Salty Sam's Marina
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Founded in 1999 and family owned, Salty Sam's Waterfront Adventures is the home of Parrot Key Caribbean Grill, Big Game Waterfront Grill, Salty Sam's Marina, Salty Sam's Sight Sea-R, and Salty Sam's Pirate Cruise. The businesses of Salty Sam's have earned such prestigious regional awards such as Best Waterfront Dining since 2005, Best Marina Since 2004, Best Waterfront Attraction since 2009 and Small Business of the Year. We have boat rentals and charters, pirate cruises, sightseeing cruises, waterfront dining, a full service marina, 2 gift shops and an ice cream shop. Space is available on boat and/or in restaurants for a unique office or private party experience. Come out and enjoy your slice of paradise at Salty Sam's Waterfront Adventures!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
209 reviews
Excellent
120
Very good
35
Average
14
Poor
14
Terrible
26

Anna
Orlando, FL3 contributions
Sep 2022 • Friends
We booked a 90 minute sunset cruise and got lucky enough to to get Captain David and First Mate Jeremy! There were storms coming in around Sanibel but they did a great job navigating us around it so we could enjoy the sunset and take in a pretty spectacular view of the storm rolling in.
It was my friends birthday and when they announced it the whole boat celebrated with us for the ride back in. Maybe it was just a fun group sailing, but the crew really set the tone and encouraged everyone to have fun. I’ll absolutely book again the next time I visit Ft. Myers beach.
Written September 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

WireWrapGems2
Tucson, AZ776 contributions
Jan 2020
Our group of family and friends cruised on Salty Sam's sunset cruise and it was a relaxing pleasant experience. We saw pelicans and sea birds as well as a few dolphins. The ride was smooth. I did sit in front on the side where the boat Captain drives the boat, so there was no standing to take pictures in that area; it was marked with a sign on the side of the boat but I did not see it when I sat down. Just mentioning it so that if you plan to take pictures, you'll choose a different seat. The Captain did a great job of finding dolphins for us to see even though that was not the purpose of a sunset cruise. The Captain's mate was a delight as he enthusiastically talked with our family about their adventures of finding dolphins as he shared a lot of information about dolphins. His friendliness and knowledge helped make the trip special for our group. I liked the sailing as it did not include snacks or drinks which no doubt helped make the price quite reasonable. We did eat at the adjoining restaurant by the dock as we waited for our boat ride. It was very good! Local atmosphere and good food. There is a nice gift shop in that same complex and plenty of parking. All in all, a very nice afternoon to enjoy with family and friends.
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

H3387XBkeving
West Hartford, CT3 contributions
Jul 2022
We rented a 20 ft pontoon boat for a trip on Estero Bay. This was a great experience and I would highly recommend. Check in was quick and easy and within 15 minutes we were boarding the boat. The dock guys were very helpful and did a great job reviewing the basic features of the boat. Boat was clean and very comfortable with plenty of room and excellent seating options. You should have some boating experience to do this but operation of the boat was easy and not complicated. We cruised Estero Bay to Big Carlos Pass where we anchored right off the beach for some unbelievable swimming, beach time and exploring this beautiful and serene area. Anchoring properly with the tidal current through this area took some work but you just follow what the other boats are doing and you figure it out. An experienced captain next to us offered some tips. A second line and anchor would have been helpful but not required. We then cruised back through Estero Bay taking a less direct route which was great for porpoise sighting and pictures. Docking the boat was smooth and not hard and the again the dock guys were a big help giving you directions as you approach. Overall this was a great experience for our family and I would highly recommend.
Written August 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi! Thank you so much for choosing Salty Sam's Marina to rent a boat, we appreciate you. It sounds like you had a great day out on the water. Lover's Key and Big Carlos Pass are fantastic spots to stop. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Written August 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Todd M
3 contributions
Jun 2022
We've rented pontoons yearly in Florida. Other marinas have contacted us when bad weather was approaching. This company unfortunately didn't. We had 5 children under 4. One being 6 months old. The boat had no GPS in place and gave us a laminated map as our "guide" for the day. The dock worker told us specifically the full canopy could stay up for the duration of our trip.
We left in plenty of time to arrive at Salty Sam's at our designated return time. A severe storm blew in when we were approximately a half hour away from the marina. The front canopy blew off and hit a passenger in the temple as he was trying to keep the screws that pulled out on the canopy from hitting the 6 month old baby in the head, Waves were 8-12 foot over the bow of the boat and the wind was approximately 20-30 MPH. The mothers and fathers were on the floor trying to protect the babies. The 3 teenagers were in tears. We were able to get the boat to a public beach area approximately 1 mile from the marina, following the guidelines in the rental contract to get to the nearest safe place. The company sent a single small man to drive the boat back. We had to take it upon our selves to recruit a few men to push the boat off the beach. The worker said it would take 10-15 minutes to return the boat. He made it back approximately an hour later due to the weather. To add insult to injury (two passengers were bleeding), they charged a late return fee. It took 20 minutes dealing with the canopy while not moving. They also charged $300 for the dock workers time. Lastly, The fuel gauge went from showing 1/2 to empty within a 5 minute span, making it all the more critical to land the boat where we did. The tank was not empty, the gauge was not functioning correctly. The only saving grace was the yellow shirt dock workers were pleasant.
Written June 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you Todd, we are well aware of the situation with your boat rental. If you are a frequent boat renter in the area, you should know that summer storms pop up almost every day. Boaters should always have an eye on the weather and do their best to make sure the vessel and people are save. It's unfortunate that the bimini cover broke in the high winds but these things to happen and all our boats are inspected for the highest quality and safety. It was also unfortunate you abandoned the boat on the beach. We didn't see any other boats pushed up on the beach when we came out to save you and the boat. Again, we do apologize for any inconveniences and weather issues. Thank you.
Written June 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christine C
Cape Coral, FL29 contributions
Jul 2020
Very disappointed! I have rented kayaks from other companies before but this was my first time using Salty Sams. The young lady was pleasant enough when she checked us in. There was a $250 refundable deposit (in case of accidental damage) which I was fine with. My family of four went out for a half day rental which was 3 1/2 hours (don't you think it should be 4?) So we headed out and we ended up getting caught in a horrible thunderstorm. I have a smaller son that was crying and struggling with his kayak and I had no rope or way to toe him in. He is athletic enough to kayak the full route however not with this storm which was challenging even for adults. I kept hoping they would send a boat out to us to save this young family of 4 in a thunderstorm. NO HELP!!! It was a miracle that we were not flipped, both running us over, struck by lightning, etc. We were in that thunderstorm for 45 minutes. My daughter got back first and told them we needed a boat sent back to us which we were about 15 minutes behind her. They aggravatingly took their sweet time getting on a boat and by the time they came to help us we were already back. I was SO beyond disappointed with their not giving a crap about their customer's lives. It was an extremely scary experience to say the least. I will never go there again and will never recommend them to anyone.
When we checked out in the office (which you MUST do or you will not receive your refund for your accidentals deposit) She was so flustered and asked how was our experience, I replied it was fun until we got caught in the horrible thunderstorm! NO apologies, no condolences, nothing. She just said oh let me refund you your $1,000 then so you can get out of here. I did not even know they held $1,000 ($250 per kayak)
AWESOME. Shame on your all.
Also, read the review about the seats hurting your backs. Very true. These are cheap kayaks and we all had a bruised spine in the center of our backs the next day. So if you are going to use them, make sure to bring a cushion or something to put behind your back.
Written July 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Greg O
1 contribution
Jun 2022
We scheduled a dolphin sunset tour. The weather wasn’t looking great so I thought for sure the ride would be cancelled and rescheduled. After we left the dock we had to turn back because of reports of lightning within 7 miles. We waited a short time and then headed back out. Throughout the trip we saw lightning in the distance. We didn’t see a single fish or any dolphins. Which I know isn’t necessarily guaranteed. It was cloudy and so there was no sunset. I paid $$ for us to enjoy the area’s beautiful sunset and we were very disappointed. We should have been given the option to reschedule for another night.
Written June 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, we do apologize that you did not see the sunset or dolphins on your cruise. As you know we can not control the weather and make every effort to insure our guests have a great time and are safe. If the lightening stays away and it's not raining, we will go out because you never know if the weather will break open for a truly special sunset. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Written June 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Galyna
Connecticut2 contributions
Dec 2021 • Family
The family pirate cruise was incredible! Very engaging, kids (4 and 9yo) had a blast and mom and dad couldn’t stop smiling the whole time. The actors immediately remembered our children’s names and kept talking to them throughout the cruise. Most of the activity happens on the main deck, so come early to sit there to be in the middle of it all. Great job, Pieces of Eight! Apparently you can also hire them to babysit after, so keep that option in mind also.
Written December 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much! We appreciate you!
Written December 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joseph D
Connecticut5 contributions
Mar 2022 • Friends
This was our sixth time renting a boat from Salty Sams and has become a favorite day on our annual pilgrimage from Connecticut. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the equipment is always mechanically sound. It all starts from the marina store and gift shop which is over stocked with items you may need for your adventure as well as souvenirs for everyone. We bring a stocked cooler, snacks and beach towels but all those are available in the shop. After signing in and a safety breifing you are assigned your boat. There are so many different areas to explore by boat. We were able to explore Sanibel beaches, the Sanibel Bay as well as Estero Bay and lovers key. We anchored in livers key beach and swam, stopped at grandma dots in Sanibel where we docked and had lunch. Upon return the marina the dock staff was excellent bringing us in and helping with unoading the boat. Highly recommend renting from Salty Sams
Written March 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you! We appreciate you!
Written June 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stream
7 contributions
Dec 2020
Rented a Chaperral bow rider. Rented from Salty Sam’s before as well as most other rental places in the area. We are local. I remember the same “crusty” lady at check in from before. Not nice at all, same as before. If she does not like her job, not sure why she is still there. Other people were fine for return and people who assist with the boat. The boat was VERY worn, ripped seats, rub rail loose in 2 places, very wet when we got in, as they did not wipe the boat down (obviously did nothing for Covid) since they pulled it down from the rack and we watched them pull it out and put it up without doing anything at the end of the day). Small engine,115 hp, compared to other places (150hp). Also no depth finder (only bow rider rented without one compared to other places). Also a few others have chart gps to help with navigation-none in this boat. Somewhat limited boundaries compared to other places. Overall, ‘ok’ time, but last place I would rent from. We booked too late on the week between Xmas and New Years so had no other options. Boat is very small for 6 people. Would work better for 4 or less. Also, rental contract said return all day rental by 4:30, but when they checked us in said 4:00. I questioned and said it was different and she said “that is just what it is today”. ??! We will try to book earlier next time so we are not stuck with them as last resort.
Written December 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

wildcatfan2015
Paducah, KY13 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
Watching Pick Pocket Pete interact with ALL the kids was great. Everyone in the cast made sure all kids were involved. Seeking out kids who were a little shy to make sure they had fun. And making jokes adults would appreciate without being inappropriate. Only negative, could use more shade. Highly recommend. Good value for the price.
Written July 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for cruising with us on the pirate ship, we appreciate you! We did add the large shade sail to the main deck this year, but yes it does get hot during the summer. We can't wait for fall and winter! Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future!
Written August 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 201
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Salty Sam's Marina (Fort Myers Beach) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Salty Sam's Marina

Salty Sam's Marina is open:
  • Sun - Sat 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM