Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History, Fernandina Beach: Hours, Address, Amelia Island Museum of History Reviews: 4.5/5

Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Write a review
About
This museum showcases the region's rich history under eight national flags.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience Amelia Island Museum of History and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
529 reviews
Excellent
315
Very good
150
Average
50
Poor
10
Terrible
4

Amanda H
Plano, TX457 contributions
Nov 2021 • Family
. We enjoyed exploring the museum which also used to be the jail. Have the kiddos do the interactive trail as they solve the clues and engage with each exhibit. Great photo opp as you can go inside the jail cell and pose. Also considering pre booking one of their historic walking tours they do through the museum. We had a wonderfully informative tour of the historical houses of Fernandina Beach on the Gilded Age walking tour. Really beautiful buildings and great way to spend an hour. Book through the historical museum.
Written May 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LindsayNjoe429
516 contributions
Feb 2022 • Couples
Cool museum. The lady at the desk is super kind and she has a lot of info on the museum and other stuff to do around town. It used to be an old jail and while you’re walking around learning you can do a fun scavenger hunt. There’s a special prize for the kiddos at the end of the scavenger hunt if you find them all. Masks are required to enter and browse the museum and they have some behind the counter if you need one. It can be a quick walk through or you can stay and listen to a docent and learn as much as you can! Enjoy!
Written February 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Diane
Cincinnati, OH13 contributions
Feb 2022
A small museum but still worth the visit, takes less than an hour to go through everything even if you carefully read all information. Very interesting and nicely done presentation on the history of the island. Went here immediately after completing the self guided walking tour of the historic district and felt the two activities complimented each other nicely.
Written February 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Skull76
Niceville, FL61 contributions
Mar 2020
For the price, the actual self-guided tour was a huge disappointment. No military or senior citizen discounts - the comment was there were too many military and senior folks in the area and if the museum gave discounts, they would be out of business. The history itself is interesting and the layout of the museum is informative, but for the price of $8 a person, you should save yourself the money, especially if it's a nice day.
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We’re very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We offer guided tours of the museum at 11 am and 2 pm Monday-Saturday and 2 pm on Sunday, which is covered in the price of admission. We do offer discounts for active military and for children. The vast majority of our visitors are seniors, so we do not offer discounts for them. We do offer Free Friday Hours every Friday from 4 pm – 6 pm.
Written March 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Robert J
13 contributions
Oct 2020
For a small town history museum, it was excellent. Filled with lots of exhibits and artifacts that really tell the story of the island all the way back to pre-European contact. The guide led the group through the museum adding stories and in-depth explanations.
Written October 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

tutter2
White Haven, PA132 contributions
Mar 2020
Wife and I visited Amelia Island for 1 day and wanted to learn some of the history of the area, this was a great place to do so. Lots of info found on the local history if you do a self guided tour, but they offer a couple of docent led tours each day, and I'd suggest you call ahead and find out the times and schedule you visit then. Tour was about 1 hour and the docent did an excellent job tying all the history together. Not just a 'rainy day' thing to do, I recommend for anyone interested in the history of the area.
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ladytravelerAlabama
alabama72 contributions
Sep 2020
This is a well done history museum of Amelia Island and their founding fathers. A lot of hands on exhibits for both adults and children. The museum has a scavenger hunt for the kids which our 4 year old loved! At the end she was allowed to get a treasure out of the treasure box!
Written September 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cats at the barn
Wesley Chapel, FL2 contributions
May 2021 • Family
The museum was not worth the admission cost. Minimal things to see. Additionally the staff was embarrassing loud when they told us we need to wear a mask. When we said that is against the new law that Gov Desantis signed they replied in a way that showed us they did not understand the law. It was obvious the staff is uninformed as well as unorganized... both their voice recording and their website say they are closed for renovations. Clearly they opened too soon. Save ur cash and do the boat tour instead.
Written May 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit today. In regards to the mask mandate, we support both our state and local government and will therefore continue to obey our local ordinance until such time as it has been lifted. If you would like a refund, please contact us at info@ameliamuseum.org.
Written May 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Garam
Alpharetta, GA299 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
This museum is a great place to learn about Amelia Island. It is very interesting and well arranged. You can easily see everything in an hour or so. Our docent (I believe her name is Flo) was excellent. Don't miss a quick stroll through the little garden they have out back.
Written April 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RetiredTravelGirl
Plano, TX17 contributions
Jun 2022
A lot of interesting history of the people that lived and live on the Amelia Island. Easy to find and helpful volunteers at the location. Would go again to check out any new exhibits. Great Smithsonian watershed exhibit!!!!!
Written June 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 524
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Amelia Island Museum of History

Amelia Island Museum of History is open:
  • Sun - Sun 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Mon - Sat 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM