We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purgatory Resort

1 Skier Pl, Durango, CO 81301-9627
+1 970-247-9000
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Purgatory resort

I went with my family. Not a whole lot to do for younger children. Management wasn't very good... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Josie R
via mobile
Have been here several times and still love it!

We have been coming here for several years now, but this is the first time we've seen it during the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Allison S
,
Castroville, Texas
via mobile
Read all 556 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Purgatory Resort is a family-friendly, four-season resort offering a variety of activities for all ages. In the winter, enjoy alpine skiing and snowboarding, snow shoeing, horse-drawn sleigh rides, Nordic skiing, snowmobiling and more. Summer and fall offers hiking, mountain biking, Alpine Slide rides, zipline, scenic chairlift, disc golf, bungee trampolines, climbing walls, miniature golf and more.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
LOCATION
1 Skier Pl, Durango, CO 81301-9627
CONTACT
Website
+1 970-247-9000
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 552 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I went with my family. Not a whole lot to do for younger children. Management wasn't very good. While we were there someone was on the trampoline. One of the straps broke but they continued to let people onto the ride. Overall really disappointed

Thank Josie R
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have been coming here for several years now, but this is the first time we've seen it during the summer. There is so much more to do in the summer time and it's nice to see it without all the snow covering everything up....More

Thank Allison S
Reviewed 4 days ago

The kids had a great time with a 10-attraction pass. They were entertained for hours and said it was the highlight of our trip. They did the alpine slide, bungee jump, zip line, scenic chair lift, and rope course. There are comfortable nooks for mom...More

Thank Tara M
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Tara, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we do hope you will visit us again in the very near future. Sincerely, Colin McBeath General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Selected the resort on a last minute whim ! Pleasantly surprised ..which prompted us to book a second night. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. We ate at both the bar/grill (fantastic fettuccine meatballs) and the pizzeria. Limited restaurants available (in summer) but no worries they...More

Thank CHRISTINA R
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Christina, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. You are absolutely correct, it can get chilly up on the mountain so I'm pleased the lack of air conditioning was not an issue. I'm also...More

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A Great Time! My son ( 11 ) and I signed up for a Beginner Mountain Biking lesson with Tina and it was awesome! She was extremely knowledgeable and a certified pro. We learned so much and had a blast. I would highly recommend lessons...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. We started lessons full time this year and they have been very well received. The terrain at the mountain can be a little daunting and a lesson goes a long way towards ensuring you're...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The check in process was very disorganized but otherwise the facility was fine. Doesn't wow you but doesn't disappoint.More

Thank Lindsay P
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Lindsay, Thank you for your most recent review. I'm sorry you found the check in process to be disorganized. I'm not sure what area you are referring to as we have check in at lodging, check in for adventure tickets and check in for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For less than the price of a hotel room with two queens in Durango we got a one bedroom corner condo with a King size bed a full kitchen with dining room, living room with sofa bed, a balcony in the common area and a...More

Thank Cbass37x
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Cbass, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit however I am sorry you didn't have the opportunity to indulge in some of our summer activities. Again thanks so very much and I look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Purgatory Resort is a wonderful place to stay for families during the summer! There are several activities for all ages and the views are beautiful. Our kids really enjoyed this resort. I will definitely stay at Purgatory again in future.More

Thank Courtney J
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Courtney, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and that family were able to partake in our summer activities. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. Sincerely, Colin McBeath...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we stopped in here during our stay in Durango -- there are various activities to do... zip line, trampoline bounce, alpine slide, mountain biking, etc. You can pay by the activity or do it all in bulk. The only problem we had (which the...More

Thank Janine Z
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Janine, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I'm delighted your kids were able to experience the chair lift to the top! Yes the weather can play havoc sometimes with us however we're pleased you were able to wait it out...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Family vacation to Durango for a wedding. There were 16 of us , 3 to 73 yrs old. We rented a couple of condos here for a week. The plaza has plenty of activities (you can purchase individual or all encompassing passes) . Some of...More

Thank Tracey-Lee4
Colin M, General Manager at Purgatory Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tracey, Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I'm so happy you were able to experience the mountain and all it's activities...the ATV rental in the plaza and the adventures you can have is certainly one of my favorites as well....More

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Paradise Pizzeria & Ice Creamery
23 reviews
.19 miles away
Sow's Ear Dinner & Libations
143 reviews
1.10 miles away
Olde Schoolhouse Cafe
70 reviews
2.73 miles away
Purgatory Resort
5 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Durango Snowbike Experience
84 reviews
.02 miles away
Old Lime Creek Road
10 reviews
1.68 miles away
Snowmobile Adventures
286 reviews
.25 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mylocofamily
March 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ThankfulElf | Reviewed this property |
It's a 30min drive to town. Waiting on a shuttle might be even longer. I'd get a car. Parking was free during ski times, so not sure if you have to pay to stay on the mountain.
0
Votes
Alexandra C
March 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from analyze_SA | Reviewed this property |
You can't tube on their hill. You have to rent their tubes. There are plenty of hills to tube on but not on the hill that they plow for their tubes.
0
Votes
Alexandra C
March 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from PurgatoryResort | Property representative |
Hi Alexandra - in order to access our slopes, you must be a skier, snowboarder or snowbiker. Purgatory Resort offers other activities in addition to skiing and you do not need to ski to enjoy those. Some of those... More
1
Vote