We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greatest Escape Games - CLOSED

271 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Greatest Escape Games - CLOSED

271 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
801 S Tejon St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-4148
Get to know the area
Small Group Tour of Pikes Peak and the Garden of the Gods from Denver
Day Trips

Small Group Tour of Pikes Peak and the Garden of the Gods from Denver

268 reviews
Tick off two of Colorado’s top natural sights in just one day on a day trip to the Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from Denver. A small group limited to 14 ensures you receive personalized attention from your guide, while round trip transfers allow you to focus on the scenery rather than the road.
$129.00 per adult
271Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 246
  • 12
  • 3
  • 4
  • 6
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shirley Paulson wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
My 7-year old grandson says: I liked the clues, the checkerboard pieces, and the fun! Grandmother says: I had fun working just as hard as my grandson to figure it out together!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EscapeArtist801, Manager at The Greatest Escape Games
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Thank you so much! We are glad that you had a great time at our establishment.
Read more
Yasmin Bryant wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
This was a gift for my little family of 5. My hubby, 12yr old son, 9yr old daughter and 2yr old son all had such a great time. We worked as a team and really kept it fun. Kids can’t wait to go back. Such a fun experience. Something new and different.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EscapeArtist801, Manager at The Greatest Escape Games
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Thank you, we love the fact that your entire family were involved!! We look forward to you and your family returning soon.
Read more
ktbro wrote a review Jan 2020
Denver, CO4 contributions5 helpful votes
We did the Santa's Naughty List room with 4 tweens and 1 adult. There are lots of puzzles to keep everyone busy. It was a little "lock" heavy, but the decor was great and really got you in the spirit.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from EscapeArtist801, Manager at The Greatest Escape Games
Responded Jan 12, 2020
Thank you for the positive review, we really appreciate it. You guys were awesome and we look forward to seeing you again soon and attending Escapeworks very soon.
Read more
Vacationgirl wrote a review Dec 2019
Colorado Springs, Colorado15 contributions18 helpful votes
So much fun ! Would definitely do it again ! Santa’s naughty list was great and would love to try something else !
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from G_Cardena, Manager at The Greatest Escape Games
Responded Dec 27, 2019
We are so glad that you had such a great time with us! Please come back soon and try one of our other rooms. Thank you and Happy New Year
Read more
Matt wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Fun experience, imaginative puzzles but very little story. Overall: Although the puzzles were fun and different, they lacked any connection to the story of the room. We booked The Inventors Workshop. If you hate lock and key puzzles or combination locks then you're going to love this room. No keys, no combination locks. Every puzzle uses a different gizmo and gadget to unlock. That was the fun part of the room. With that said, the story felt like it came out of a "Escape Rooms R Us" box. A short, well produced and very generic video plays at the beginning and you shortly forget why you're locked in a room and why you should care. I've been in escape rooms where we had to defuse a bomb and every puzzle reminded you of the urgency of the situation. The impending doom and the progression of the story was exhilarating. I didn't get any of that in this room. I just felt like I was solving puzzles for no good reason. The booking experience: I reserved the room online and paid for four. I emailed them and asked them to reserve the other four slots for friends. They were very responsive and helpful. NOTE: The reservation email says "If you have not booked the entire room you may be paired with other guests." They suggest eight people for this room but it's too much. I'd suggest four to keep it fun and challenging. Six max. Before the room: Parking is on the street. We went Friday night and didn't have any issues finding spots nearby. There was another group waiting for another room. The waiting area was somewhat crowded. Some of my group still had to pay when they arrived. After they paid, they got a receipt with the amount I paid and the amount they paid. Momentary panic ensued, thinking their card was charged a couple hundred dollars and they had to ask for clarity. The payment system isn't good and I'd encourage the owner to explain receipts before freaking more patrons out. The room instructions were minimal but gave away a few surprises unnecessarily. We left all our coats and purses on a table. I appreciate it when other places have lockers to store your stuff securely. The room and puzzles: The room isn't large. Another reason I'd suggest 4-6 people. The puzzles are big and obvious. The design was fantastic and the mechanics of the entire room were impressive and imaginative. Someone was creative and thought outside of the box, making for a unique escape room experience. If every puzzle tied back to the story, this would have been a top experience. After solving a few puzzles, I actually forgot what the story was and why the cool props and puzzles mattered. Spoiler alert: There's a puzzle that requires a sense of smell. They need to find better scents. It was hard to nail down the artificial scents. We got stuck on one part and got a clue from the host. We were allowed three clues, and only needed the one. That says a lot about the logic and puzzle progression in the room. I've been in some rooms where the puzzles are a little too abstract and need some more explanation. We didn't have any issues with that here. One of the clues was just hard to see because of the lighting in the room. The verdict: We successfully escaped the room in about 40 minutes. If we had six people, it probably would have taken 50 minutes. We just had too many people per puzzle. The puzzles are really hard, the odds were just stacked in our favor. The host congratulated us and seemed to apologize. "Well, I hope you at least had fun." Maybe we were arguing more than I thought. 😛 The host offered to take our picture with the final time. There wasn't a competitive leaderboard (like many other escape rooms). Unfortunately, this added to the purposelessness of the experience. We came, we saw, we escaped. With a little time and creativity, tying the puzzles together to the narrative, making the escapers feel like they have an important role to play in the story and giving people a sense of competition would make this escape rooms one of the best in town. The puzzles and mechanics are there. They just need a reason to be solved.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from G_Cardena, Manager at The Greatest Escape Games
Responded Dec 20, 2019
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not 100% up to par, and that you felt like you were solving puzzles for no good reason. Each one of our rooms has a very exact story to it, and a precise outcome. The outcome may not have had the urgency of the end of the world, however it has one that has worked for us for over a year now. We have had many patrons that are not interested in a high stress situation, and they come here to have fun, not necessarily to compete against other. As for the confusion with the payments. Each one of the payments we received has a date and a time next to it on the receipt, it also says how much was paid at said time and date. We apologize that each payment did not get it own receipt, however since you were a group our system breaks it down per payment the way you received it. I am sorry that you felt that your items were not secure due to not having a locker. In four and half years of business we have never had an incident where things have been damaged or stolen. We personally watch each and every person that comes through our doors, there are cameras everywhere throughout the house. We are sorry that you felt that the instructions you were given, gave things away. We are constantly updating our instructions due to things that happen within the rooms, and the questions patrons have asked before entering the rooms. We try to cover everything for those who have not done an escape room before. In conclusion we appreciate your business and the feedback, thank you.
Read more
Previous