Las Olas Gondola Tours
Las Olas Gondola Tours
5
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
If you are looking for something unique and different to do...this is it !! We are the only Venetian gondola in Fort Lauderdale/South Florida. We specialize in Romantic Cruises and Tours of the New River and Intracoastal for proposals, anniversary, birthday, date night or just for fun. All of our rides are private. Since the Gondola is a Symbol of Romance, we are The "Proposal Specialist" and work with a Romance Concierge that will add an Extra Touch of decoration or snack/ beverage/flowers to your special occasion. We will create an experience you will not ever forget !!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(35 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
177 reviews
Excellent
166
Very good
4
Average
4
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Camberchris@3
3 contributions
May 2022
My children and I all agreed that this was the BEST part of our visit to Ft. Lauderdale! I'm a researcher and noticed that there was another gondola service in Ft. Lauderdale. I was on the fence about which one to choose but ultimately decided to go with Las Olas Gondola because it felt more intimate and authentic. The experience did not disappoint!

Although small, it doesn't feel like it once you get inside. Both my sons suffer from motion sickness and with sea bands they had no issues. I also appreciated Captain Marthas' guidance in helping us to get comfortable getting in/out of the gondola.

She definitely made the experience more pleasurable from the start. It was small details that I appreciated - using our names throughout the trip. It felt more personable. She included everyone when pointing out fun facts or asking questions. It was a warm day and Captain Martha made sure she arranged the windows for optimal air flow.

She had a knack for chiming in at just the right time but really allowed us to have the experience we wanted to have. We loved hearing about the mansions on New River and the history of the city. It was a great way to end our time in Florida.

I was also pleased that the gondola was cleaned in our presence, for safety reasons.
Written May 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your 5* review Tatanisha ! I had a blast with you and your family. It always makes me happy to know my guests appreciate the little fun facts and history of the New River. It is a very unique experience indeed. I have been doing gondola cruises for 10 years and still enjoy showing people the area. I always see something different myself. The fact that it was the BEST part of your vacation really says a lot. I'm also glad you appreciated watching me clean the interior before your cruise. We strive to make everyone happy and feel safe. Come back to see us again !! The Mansions and New River Lights are really beautiful during the holidays !
Written June 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Puchita
Palmetto Bay, FL16 contributions
Aug 2022
The private gondola ride on the New River is a beautiful way to see the mansions that adorn the waterway as well as to take in the sunset from the water. Carmelo, our gondolier, was delightful and played soft music and lit candles to create an intimate ambience. We thoroughly enjoyed the adventure!
Written August 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shawn H
Fayetteville, NC3 contributions
May 2022
I booked the tour as a belated Mother's Day for my mom because she was unable to visit on Mother's Day and to my surprise, my Aunt came down and we all took the ride together. On the day of the tour, I received a text message from my Gondolier Carmelo introducing himself and offering directions and information in preparation for the tour about an hour prior to the tour. I thought that was very nice and thoughtful.

We arrived at the pick up location about 15 minutes early and watched the previous tour returning. After the previous tour was completed, the Gondolier preceded to clean and disinfect the inside of the boat which made us feel save. Once completed, the Gondolier introduced himself again and also volunteered to take pictures of me and my family. He was very thorough in explaining how the tour will go and answered all of our questions.

Once we set off, the ride was wonderful. The music, lighting, scenery, and the weather was perfect. My mom and Aunt really loved everything about the tour. I have lived in the area for almost 5 years and have taken almost all the water tours in the area but this was by far the best one. Great job Carmelo!!! I will definitely will tour again.

I recommend bringing along snacks it will enhance the experience.
Written May 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for you 5* review Shawn ! It was a pleasure to have you, your Mom and Aunt on the Gondola to celebrate Mothers Day ! Your comments regarding the confirmation text, cleaning the boat between each ride and a briefing on safety and what to expect on the tour is what we strive each and every time. Carmelo does a great job with all aspects as well all do ! It's very nice to hear that you have rated The Magical Romantic Venice Gondola #1 in your book of river tours ! Come back and see us again during Christmas when the mansions and houses are all decorated for the Holidays.
Written May 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

johnkoMaconGa
Macon, GA20 contributions
May 2022
We scheduled the 7pm sunset cruise and we showed up at 635 fully expecting the captain to be ready. He showed up at 655, which was not a big deal because our guests showed up at 705. He was still working on cleaning the boat and getting ready to leave. We finally got on the boat at 715 and he proceeded to talk to us and he opened our wine and produced some cheapo plastic champagne plastic cups which probably held 2 ounces of liquid.
We finally left at around 720-725 and we traveled for a few minutes and caught the sunset, then promptly turned around and headed back. We were on the water right at an hour.
He continued to tell us that his wife was in the hospital but he had to work to support his three kids, which made all of us feel that he was searching for his tip. I am fine with him mentioning his issues and I am sorry his wife was sick, but this night was about us and our 36th anniversary.
Overall the boat was great and the time we had on the water was great, but it was a bit short for the money that we paid.
I believe it could have been much much better but this time I was disappointed
Written May 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review John. I'm glad you enjoyed your time on the water in the gondola. I hope the sunset you saw was a good one as well. It is a beautiful sight to see on the water. The champagne flutes we use hold 6 oz of liquid and are disposable for sanitary reasons, so I have not found any fancy ones that I have room store properly on the gondola. So sorry you felt like your time was cut short. The briefing is part of that 75 minutes of your scheduled time. Pretty sure your gondolier was not searching for a tip as he always gets very good ones without doing that. He said he was just making conversation. Anyway I want to wish you a Happy Birthday and a Happy Anniversary ! Glad you chose a gondola cruise to do that. Hopefully you will give it another chance.
Written May 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laurie S
3 contributions
Apr 2021 • Family
Last night, my family of four had a private gondola ride. I had done research before booking and was impressed with all of the positive reviews. We were so disappointed and can’t believe it was the same company that gets such great reviews!
I will say...the booking process was great with excellent communication and information. And on the morning of our ride, we got a text from our gondolier, Carmelo, introducing himself which was really great.
We had a 5:30pm ride and arrived at the dock at 5:25pm. We waited for the previous group to exit the gondola and Martha, that group’s gondolier, told us that it was shift change and Carmelo should be there soon. Martha started to sanitize the gondola and Carmelo walked around the corner. It was now 5:35pm and Carmelo was just arriving for a 5:30pm ride. He was nice but definitely in slow motion. He and Martha talked for a few minutes and then another woman arrived with a case of water (which we were never offered any) and she chatted with both of them for a minute or two. By the time we got on the gondola, it was 5:40pm.
We had brought a bottle of wine which took Carmelo several minutes to open and pour. There were several cracked plastic wine glasses that had to be thrown out and new ones found. That wasn’t his fault but there was no sense of urgency at all to get our trip started.
Carmelo asked if we had done any other tours during our stay and when we said yes, he asked if we’d rather not have his commentary during our ride but we said we would like to hear it.
Off we went at 5:50pm and Carmelo put some soft music on which was nice but then a few minutes later we noticed he was talking. He spoke so softly that we could not hear one word. Even without the soft music, I think it would have been very hard to hear him speak.
Overall, the trip was so disappointing and not at all worth $200. I would suggest not booking rides back to back and giving a 15 minute buffer to sanitize, restock water and chat time for the employees. I would suggest there be training on wine bottle opening so it’s done correctly and in a timely manner. And I would suggest a microphone for the gondolier if commentary is going to be part of the experience.
Written April 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review Laurie. Our goal is to make each ride and customer happy in every aspect of the gondola experience. I appreciate you pointing out ways that we can improve that. I will make sure that we pay more attention to the items you mentioned as each person and cruise is very important to us. We actually do have a microphone connected to the speakers and we found it was not wired into the new wiring harness. We will make that happen. I will go ahead and issue you a refund since you didn't get the experience you were expecting.
Written April 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elle Simone
10 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
The welcome experience was a bit of a shambles and unorganised. They had to clean out the gondola from the last group and change gondoliers, and seemed a bit surprised to see us, so I reckon the company could benefit from leaving more time between bookings or having a changeover staff member. Our gondolier was very friendly and competent, and he was happy to take us upriver at our request as he didn’t usually get requests for heading West. It was a lovely ride and a nice experience to see everything from the water, with soft music playing in the background and cups and holders for our wine. The gondola is an interesting little boat with a relaxing rock to it and is close to the water so feels very intimate and romantic. It was a charming and casual experience and a nice surprise for my dad’s birthday evening.
Written May 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the great review Elle ! So glad you enjoyed your gondola adventure. Your photos are awesome ! We do allow 15 minutes between each ride so we can clean and sanitize the gondola for the next ride, so we do hustle along to it and with teamwork it always allows enough time to do so. After 10 years of experience it is easy to do. We were totally expecting you ever since the day the reservation was made, so we weren't surprised at all to see you . We don't go the west route as often as the east because the railroad train track bridge comes down 4 times per hour and you could spend 20 minutes or more waiting on a train, using up your ride time. The Brightline Train as well as the Florida East Coast Cargo Train uses that track. Sometimes that train can be 150+ boxcars. So I hope that helped clear up your concerns. Thank you for celebrating your dads birthday with us. Come back to see us again !!
Written May 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gary A
12 contributions
Nov 2020 • Couples
My wife and I have done this gondola twice. Once for a random date night and most recently to celebrate our 7 year wedding anniversary. We couldn’t recommend this more !! For starters, seeing Fort Lauderdale from the canals is a beautiful experience and doing it from this authentic gondola makes the experience even more romantic. So many other boaters were taking photos/videos of us in the gondola and waving to us.

Second, captain Martha is the best !! She offers interesting bits of information about the homes on the water but also let’s the experience be about the passengers being together. She plays romantic music while the boat moves along to get you even more into the vibe.

Finally, you can bring your own champagne or wine or drink of choice onto the gondola! There is no better or romantic way to see Fort Lauderdale than sipping your own champagne from an authentic gondola going down the new river. For any couples or small groups looking for something new or romantic to do, look no further ! This is a real hidden gem of Fort Lauderdale.
Written November 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the 5 ***** review Gary ! Believe it or not , I have as much fun as you do ! It is always great to see you and Mercedes, and it makes it even better for you to enjoy your experience on board the Romantic Venice Gondola !! It is true fact that the gondola is the most photographed vessel in the world ! I always feel like I'm in a parade ! Happy Anniversary and I look forward to your next visit ! We will go the opposite direction and see different sights !
Written November 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kelley D
Platte City, MO6 contributions
Apr 2021 • Friends
Had the best tour with las olas gondolas, their knowledge of the intercostal waterways was amazing. Their boat captain made ir a great trip
The icing on the cake is the owner Martha whnt on the trip with us and told us all about the water front properties. A must if your in fort Lauderdale.
Written April 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your 5* Review Kelley! I had a great time with you, Dale and Carol on our gondola adventure. It was my pleasure to tag along and see what a great experience it is !! Come back to visit us again !
Written April 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

angelofamom
Eden, NC92 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
Booked a sunset cruise with Las Olas Gondala while visiting Fort Lauderdale. Carmelo connected us the day of to let us know he would be our gondolier for the evening.
He was extremely friendly and knowledgeable with the mansions. It was kinda hard to hear and would be nice if it was a mic system of some kind for people like us interested in hearing the information. Beautiful mansions, big yachts and a gorgeous sky made for an unforgettable date night! One of a kind experience while in Fort Lauderdale!
Written September 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank You for the 5* review ! So glad you enjoyed your sunset gondola cruise with Carmelo. The scenery on the New River is beautiful and the gorgeous sky adds a bonus to the evening. We are looking into a mic system as we had one in the past that no longer works ! Thanks for the reminder ! Come back and see us again on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale !
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kayla C
1 contribution
May 2022 • Couples
The best way to end my one year anniversary. I also got the message in a bottle experience.The best experience ever. I originally went for the 830 cruise but it ended up being postponed due to the weather. It was still cool because Captain Martha was so kind to reschedule my lady and I. On the night of the ride, Upon our arrival I sprung extra for the Happy Anniversary celebration at the dock. You have to request it ahead of time so plan ahead. Ta'Veca with Romance on the Go set it up. Shot out to them they knocked it out the park. I also went for the strawberries, champagne and roses place inside the gondala. My gondala host Camelo aka Captain Pinky. Request him the coolest guy ever...anyway I presented a promise ring and let's just say I couldn't have imagined they would knock it out the park. Trust you won't be disappointed they represent love and if it's love you trying to show go for the whole thing if you can I saved up but it was worth it. If you looking for out of the ordinary and dare to be different...you won't be disappointed.
Written May 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the 5* Review Oh Okay !! We do have the best "job"aka office ever to make happy memories for people. We all try our best to make it such a great memory from booking the ride , changes due to weather, Message in a Bottle and of course the actual Gondola Experience ! It looks like we did just that for you and your lady !! TaVeca and Romance on the Go is a great partnership and I'm glad you went all out for that experience too . What a Special Evening you had.. Carmelo enjoys each and every one of his customers and we are proud to have him on our team ! Happy Anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again !!
Written May 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 175

Las Olas Gondola Tours (Fort Lauderdale) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go