We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A To Z Surf School - CLOSED

A To Z Surf School
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (20)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible21%
Oct 16, 2017
“The worst experience in all Arugam's Bay”
Sep 17, 2017
“Cheated - do not come here!!”
This only surf lesson I do rent boards.
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Panama Road, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
+94 75 868 5105
Improve This Listing
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
See what travelers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The Owner of this surf shop was a thief and a scammer with us. We went to Sri Lanka to do a surftrip and enjoy the paradise. We found hell. We rent there some surfboards and after having a chill morning enjoying the waves, He...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Enric A
Sheikfaiz, Owner at A To Z Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Even I don’t know who your where you went am normally don’t stay at the shop my another workers there to work for me underwater never broke also we don’t fight with tourist so far wrong place with wrong review thank you

Reviewed September 17, 2017

Horrible first time surf experience! Completily ruined by the owner of the surf shop. We were a group of 10 friends and rented surf boards that were all spoiled. Due to the bad conditions of the boards, when we got back after an unaccidented day,...More

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Fernando G
Sheikfaiz, Owner at A To Z Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

What do you mean by table and am Not carpenter to do fix your table brother I have surf boards not table

Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

We done two beginners lesson with Kutty, a local surfer very helpfull, friendly and patiente that teach us the surf base in a clear and professional way. We enjoy so much those lesson!!! We recommand this school and Kutty as teacher!!!! Hope to come back...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Giulia S
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

We booked at AtoZ because of the mainly great reviews. Kutti our instructor picked us up with his tuktuk at our hotel and we went to elephant rock for our first lesson. Kutti explained all basics on the beach and after that we had a...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank bartmeijerink
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

Surf teacher was very good teacher, teached us all the basics, was kind and also drove us to the best surf spots for beginners. He totally made us enthousiastic about surfing and the techniques he taught us were explained very clearly.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Anouk S
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

With my husband we took 3 lessons with "Kutty". He was always on time and listened to our wishes. For extra bonus he took us to a private tour to see the surrounding area. He has a great spirit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 143annikav
Reviewed May 19, 2017

I had 4 beginner lessons with Kutty starting with the absolute basics and a 'soft-top' board then progressing to a hard board. I found Kutty to be very thorough in explaining how to surf, he went through what to do, safety procedures and warm-ups before...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank BurgerTom5
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

Booked 4 morning beginners lessons (best pick up time 5:30 - be sure to go to bed early dear surf-friends, you don't want to miss sunrise while paddling on the water;) with Kutty and rent of 2 boards (1 beginner for me and 1 pro...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank mizzatina
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Had two great joint lessons with Kutty. He took us to two different locations and organised tuk tuk to the beach. Had such a fun time and would definitely recommend. He even offered to take us to see the turtles at night time...

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Tash1_90
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Please read the other low marked reviews for you. Those are true. It was our first time to go surfing and the leash had been broken during the lesson which is very dangerous not only for us but also for other surfers. The instractor said...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank travelover283
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Stardust Beach Hotel
256 reviews
.11 miles away
Grand Villa - Arugam Bay
23 reviews
.11 miles away
The Danish Villa Hotel
165 reviews
.39 miles away
The Blue Wave Hotel
167 reviews
.45 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 118 nearby restaurants
Flo ! Reataurant
102 reviews
.15 miles away
East Beach Surf Resort Restaurant
146 reviews
.20 miles away
Burger Hut
44 reviews
.22 miles away
Bambini's Cafe
485 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 35 nearby attractions
Amigo Surf School
73 reviews
.33 miles away
Arugam Bay
377 reviews
.67 miles away
Pottuvil Lagoon
68 reviews
.08 miles away
Budget Arugambay Tours
23 reviews
.00 miles away