although we do ask our customers to call us when there is a problem so we can try and rectify the situation immediately, as we had no knowledge that you had any issues until reading this review. Also, when checking out the boats we do tell whoever is operating the boat that they average 2 miles/gallon because everyone runs the boats differently, the harder you run the boat the less efficient the motor will run. We apologize your experience was less than exceptional.
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kuma1720
Miami, FL270 contributions
Sep 2020 • Family
Although some of the reviews offer some negative reviews I made the attempt to try this location out. First of all the spot is behind te hotel on the left. May be a bit misleading and they will guide you there. I thought their prices were quite fair and even upon return they verified I had filled the boat and did not charge additional.

Upon arrival at the dock on the morning of the rental I was received in the dock by Nathan. He was awesome and very helpful throughout the process. Had us out within minutes but still covering all the boats safety items needed. The boat was a bit dated but handles well. We had the larger deck boat and she handled well inn relatively windy conditions as we were trying to head to nearby sandbars. The return was just as smooth and no issues or surprises like some other operators Overall will definitely rent form them inherited future. They have a considerate staff that really helps the renter in their voyage! Thank you
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks very much for your feedback! We are always happy to hear you had a good experience and the staff provided you with the customer service you deserved. We thank you for your business and look forward to serving you again on your next trip down to paradise :)
Written September 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joe P
Tampa, FL2 contributions
Sep 2020
We rented the 23' Mako on Saturday, September 5, 2020. Quality Boat Rentals is a little hard to find - it's behind a building and I didn't notice any signage at the street.

Once we got there, there was another customer being assisted by the lone employee there. This was not a problem as we were greeted right away, being told that he'd be with us shortly. Always nice to be recognized. The wait wasn't long as Nathan was helping the other renters. Once it was our turn, Nathan brought all of our stuff down the dock to our rental. We finished up the remainder of the payment, filled out the deposit form, and Nathan then went over the boat. He covered the box with the registration, the radio, and the GPS. He gave a couple of suggestions for where to fish and also suggested the lighthouse. He cautioned us that it might be a little rough as it was windy but assured us the boat could handle it. Nathan also gave us his cell phone number in the event of any issues.

A brief push off the dock and we were on the way. The boat was a dream to operate with a 250-hp motor. We found a couple of fishing spots before heading out to the lighthouse. The seas were a bit rough so we didn't get out of the boat to snorkel.

After some more fishing and just running around, we brought the boat back. Nathan and another employee helped us unload all of our stuff off the boat, then filled it with gas. We paid for the gas used, loaded up the car, and were on the way. It was a wonderful day on the water.

The boat does show signs of wear but the seats were comfortable. It would have been nice to have had cup holders. Operationally, it was excellent and that was the important part. We did not use the live well.

I would absolutely rent from Quality Boat again and most definitely rent this Mako.
Written September 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your feedback and will make sure Nathan knows his hard work paid off on pleasing our customers :)
Written October 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

pohgry
Athol, MA13 contributions
Feb 2021
We took out one of the deck boats for a day and had a great time. We explored all around Marathon, went out to Sombrero Reef, 7-mile bridge and both Atlantic and gulf sides of the Key.

Boat was well-equipped with a 150hp engine, GPS and VHF and plenty of seating. We buzzed right along out on the ocean and more sedately in the canals looking at all the boats and houses. Definitely a fun way to spend the day.

Reservations were easy and the team was responsive to our questions and needs. I checked a few places and found the pricing to be very good for the boats available.
Written February 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the experience!
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ryan Garcia
3 contributions
Aug 2020 • Family
We rented a 25’ deck boat. Overall the boating experience was awesome & I would definitely rent again. However, it wasn’t without a few inconveniences. 1st boat wouldn’t start after making a couple round trips. Luckily we were at the dock about to head out again so we were not stranded. We were easily switched out to a 2nd boat that ran real good and had nice seat cushions. However, we had to move out of that boat to a 3rd after the 2nd day because it was reserved for someone else. The 3rd boat we had to swap into had hard cushions, the seats did not have latches or able to be secured down in any way. With a small chop the seats would bounce off the compartments if there was no weight on them. Also, to start the boat there was a bad connection with the throttle being in neutral so you had to “magiver” the throttle while trying to start the motor. That caused some issues a couple times. Again, the boat switching was super easy and fast, the guy working there was extremely nice and helpful—even moved some of our coolers for us.
Written August 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you had to deal with during your rental, we did try our hardest to make sure you had a boat for your vacation with the unfortunate mechanical issue with the original boat reserved. If you come back to the Keys we hope you will come back and give us another shot. Thank you again for your business!
Written September 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 53
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Quality Boat Rentals (Marathon) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Quality Boat Rentals