We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Artisan Excursion Wine Tours

Solvang, CA, USA
More
About Artisan Excursion Wine Tours
Anisan Excursion Wine Tours and transportation excursions throughout the area Solvang/ Santa Ynez Valley are a specialty of transportation. You and your group will be treated to special views that attract visitors from around the world and secret places known only to locals. Your transportation offers standard tours of the Santa Barbara Wine Country Tasting Tours.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
Tours and Tickets by Artisan Excursion Wine Tours
Overview
Discover the great wines of the Santa Ynez valley during a private 4-hour wine tour. This part of Santa Barbara's heralded wine country is home to more than 120 mostly family-owned wineries. You can customize your itinerary in consultation with your private guide to create a half-day tour itinerary that visits the places of your choosing. Includes hotel pickup and drop-off in Lompoc, Buellton, Los Olivos, Solvang, Los Alamo, and Santa Ynez.
141Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 12
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
shannavoelker wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
A wonderful experience! My husband and I wanted a guided experience through the Santa Ynez Valley wine country, and Artisan Excursion Wine Tours did not disappoint. We had SO MUCH FUN! We made new friends, learned about and tasted a lot of excellent wine, enjoyed a delicious lunch, and saw beautiful country. Most of all, we enjoyed the entire experience while being expertly chauffeured in a clean, comfortable van and thoughtfully guided by Tom, who was at once knowledgeable, professional, and wonderfully friendly. We had a beautiful, relaxing trip and can't wait to go again!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Olivia G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I think my favorite part of the wine tour was how diverse each tour was and the order they were in. The guy at the first vineyard was very informative, so it gave us some basic knowledge for the others. The second vineyard was cool too because they sort of left us alone so we could converse and enjoy each other’s presence. The third vineyard was especially nice because it was bigger than the others and the lady who was pouring the wine was very sweet and welcoming. Thank you Tom for picking the best vineyards for us and driving us. You are awesome!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martha V wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Tom was a great driver- the selections of wineries were so different it was quite lovely to experience. Boutique wineries with such rich history made the trip so enjoyable, the Esfuerzo though should have guide stay with group the whole time- he kept walking off. The van has a/c, is large and very comfortable but hard to hear if you describe things as you drive Tom. I agree we needed some crackers/cheese to go with each pairing perhaps tell groups to bring their own? Not your standard wine tour where you go visit a large not so attentive winery. If you want custom, down to earth hosts (except for the La Fond they were nice but no stories not really saying anything til we discussed the dog- Tequila) this is the tour to take! Solvang, Buellton-
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Luis N wrote a review Apr 2022
San Jose, Costa Rica16 contributions
+1
Very nice experience to be our first time in California. Some of my positive points: - Very punctual. - Friendly service. - Private/Small/Personalized -You get too see and hear stories from different levels of wine producers. -You don’t have to drive and drink. -Generous servings. -Comfortable transportation. Some recommended points of improvement: -Not sure if it’s normal in the area that wine tasting is just to drink wine and nothing more, but you could definitely add value to the tour by introducing recommended pairings in all the wines that are tasted. Not sure if it’s cost related but I am sure everyone expects some cheese, olives, small pieces of bread, cold meat, etc., to pair with the wines. Probably it would be even better to replace the lunch and add these small portions of parings for the wines. Of course if you want to be perfect, it would have to be a collaborative effort between the tour and producers, to nail down every wine with the proper pairing. -Have a microphone inside the van as it is sometimes difficult to hear in the back. -Add a bit more history/comments/etc. while going to the wineries, especially from the Santa Ynez area, how wine is produced, the process, etc. -On the second winery try to have someone next to tourists, as sometimes one feels abandoned. Also show more about the process they do and type of winery they are. -It would be nice to have a quick tour around the plants and explain in the field what is all about, how they are grown, maintained, things to look for, why they are bent, etc. Again, I am not sure if this how it goes on every wine tasting in the area, and the idea is jut to have people drink the wines and that’s it, and probably because from past experiences no one cares about the process and how wine is made, or how to pair it. I know is difficult sometimes to please everyone’s tastes and desires, but mixing a bit of everything makes it nicer for everyone. Besides that, we enjoyed our first wine tasting in California! Thanks Tom!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan L wrote a review Mar 2022
8 contributions5 helpful votes
I wish that I could leave a great review but I can't. First the positives: We got picked up at our hotel within a half hour of our starting time. We didn't have to drive. We had generous pours. The first two winery owners had interesting stories to tell. We had a convivial and interesting group of fellow imbibers. The negatives: It was an unseasonably cold and windy day. When we arrived at our first stop in a suburban neighborhood, we could smell a wood fire and assumed we'd be drinking around a fire but this was not the case. Instead, we sat outside in the cold and wind. We could have used blankets or heaters. Second, our lunch was not what I'd considered gourmet. We could have used a pickle, side salad, and/or a cookie as well as something to drink beside water or wine. Third, We ate inside a cold barrel room there and the owner had to run back and forth to talk to other groups. Fourth, the owner of the last winery was not friendly nor helpful. Sorry for this review. The owner/driver is doing something nice for people who don't want to drink and drive but I wouldn't do this again.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom V, Owner at Artisan Excursion Wine Tours
Responded Mar 9, 2022
HI Susan I'm sorry you had a bad time, i know the weather was very cold and windy but i can't control the weather. Your right the small out door tasting should have blankets or a heater. I will mention that to them. As for the lunch my lunches are not gourmet but its a picnic lunch like sandwiches and salads, chips, cookies and water as it says on my site. So this review is not accurate giving me a disappointing review because of weather and lunch.
Read more
Previous
123456