RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service

RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service

RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service
5
Water Sports • Fishing Charters & Tours • Stand Up Paddleboarding • Day Trips
Read more
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service features Western Colorado’s finest Fly Shop & Fish Report, Gold Medal Fly Fishing Guide Service (Walk Wade & Float Fishing trips in Drift Boats), Photo Tours and River Expeditions. RIGS is conveniently located in the picturesque Uncompahgre River Valley, minutes from both Ouray and Ridgway State Park, nestled below the majestic San Juan Mountains in Ridgway Colorado - between Telluride, Ouray, Montrose, Silverton, and Durango Colorado. Guide Trips ranging from 2 hours to 5 days in length on Southwest Colorado premier rivers including the Gunnison River: Gunnison Gorge/Black Canyon, Uncompahgre River, San Miguel River, Cimarron River and Exclusive Private Water River Access - beginner to experienced ability levels welcome. The best of Southwest Colorado Adventure in the prettiest part of the state!​​
Ridgway, Colorado
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(6 reviews)
(2 reviews)
(3 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
97 reviews
Excellent
86
Very good
6
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
3

Lyndsay L
29 contributions
Aug 2021
We did a half-day walk and wade with Rigs on the San Miguel during a recent road trip. First off, the shop was amazing. Tons of logo'd merch, knowledgeable staff, and great fly selection. The staff provided great recommendations for local fishing spots near Ridgway State Park during our stay. In terms of the guided trip, our guide was on-time, very patient with our beginner fishing skills, provided excellent instruction and got us on so many fish! It was an absolutely awesome day. My only regret is we didn't book a full-day! Next time. We'll definitely be back.
Written September 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We can't wait to have you back and are grateful for the kind review. It is our goal to provide this kind of service every time for every customer! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience!
Written September 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chip L
Miami, FL11 contributions
Jun 2020
Full day drift with Rigs I am a few trips in, still a rookie, my wife had her first time on dry flies Matt was our guide and he has rock star credentials, but that never showed
He worked really hard to put us on fish, taught a basic class on dry flies and NEVER had an attitude.
We hooked 12 trout, put 8 in the boat. Thanks Matt, you ar a memorable guide.
"Follow your file," " Keep your rod bent," Don't point at the fish."
Written June 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for coming out with us Chip! Glad you had a great day with Matt and that Larissa had fun. We know she was nervous about fly fishing being too difficult, which makes her getting into dry fly fishing and fish all the more meaningful. Hope to see you both out on the water again! Sincerely, Heather
Written June 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nancy Z
Giddings, TX47 contributions
Jun 2020
We took a trip with Rigs to the Telluride area on the San Miguel River. The office staff was very patient with all my questions and offered good descriptions of several Trips they thought would be best for our family. They were very professional and helpful Upon arrival. The setting at the river was beautiful. Keith and Spencer were excellent guides. They are very knowledgeable about fly fishing in the area and worked hard, Changing flies and moving us around to help us catch fish. We caught several fish so they did a good job directing us to the right area to snag some Fish. We’ve never fly fished before. Both guides did a great job teaching us how to fly dish and were patient with us while we learned our skills. I would definitely recommend RIGS and would use them
Again if we fish in this area.
Written June 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the great feedback on our guides and staff! So glad your family enjoyed your time here and look forward to teaching you all more about fly fishing when you return to the area! Sincerely, Heather
Written June 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BuckeyeMark44
Bedford, TX5 contributions
Aug 2020
Cannot say "thank you" enough to RIGS for our fishing trip last week. JACK was the best guide ever as I hauled NINE beautiful trout out of the river in just a couple of hours of fishing. He knew where to fish, and even more, knew how to teach me the "how" of fly fishing for trout. Even caught a brownie! It was a lifelong dream to fly fish in Colorado and he made it come true. Thank you so much!
Written September 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
You're Welcome! SO glad to hear you had an amazing experience with JACK on your Guided Fly Fishing Trip! We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again on another RIGS Trip soon. *Maybe a cutthroat or brook trout next!?! - Management
Written September 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TheNoviceAngler
1 contribution
Jul 2021
I would not use RIGS guide service again. First off, our guides were nice guys and seemed to be very knowledgeable on all things fly fishing. I'm not a great fly fisherman- I've done a few floating trips in Montana. My experience started with a fall after about 3 steps into the San Miguel river. Clearly my fault, but the rapids were strong- no way an older fisherman could have navigated these waters. I was told we would have waders, but RIGS only supplied wading boots. Our guide thought I sucked at casting (I do) and lost interest in instructing. He just pointed to spots in the river and said "go fish that hole". Lunch was pretty bad. On previous float trips, lunch has been great- sandwich, chips, soda, beer. We got a pack of crackers and a few slices of pepperoni. After we asked about a drink, the guide went to his car and brought back warm Cokes from his trunk. After lunch, our guide lost interest and barely stepped foot in the water again, just pointed from the shore. Both guides were very concerned about finishing up at 3PM. So, we actually fished from about 10AM til 3 PM. Not exactly the full day that we paid handsomely for. Oh yeah, I caught one 7 inch fish. My buddy caught 2 fish. My kids fared better with the other guide. They seemed to have fun , for what it's worth. All in all, a bummer of a trip and not worth the price. Not even close. Again, the guides definitely knew their stuff and were pleasant to be around, they just didn't do more than the bare minimum.
Written July 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon, We are sorry to hear you did not have a good time on your fishing trip with us and would have loved to hear from you directly that you did not have a good day with our guides or enjoy the lunch. Our directive is to provide a stellar experience by adjusting to each client, their needs, and goals. Like all teaching, it is a give and take with client and guide. While we like to think that we are good matchmakers, sometimes personalities do not work out, and we are sorry to hear you did not connect with your guide but glad to hear that your sons did. The day you went out on the San Miguel river, the flows were only at 150cfs, so there were no rapids, but we understand that clients can have hesitations when unfamiliar with walk-wade fishing. We also know falling in the river is never fun but can be a part of walk-wade fishing. Never hesitate to ask a fly shop if they have a wading staff. We provide wading staffs as well to clients who have balance issues, but it is not an automatic thing the guides bring when clients are in their 40's. We supply all gear and adjust what type of gear clients wear depending on temperatures and conditions - wade socks and boots or waders and boots and rods and reels are included in each trip. Because the temperatures during your visit were high, the guides opted for neoprene wade socks and boots to keep clients cool and not overheating in waders. Your trip started on the river at 8:30 am, not 10 am. Because our guides met you on location and you were running late, the trip starting later was no fault of the guides because they were on-site at 8:30 am to start your trip. Full-day trips go to till 4 - 4:30 pm; they would not be leaving at 3 pm. Unfortunately, we cannot extend our trip times because the client shows up late. Catching fishing depends on the temperature of air/water, current hatches, and the client's skill set as much as the guide's ability to communicate in a way that connects with the clients. While we can never guaranty fish, our guides work hard to teach clients techniques to help get there. Again, we would have loved to have heard from you directly after your trip if you had issues so that we may have had the opportunity to address them. We wish you the best in your fly fishing journey. Heather
Written August 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mrmoparhemi
Mission, TX332 contributions
Dec 2022 • Family
On this perfect day , my 3 grown kids ( 28,23,16 ) and I were set up with our guides Chris and Spencer . First off , let me tell you that these 2 world class fly fishermen are not only professional , knowledgeable , and extremely patient , but most importantly , they are passionate about sharing their knowledge with fishermen of all skill levels . Don’t get me wrong , we are big on saltwater fishing both offshore and onshore and while hooking up to a monster redfish, king fish , or wahoo is an experience on its own , this is the polar
opposite as the peace and tranquillity of fly fishing is only interrupted when the bite is on. Spending this day with my family will truly be an unforgettable moment in my life and that of my children . Dads, do yourself a favor and do this with your kids. The team at Rigs will completely take care of you and make sure you have some of life’s most memorable moments.
Written December 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ashley W
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica8 contributions
Oct 2020
John & I had another wonderful fishing adventure with Spencer. This time we spent 2 days with him. The first day we floated on the Gunnison and had a fantastic time! We both caught big fish and saw a bald eagle! Spencer was a patience teacher and first class knot de-tangler :)! The next day we went Euro Nymphing on the Uncomphagre. We caught non-stop fish from large rainbows and browns to many baby fish. Spencer is so generous with his knowledge and a fantastic guide. He also has a great sense of humor!! We are already booked for a float on the Gunnison with him in July. Can't wait!!
Written October 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for your return visit to RIGS, and so pleased to hear you guys got in a couple more outstanding days of fishing in with our Guide Spencer and got to discover Float Fishing now too! We deeply value your shared feedback and sharing of your positive experience. *Still some more great rivers to tame, so look forward to seeing you two out on the water with Spencer again next season.
Written October 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Janis S
1 contribution
Sep 2021
This was the second year my husband and i have used RIGS. We fished 3 different waters this year. The fishing was superb as usual. Between the staff in the shop and the guides you are fully prepared for a great day of fishing. If you want to catch fish or improve your technique this is the shop to use. There may be others out there that are cheaper. Don't waste your time with them. Book with RIGS you will not regret it. Looking forward to coming back in the future.
Written September 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you, thank you Janis! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Written September 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

J Travel
Tennessee276 contributions
Aug 2020 • Couples
Looking to do some hiking and fishing in the Ouray area so I stopped in the Rigs fly shop. Huge selection on flys and hear. Best fly shop in the telluride, Ridgway, Ouray area.
Written August 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much, J! Appreciate the support and hope you got into some good fishing as well.
Written September 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TXflyfisher
Houston, TX432 contributions
Jun 2022
From my online booking, the trip, even the great folk in the fly shop, all were first class. Rarely do I find such a high quality service standard. I guess this place calls it "Deluxe"
Written June 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much Irb! We hope we get to see you again in our neck of the woods! Tight lines
Written September 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 97

RIGS Fly Shop & Guide Service (Ridgway) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go