We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphins Plus Bayside

Features Animals
Key Largo, FL, USA
More
About Dolphins Plus Bayside
Welcome to Dolphins Plus! Here, our guests have the exciting opportunity to observe and interact with our marine mammal friends in a unique and stimulating environment. Our guests can experience our dolphins in their natural seawater homes on the Gulf of Mexico (Bayside) in Key Largo, Florida. Along with getting to interact with our marine mammals, guests will learn all about these amazing creatures, and the importance of marine conservation, from our knowledgeable and well-trained staff of trainers and instructors. Our dolphin swims are available to the public throughout the year and are a great addition to your Florida vacation. Meet and interact with our dolphins in our hands-on Structured and Shallow Water Dolphin Swims or snorkel freely alongside the dolphins in our Guided Natural Dolphin Swim program for the dolphin encounter of a lifetime. Our dolphins are always happy to meet new friends. So, come on over and jump on in. We’ll see you at Dolphins Plus.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
1,615Reviews59Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 1,276
  • 220
  • 56
  • 37
  • 26
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kk51787 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
I have wanted to swim with dolphins for awhile now and finally was able too. I can say this is one of the best experiences of my life! This was everything I wanted to do and then some.Everyone was very friendly and very knowledgeable!If you want a up close and personal experience with a dolphin , dolphin dip is what you need! I felt I had plenty of time in the lagoon with "Leo" and everything was explained in great detail. Being pushed around by the dolphin, touching it and just watching it swim around was incredible!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Brett W wrote a review Aug 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
This was amazing! A last minute decision to do this activity and so happy we did. Called and got lots of info on offerings. Asked if a military discount was available and it was - yeah! Caitlin was great with the briefing and our trainer was so good with the humans and the dolphins. This team loves what they do and it shows. Thanks for a very special experience for our family! Great memories!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
fullergirl wrote a review Jul 2020
Gainesville, Florida7 contributions10 helpful votes
I couldn’t sleep the night before the structured swim. Will the dolphins like me? Will they push me out to sea? So many unknowns, as I have always wanted a close encounter with dolphins growing up in South FL. Lets just say the trainers exceeded my expectation!! They put me at ease from the moment I stepped down slowly and gently into the lagoon (yes there are stairs for anyone with knee issues) to the time I stepped out. I met a mother-daughter dolphin duo. Turns out they love humans. The daughter was super friendly and the mother was sassy and played hard to get. I must have spent about 30 minutes with them all told. The instructor stays on the platform and coaches you through the session. I was so happy with my experience I bought every photograph because I wanted to show my sons, now grown, the wide range of human emotions I felt that day with these beautiful creatures. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Terry L wrote a review Jul 2020
Liberty Township, Ohio237 contributions35 helpful votes
It gets 1 star because zero wasn’t an option!! Staff was rude on arrival. We paid $210 per person for a 35-45 min “swim with dolphin” encounter..........yeah right!! Each person was actually “in“ the water for approx 5 min and the trainer never entered the water at all. Whole thing was rushed and very disappointing. Complained to management but have yet to hear back with a resolution. NEVER AGAIN
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer B, General Manager at Dolphins Plus Bayside
Responded Jul 25, 2020
Hi Terry, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Without knowing the date and time you were hear it makes it challenging to look up any details on that day. However, I would like to take a moment and address your concerns mentioned above. First, I want to apologize if you felt anyone on our team was rude to you. We take great pride in our level of guest services and certainly would never want our guests leaving our facility feeling this way. As we explain to all guests who inquire about timing, the expected time from arrival to departure is approximately 1 and ½ hours, this includes the check-in process, the educational briefing, the in-water portion of the encounter and then the check-out process. We do not time the in-water portion of our interactive dolphin programs as they are based on a set or series of behaviors rather than time in the water. This allows our dolphins to be active participants and make the decision on whether or not they choose to participate in the behavior we are asking of them. Our trainers do not typically enter the water in the Structured swim. Standing or kneeling from the floating docks give them a much better vantage point over the lagoon. This allows our Animal Care staff the opportunity to watch the participants as well as the dolphins to ensure the best safest program results possible. I apologize if you feel we did not communicate this well to you. We are always looking for opportunities to learn and grow and I would appreciate the chance to speak with you in person regarding your experience. If you would like to speak with us in more detail or if you simply have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 305-451-4060. Warmest Regards, DP Management
Read more
Elizabeth L wrote a review Jul 2020
Orlando, Florida673 contributions47 helpful votes
Swimming with the dolphins was a cool first time experience to see the different tricks they can do and learn about them only thing is that is very expensive I don’t feel like it’s worth $210 per person for a short amount of time felt like 10-15 mins maybe. And then if you want to buy the pics they take it costs $90.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Key Largo
from $49.04
More Info
from $32.83
More Info
from $48.00
More Info
from $53.00
More Info