We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lawson Adventure Park & Resort

Dumont, CO, USA
More
About Lawson Adventure Park & Resort
We are a family friendly outdoor adventure park! We feature whitewater rafting, ziplining, via ferrata guied mountain climbing, ropes course, disc golf, zorbing, and more! We also have fully-furnished cabins & yurts available onsite for those who want to make it a Staycation! We're located near the historic town of Idaho Springs, 35 miles west of Denver in the Rocky Mountains!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Lawson Adventure Park & Resort

Via-Zip Duo (Beginner)

Enjoy the rush of the only private Via Ferrata in the state of Colorado.It's the only place you can safely climb straight up the rock face of a Mountain.

Traverse the granite cliffs and get a taste of freedom as you look over the vast landscape around you.Then experience the thrill of our forest Zipline as you fly like a bird through the tree tops.
Read more
2 hours 30 minutes
from $149.00

Int/Advanced Whitewater Rafting

Have a fun experience paddling through the Colorado wilderness! Intermediate/Advanced rafting includes the thrill of riding through rapids and moments of taking in the amazing surrounding scenery.
Read more
2 hours 30 minutes
from $89.00

Beginner/Int Whitewater Rafting

No Colorado vacation is complete without rafting in one of our scenic rivers. We provide a fun and family-friendly whitewater rafting experience. You’ll float past ponderosa pine, juniper, and Douglas fir tree forests before tumbling through the old mining town of Idaho Springs.
Read more
2 hours 30 minutes
from $79.00

Disc Golf & Hike

Hike throughout our 40 acre adventure park in the Rocky Mountanins while trying to score some shots by tossing discs into baskets.

Disc Golf (Available Anytime Between 9AM to 6 PM)
Read more
9 hours
from $20.00

Upper Colorado Rafting

Come take a leisurely float through canyons in the Colorado wilderness! It's a fun, full-day excursion and lunch/drinks are included.
Read more
8 hours
from $139.00
13Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nick F wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
Rafting: we had four first timers (and three were 8-10 year old range) and it was an amazing experience. Hayden was our trip leader and he made it super fun and was very accommodating for the kids. We also had Charlie as our driver and he ran around to make sure we had plenty of pictures of the trip as well. Apparently the van broke down, but we never would have known, because this guy busted his butt to the camp to get a new one! Because of so many kids, they provided another guide for our raft, Jason, who was also super great with the kids. A++ overall.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GregB2024, Owner at Lawson Adventure Park & Resort
Responded Jun 30, 2020
Thanks for the review Nick, we're glad you and your family had a great time rafting! Hope you come back again.
Read more
ckmantan wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a month out to stay in a yurt. Our kids were excited about staying. They even confirmed a couple days before and the day of to see if we were coming. We drove two and half hours and once we were 5 minutes away from the park, we get a call saying that the heater broke and that they could not accommodate us. I understand things happen but they should have checked on this earlier in the day. What a waste of time!!! Kids were disappointed!!!! Very unprofessional!!!! Do not book here if your want your vacation plans ruined!!!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from GregB2024, Owner at Lawson Adventure Park & Resort
Responded Jan 31, 2020
We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused. We always do our best to ensure our cabins and yurts are cleaned, setup, and ready for guests before they arrive so they can have a great experience. Unfortunately there are rare occasions when unexpected situations beyond our control do occur. We were concerned about having a family stay in our unheated yurt since it is wintertime and there were also no other yurts available. Please accept our sincere apology and full credit for this reservation towards another stay. Just call our front desk and we will work with you to get your new reservation all squared away.
Read more
Sandy S wrote a review Nov 2019
Riverside, Connecticut611 contributions186 helpful votes
Lawton’s Adventure Resort is located just outside of Georgetown, right beside I-70. Consists of four cabins (tiny houses) and about the same number of yurts. Cabins are close together. Insides are thoughtfully decorated with quality materials and high end furnishings. Ours had a living/dining area with a ceiling fan, comfortable couch, pull-down dining table, well-equipped kitchen, handsome shower bath and bedroom with comfortable queen-size bed. Drawback is significant noise from I-70 throughout the night. Once the cabin had cooled down enough from the daytime heat, we were able to close the windows and with a small fan to create white noise, we were eventually able to sleep. This was a serious issue during our July visit – would be less of a problem in cooler weather. Other than the traffic noise, thought it was a terrific value for the money in peak season. Even more reasonable are the yurts, which don’t have private baths or electricity. Be aware that you can't park next to the yurts, which means carrying your stuff up the hill. Our grandkids did some of the adventure park activities and had a great time -- staff was super nice and helpful.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Maja wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This review is for one of the yurts - we did not do any of the activities. My husband and I had the worst experience imaginable when we reserved a yurt at Lawson Adventure Park. We were going to be checking in after they closed and received a text message confirming us in the wrong yurt. We called to discuss this with them only to find out the yurt we reserved was double booked. Since the other couple arrived before us they moved us to a terrible location. We specifically reserved the Mountaineer and were moved to Grays. We had our dogs with and had to share a tiny deck/pathway to our yurt with another one. The layout is incredibly uncomfortable unless you are a larger group and reserve both yurts. There was no room to sit outside and the pathway was insanely narrow. Additionally, it absolutely does not state anywhere on their website that you can not drive up to the yurts. We arrived in the dark only to discover that we needed to walk rather than park next to the yurt. Typically, not a big deal but really that's something they should highlight on their site. We also arrived to find that we had no dishware or cookware as also advertised on their website. This isn't something management could have fixed but the location is just terrible. The sound of traffic from i-70 was insanely loud and obviously lasted all night. Certainly not a get-a-way like they advertise. Overall, it is extremely poorly run and I would not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dorothyj1951 wrote a review Aug 2019
Scottsdale, Arizona12 contributions1 helpful vote
Review of: Via Ferrata
I was just sitting around in the Via Ferrata area, not knowing anything. Struck up a conversation with Taz, who had a wonderful way of encouraging me to try it. Signed up and had Amy as my guide. WOW ! I loved it. Challenged me ! And she gently encouraged me and I made it!! I am 67 years and conquered my outdoor rock climbing fear! Thanks to Via Ferrata guides in giving me a great experience!! I went with my husband and older son, who were conquering the mountain on bikes!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from GregB2024, Owner at Lawson Adventure Park & Resort
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Glad you enjoyed your adventure at the park! We love that our guides ease people into new experiences that are invigorating and exciting. Hope we see you again!
Read more
Previous