We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Compass Rose Charters

Features Animals
Key West, FL, USA
More
About Compass Rose Charters
Key West fishing Fun. Capt Mike Weinhofer has been fishing Key West for over 26 years charter. I run a 37 foot SeaHunter center console for comfort and speed. I look forward to getting you out fishing. Patience for the beginner and Competence for the expert. We also do Back country trips for tarpon permit and sharks. Playing in the flats is like fishing in a fish bowl it is shallow calm relaxing and you can see the fish coming one after another.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
100Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nathan H wrote a review Sep 2020
Fort Myers, Florida2 contributions
4 of my buddies and I booked a 6 hour trip with Captain Mike while we were in Key West this past weekend. I can’t express how pleased I was with Captain Mike, the boat, the gear and the fishing. I will fish with this Captain every time I’m in Key West. We caught mahi and black fin tuna. I am an experienced angler and have dealt with some pretty lousy captains. Compass Rose will not disappoint.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
mac wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Booked a fishing trip with 5 other friends for a Saturday morning 1/2 day charter. Cap Mike contacted us on Friday and recommended we wait until early afternoon on Saturday due to weather reports and kept us posted later that afternoon/evening and in the morning on Saturday with weather updates. Best recommendation as we caught enough fish to feed 6 couples that night and the next night plus some! Couldn’t be happier with our trip and my catch...a king fish! Thanks Cap Mike! We will be back.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike W, Owner at Compass Rose Charters
Responded Mar 1, 2020
It is awesome when it all works out. Thank you for being flexible and working with us on the time of day for the charte. Sometimes it makes all the difference to be there when the fish are bitin. Hope the snapper was yummy. You guys were a blast hope we get to see ya again soon Take Care Capt Mike
Read more
John Estill wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Capt. Mike is great. Encouraged us to push our trip from 8am to the afternoon. Caught a bunch. All the other morning tours didn’t get hardly anything. He was patient with the novices(me). Learned a lot.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike W, Owner at Compass Rose Charters
Responded Feb 10, 2020
I appreciate you guys being flexible sometimes ya have to fish when the fish are biting and I'm glad you guys were able to switch your schedule around to be there when the fish were biting. I always hesitate to change things up but the morning bite had been slow so the afternoon was the best bet. Glad it worked Hope we get to see ya guys agin soon I have a fly rod and some tuna with your name on it capt Mike
Read more
Nick C wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions
+1
Awesome Trip! Mike was incredible. Way more fun than we expected, way more fish then we could eat!! Lots of let overs. I’ve done lots of charters and this was by far the best
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike W, Owner at Compass Rose Charters
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thanks for coming out you guys were a blast. Fun people always make it a better day Thanks for coming out Hope we see ya again soon Glad dinner was a success
Read more
Mike B wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a 3/4 day fishing trip with Captain Mike, to start with there was poor communication on time, location and trip details. He told me if I had any requests to let the captain know right away so they could adjust to our requests. Before we left the dock I mentioned that we would prefer light tackle and target snapper, grouper and table fair so we could all fish. Captain told me that would not be an option because they were going to only be trolling, fishing was awful with “ one small barracuda and small pompano” for 6 guests ! In six hours the mate only changed bait three times and made no adjustments. I fished a lot for the last forty years in Mexico, Canada, Florida Keys and Great Lakes and I can honestly say that this was the worst experience fishing ever ! We paid $1950.00 for the charter and $250.00 tip for the mate, this was a lot of money for a boat ride ! I’m sorry to say negative things, but I set this up for my guests and it was terribly disappointment ,
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike W, Owner at Compass Rose Charters
Responded Feb 6, 2020
What we discussed before you went fishing is that the water on the reef was crystal clear and bottom fishing was going to be non existant. So we went for it a swung for the fence to try and get dolphin tuna and wahoo. Unfortunately it didn't happen. We all have those days as much as we don't want to admit it Sometimes the bite is just shut down. We were trolling with 30lbs tackle which is light tackle for what we were fishing for that day. If we had gone to the reef and setup in no current and crystal clear conditions it wouldn't have worked. I'm sorry fishing was slow if you would like to go again I would be glad to discount a trip for you to make up for the slow fishing conditions. I have been fishing here for over 30 years and there are some days when you just can't make it happen. I too have fished all around the world and had slow fishing conditions. Unfortunately it can happen. Trust me no-one wants to catch fish more than us.
Read more
Previous