We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road

Adventure Watersport Charters

Features Animals
Key West, FL, USA
More
About Adventure Watersport Charters
Adventure Watersport Charters, specializes in daily and overnight liveaboard scuba diving, spear fishing and deep sea fishing charters from Key West to the Marquesas Keys, Dry Tortugas National Park and all points in between at land or sea. So whether you're an avid fisherman looking for the ultimate overnight fishing trip adventure, a SCUBA diver wanting to exploring the exotic underwater world of the Keys reefs & wrecks, or a family looking for a serene peaceful & leisurely way of reuniting your family from the hectic fast track of life, Adventure Watersport Charters is your ultimate destination where adventure exceeds imagination.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Travelers talk about
102Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We called months advance to book a private dive trip between Christmas & New Years, they said they would stay open (we specifically asked if they would be open during holidays), we booked a private trip and paid the deposit, they called a week out (after we booked an entire trip
Read more
Response from Kelly J, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Kyle, We're extremely sorry to hear such a downright negative review of our operations. Our first and foremost concerned is ALWAYS the safety of our divers, and although you might have been willing to take the chance of getting hurt yourself, we were not. If you are a seasoned diver in the least, you know that any reservation for these types of off shore water activities are always subject to weather conditions the day of the trip. Yes your reservation & deposit were taken on Nov 22nd for the next month for your trip date of Dec 29th, at which time a confirmation was emailed over to you which included our cancellation policies. However with the extreme in climate weather which started here in Key West on Dec 16th and followed for the next 8 days with winds over 30 mph and wave heights 6-9 feet, straight through and up to and including the 23rd of December, and with a continued predication of the same extreme weather and wave height predictions up to and including your trip date of the 29th, we believed that we were being proactive in giving you enough notice to you so that you could try to schedule other types of inshore water activities instead. You had stated at that time that you were prefer that we wait to cancel the trip until at least the day or two before; and although we had told you it was highly unlikely unless the weather forecast drastically changed , we agreed to wait to cancel as per your request. When the morning of the 28th came and the forecast had NOT changed, we again called you to let you know ahead of time, (not at the very last minute the night before or the morning of, as many other dive operators do; again so that you would have adequate time to schedule other inshore or land based activities), that your trip would be cancelled, due to unsafe weather conditions with winds 20-25 mph producing waves heights of 5-7 feet; not to mention that with the winds blowing continually for over a 10 day + period at that rate, caused the visibility to be virtually nonexistent. Also at that time, we let you know that we would be refunding 100% in full your deposit monies back to your credit card, however with it being the weekend and the holidays that the credit might take a day or two of processing time through the banks, which it did, with your full refund processed and returned to you. Perhaps in the future when scheduling offshore water dives, or any other off shore water activities, you keep in mind that weather conditions are always an unpredictable factor, and that safety trumps anything else. Mother Nature is not a force to be reckoned with and is no respecter of people; and/or our company included. Respectfully, Management/AWC
Read more
Have you ever felt like you just wanted to meet up with 3 random guys you've never met, charter a boat to the middle of the Gulf, and go spearfishing for 3 days miles and miles away from cell and wifi service? Well, you've come to the right place! Talk about a disconnect and
Read more
Response from Kelly J, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters
Responded Aug 20, 2019
Thanks Austin for the sensational review! We're thrilled that you had such a great experience especially seeing as we don't often do "mixed party" liveaboard trips, just due to the fact that when random people who don't know each other don't get along, a 3 night liveaboard can sometimes seem like 3 weeks! We were happy to be the go between to get you all set up for this trip and a special shout out to Arnie who took the "team leader" roll for this trip. Our Dry Tortugas trips most definitely fit the "disconnect" box in being able to unwind, enjoy the natural beauty that this entire surrounding area of Key West brings, and oh yeah, the dive, dive, dive is truly a divers/spearers dream. Glad you enjoyed all the tasty food/meals fresh from the sea as well as the prepared ones, as there is always more than enough to go around. Looking forward to having you onboard for another dive adventure. In the meantime try hitting up your local dive shop or dive club in getting some dive buddies to join you in your next dive quest to the Dry Tortugas.
Read more
+1
I booked a trip with Adventure Watersport Charters for late May 2019 for three days to Dry Tortugas. All the coordination with Kelly was super easy, I talked to her on the phone several times, exchanged emails, and she answered all of my questions. I had all the information I
Read more
Response from Kelly J, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters
Responded Jun 12, 2019
Thanks Milada for the kind words and wonderful review. Though we may not be the Princess Cruise Liners, we do make extra efforts to ensure our boat and operations are thoroughly clean & good working order, as well as the food being plentiful and delicious every time we take a Dry Tortugas diving liveaboard trip out. Capt Jack and Nick had a great time with you and your group as well, diving together & getting to know each other. The Vandenberg wreck is always an incredible highlight dive to the end of a extraordinary dive trip, as without exception yours was. Unfortunately as you stated, we don't have control over the vis, but do work hard to move the boat around until we find the best conditions that the seas warrant at the time, with safety always out top priority. All in all we're thrilled you had a safe, fun and memorable Dry Tortugas dive trip with us, and are welcome back anytime.
Read more
Cant say enough good things about this outfit. This was our first trip with them but definitely not the last. Had a great time fishing with capt. Jeff caught a bunch of snapper and grouper and the boat performed flawless. Would definitely book with them again.
Read more
Response from Kelly J, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters
Responded Jun 12, 2019
Thanks Mark for your great review of our Dry Tortugas fishing trip services. Even as a last minute trip with us, everything was able to be pulled together for your group in record time for a flawless trip. Capt Jeff is always a great source of knowledge for fishing tips, and always can put you right on top of the bounty fishing holes. We'd love to have your group back anytime with you; you guys were great fun, had a lot of laughs and one fantastic fishing memory to last a lifetime! Remember to book early if you want a May trip for next year.
Read more
This was our first trip to Key West. We are avid divers and have been on a number of charters around the world. This trip was average. The crew was friendly and helpful and made the trip enjoyable. The negatives were dive site selection and amenities. It would seem that they
Read more
Response from Kelly J, General Manager at Adventure Watersport Charters
Responded Apr 9, 2019
Chad, We're of course disappointed with your review of our services on your multiple days of diving with us, especially in light of the fact that we rearranged our trip days due to incoming weather reports, in order to accommodate your concerns and the dives you specifically requested to do, but appreciated your flexibility to do so, however we can not control the weather or the reports. As far as the reefs are concerned, we chose the locations based on your specific dive requests that had the best visibility and conditions for those particular dive days, as weather and these conditions always dictate where we dive, and with safety being first and foremost. The dive sites were explained to you and some even with full color pictograph cards showing the formation of some of the reefs & the wreck, so I'm not sure why you would be upset with the dive briefings. With regard to the food situation on board, as with you and all of our guests for that matter, are informed at the initial booking request, and in our confirmation emails, and again when we had to change dive days, everyone was reminded that we only supply water, Gatorade & some light snacks, and that everyone would need to bring a lunch of some kind,and any other food items that you wished with you for the full days of diving. The confusion of departure times on the last day was totally our fault, which stemmed from another party's last minute reservation, and unfortunately the miscommunication that ensued between the crew on board and their time change to you and the office. We took full responsibility for that morning with the Captain's admission & apology to you personally, and even offering to stay out longer on the last day, however you had told the crew that you weren't interested in doing more than 3 dives per day that day, or any other day. Again our sincere thanks for choosing us, and perhaps next time, the gorgeous reefs out in the Dry Tortugas National Park that we offer on our liveaboard trips would have been a better choice for the professional photography shots that you were looking for. We wish you the best of luck on your next dive adventure, wherever that takes you.
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Key West
from $45.00
More Info
from $63.00
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
from $34.99
More Info