Main Attraction Charter Fishing

Main Attraction Charter Fishing

Main Attraction Charter Fishing
5
About
Don't miss the Main Attraction of the Florida Keys! Come fish with our friendly, professional Captains and Mates. A large fleet of clean, well-maintained boats to choose from along with very competitive rates. We welcome families with children and novice anglers, but also fish professional anglers and large business groups. We run about 1000 trips per year, so our crews know how to fish. We encourage customer feedback and go the extra mile to provide successful trips. Please read the reviews including our responses to the handful of negative ones. While we cannot control the bite, we always work very hard to put our customers on fish. We only hire crews that are enthusiastic about catching fish! Please see our very detailed website for more info. We have boats from 30' to 49'. Many options to choose from; Reef, Offshore, Wreck, 1/2, 3/4, and Full Day. Tarpon, Snapper, Grouper, Wahoo, Sailfish, Tuna, Mahi, Permit, and Swordfish. Proven and Consistent Tournament Winners!
Marathon, Florida
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(45 reviews)
(94 reviews)
(46 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles388 reviews
Excellent
357
Very good
12
Average
6
Poor
4
Terrible
9

v'burgresident
Vicksburg, MS31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Family
Our family of four fished with Captain Steve on one of the smaller boats, Reel Attraction, and I'm so glad we did. We had a blast. We did a half day reef trip. Capt Steve was professional, fun, patient, got us on fish right away and was overall wonderful. Prior to this trip we have gone on several, less productive fishing charters and this was the best one by far! I was nervous about the smaller boat at first but it was faster than the larger ones, so we had more time to catch fish! Well worth the money!
Written December 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jerry F
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020
From stopping to help another Captain restart his engine on the run off shore to filling the box with 28 Mahi and one Tuna. Captain Marty and his Mate Christian adapted to ensure a great day on the water. 600 feet of water equaled a big school of small mahi, so further off shore we headed to find some bigger fish.
Written June 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

T M
Cleveland, OH21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Great 1/2 day of fishing with captain Aaron on Main Attraction V for our group of 4. He knows his stuff. Put us right in fish and never quit. Caught 10 yellow snapper, then put us on a 75 lb sailfish and then a 30 lb Wahoo! Lots of fun.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

T. Claude
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
On Wed.  May 26th me and my son were scheduled for a fishing charter with Main Attraction on boat Reel Attraction with Capt. Steve.  We initially booked a full day but after speaking with Katie she stated there had been rough seas due to wind so we switched to a half day, but we stated we could extend back to a full day if needed.  When we arrived, Steve was preparing the boat and playing 90's music.  While leaving the dock Steve stated when we get out to the fishing spot, we can connect to the Bluetooth and play our own music. I stated to Steve that he could play the music he chooses, since it was easy listening music.  Once we got out into 380 feet of water the music Steve was playing changed.  The music that was playing now was extremely vulgar and filled with Ni**er repeatedly being said.  We felt very offended, that Steve thought it was ok to play this music in front of us assuming because we are black that it was what we would want to listen to.  I do not even listen to this music personally. We were reluctant to say anything as we were far from shore, and we were fearful that we may not make it back to shore if we caused a confrontation.  We asked ourselves does he play this music for all his customers (being that they are 97% white from viewing their Facebook page every day for months) or listen to this music personally. 

We also feel we did not get the service we paid for.  Fished for 2 hours catching baitfish to use as bait to catch bigger fish, than at the end of the trip Steve offered us the same fish he was using as bait to take home.  I told him I cannot feed my family with that.  We never got to touch a fishing pole other than the one used to catch bait.  He only put one pole big game pole out at a time the entire trip.  We did not truly get to fish.  We can understand the fish not biting, but please do not insult our intelligence by stating 3 times it was a full moon the night before and the fish ate all night.  We googled about that, and it said fish bite better after a full moon.  Do not recommend.
Written May 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This response will be directed to the readers of this review as Mr. Claude has already expended an inordinate amount of Main Attraction staff's time. We will simply relay the facts and show examples of how Main Attraction employees were courteous and respectful to Mr. Claude throughout what has been an exhausting and unprofitable relationship with Mr. Claude. Mr. Claude initially booked a full day. He called in approximately a dozen times prior to his trip. He tried to find loopholes in our booking system that do not exist. An example would be reserving the boat for a full day but then having the option to go in on a half-day and not pay for the 2nd half of the trip. When it was explained to him he can’t do that he decided to change his full day to a half-day reef and wreck combo trip with the option to extend to a full day if the boat was not booked in the afternoon. On Wednesday 5/26, Mr. Claude and his adult son showed up at the dock to meet Captain Steve. Steve was listening to 90’s hip hop music as he prepared his boat for the trip. When the clients approached, as always, he turned the music down to introduce himself. Steve offered them a Bluetooth connection to his radio to play the music they liked. They turned down that option and said they liked the music that was on already. At no time before or during the trip, did Steve change the music, nor was he asked to, nor did he treat Mr. Claude, or his son any differently than he would anyone else. They went out to the first spot to catch some yellowtail snapper on the reef. While catching yellowtail, Captain Steve caught a variety of smaller fish to use to lure the grouper and amberjacks on the wrecks. Mr. Claude was after grouper and potentially amberjack. He had seen on social media that Captain Steve caught some earlier that week. After the reef portion of their combo trip, Captain Steve cruised out to deeper water to try and accomplish that goal. On the ride out Captain Steve said his customers were having a great time, singing along and “freestyling” to the radio. Captain Steve said they were riding the waves, laughing, and cutting up. At no point did Steve think they were uncomfortable or offended in any way. Captain Steve was marking fish and tried several times to try to catch a grouper or amberjack, but it was one of those days and they just weren’t biting. He even stayed out an extra 30 mins to try more attempts, still no luck. Captain Steve said this is the point where Mr. Claude's attitude began to sour. When they returned, Steve attempted to filet some yellowtail for them, yet Mr. Claude refused. They had fished a combo reef/wreck trip which is $800 but the captain discounted the trip to $700 due to the lack of action in the second half. Mr. Claude paid for the trip, did not tip the captain, and left. Immediately after the charter, the client called to complain. Katie, who typically answers the phone, was tied up and asked Captain Marty to call the client back. Captain Marty, an owner of Main Attraction, spoke to Mr. Claude, explained that the conditions were slow, and Steve tried his best to help him catch the specific type of fish he wanted. Captain Marty also reminded him that the trip was already discounted. Mr. Claude told Marty that Steve was great (despite never tipping him) and when he didn’t get a larger refund which is what he was hinting at, he hung up on Marty. Two days later on Friday 5/28, Mr. Claude called the company number and left a message for someone to call him back. Katie proceeded to call him back immediately. He was extremely rude to her. He said he slept on it and thought she should know that at some point heading offshore, the music changed to racist music. Katie asked Mr. Claude if he as asked Captain Steve to change the music, and he responded that he did not. Mr. Claude then proceeded to claim that he didn’t know if he was going to make it back to dry land!?!? Katie was completely blindsided by this. All of a sudden Mr. Claude not catching a Grouper and not getting a big enough discount had turned into a race issue and a fear of “not making it back” from his fishing trip. In the interest of providing great customer service Katie listened to his side of the story, she said she was very sorry that he did not like the music and explained she would need to speak with her Captain. At this point, Mr. Claude got defensive and said Captain Steve would deny it anyways. Katie tried to resolve the issue and deescalate the situation by offering a complete refund for his trip. To her shock, Mr. Claude said in addition to a refund he also wanted an additional trip and threatened to take “proper measures”! At this point, it became clear that Mr. Claude was an extortionist and this was a shakedown. Katie calmly offered the refund but denied him an additional trip. Katie wondered to herself why Mr. Claude would want to even fish with Main Attraction again if he felt so uncomfortable and unsafe? Mr. Claude then accused Katie of trying to silence him. Mr. Claude then threatened to call the district attorney's office, call the news media, and write bad reviews online. At this point, Katie had enough and told him she would not stay on the line and be threatened and verbally abused. Katie hung up the phone and filed the incident with her lawyers.
Written May 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JDR
Buford, GA2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
This was our third time fishing with Main Attraction and they NEVER disappoint. We went out the day after tropical storm Elsa went through the keys and while the storm disrupted the fishing patterns the pros at Main Attraction had no problem putting us on the fish. Don’t waste your time or money with other charters. This is a family owned business, they work exceptionally hard, the communication is always great from booking through the day of the trip (unlike many other charters) and they ALWAYS deliver with an incredible experience for our family!!! Best in the keys!!
Written July 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JEL
Cape Coral, FL6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020
It was a tough day to do wreck fishing on Wednesday and Captain Steve did everything possible to put us on fish. One keeper! However it was a trophy fish. My daughter and boyfriend learned a great deal from the Captain. We always book with the Main Attraction Fleet. I'll be back for sailfish season.
Written June 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Britni C
Tampa, FL4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Family
We had an excellent time with Captain Marty and Lance offshore fishing with our 6 and 5 year old boys. Marty made sure conditions were safe and comfortable for the kids and that everyone had a good time. We caught several types of fish, and when our oldest reeled in his first mahi the crew really made him feel special! We had an unforgettable time and I completely recommend Main Attraction to anyone, but especially families with small children!
Written October 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

emma1014
missouri6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
We enjoyed 5.5 hours of Offshore fishing and reef fishing on main attraction 2. The guys worked hard and we caught some great Mahi and Snapper. However, we had some negatives. They were not interactive with our kids. Didn’t explain much or talk to them. They never even asked us our names. Communication was sparse and there was very little cold bottle waters for us to drink.
Written July 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Emma we are glad you caught Mahi and Snapper on a 5.5 hour trip, but disappointed to see this review. We went out of our way to book you on short notice after another charter company canceled on you and the crew gladly gave up their scheduled day off to take you and your family fishing. We investigated, and the Mate says he was up on the bow when your group arrived, so he was under the impression the Captain already did the introductions when he got back. We apologize for the misunderstanding and have reinforced with our crew the importance of making sure introductions are made. As for the water, the crew had 8 in the cooler and two cases downstairs. They left their drinking water only to 8 bottles so you could have room for your beverages and food. If you had told them they were getting low on their waters, they would have pulled out more for you when they realized you were drinking them. Below is an excerpt from the booking confirmation email we sent you, and the website repeats the same information throughout. "Please bring your own food and drink. There are coolers onboard with ice, which you are welcome to use. You may also bring your own cooler(s) to store food, drink, and transport your catch home."
Written July 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tanner S
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Captain Marty, lance, and Alex know how to fish and have a great time. What an experience, tagged and released a sailfish to be caught some other day by another angler. Captain Marty runs and guns until he puts you on fish! Mates lance and Alex know how to work hard and make it an enjoyable experience!! We have been fishing with main attractions for 10+ years and look forward to many more years of fishing and memories…..
Written August 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TexasTaz
Arlington, TX4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Couples
We have fished with Marty at Main Attraction for many years and he never disappoints. We had an awesome day catching a ton of Mahi and then snagged a big sailfish. Lance did a great job helping me get the sailfish to the boat. If your fishing in the keys this is the place to go! It is a family owned and ran business who treat their customers like family. We have never been disappointed! Call Main Attraction!
Written June 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 386

Main Attraction Charter Fishing - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Marathon HotelsMarathon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Marathon
All things to do in Marathon
Zoos & Aquariums in Marathon
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars