We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Paid for 5 hours, received 3

December 2016, Laguna Seca, CA. Instructor one hour late, couldn't find an open classroom for... read more

Reviewed February 7, 2017
curlyintiedye
,
Marina, California
Skip Barber Racing School a Scam

My wife purchased the 3 day School at a cost of $4,095.00 and I was scheduled to attend at two... read more

Reviewed August 14, 2018
John K
Read all 25 reviews
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good8%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible68%
Aug 14, 2018
“Skip Barber Racing School a Scam”
Jul 26, 2018
“Excellent”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
58°
38°
Dec
58°
38°
Jan
58°
38°
Feb
Contact
1023 Monterey Salinas Hwy, Salinas, CA 93908-8937
Website
+1 800-221-1131
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
4
2
1
1
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
4
2
1
1
17
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 25 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

My wife purchased the 3 day School at a cost of $4,095.00 and I was scheduled to attend at two different events. The first one we were told canceled and we rescheduled for a different track in Atlanta area called AMP. It was only days...More

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank John K
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

After reviewing the new Skip Barber, ( under new ownership) I signed up for the three day class on July ninth. Everything was excellent. Instructors , cars , staff and areas of instruction. Have no reservations, you won’t be disappointed. Joel Hollen

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JoelH1570
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I have been trying to contact Chris Kretzmer regarding scheduling a course with the credit that was issued under my account from a last minute cancellation I experienced last year for our 3 day race school at willow springs due to Skip barber cancelling the...More

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Marcus S
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I gave my husband as a Christmas present driving at Skip Barber. $3000. They have cancelled on him twice already. The most recent time, they informed him the afternoon before the two day school. We lost the money on the plane tickets, etc. Also, they...More

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank emjwt
Management response:Responded July 20, 2017

I am sorry you have had issues with rescheduling. We have no interest in rescheduling but most are due to third parties over which we have little control. You are wrong in stating that you have lost your money. Your deposit is good anywhere any...More

Reviewed May 22, 2017

The reason for all of the terrible reviews is because they have been struggling financially like crazy. They just filed for bankruptcy, so those of you waiting for money, sorry. Those of you thinking about signing up, their website is still up. DON'T do it.More

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank orffteacher
Management response:Responded May 24, 2017

Chapter 11 is part of a strategy to strengthen the company and to fund growth. It is a going concern filing that allows the company to continue in the normal course. An important element of the plan is to sell the business within 60 days....More

Reviewed April 11, 2017

We did the first and second course of the driving school at Laguna Seca. If you have never driven this track....and you are into driving/racing....boy o boy, do you need to try this track....the corkscrew and drop will open your eyes... The Skip Barber group,...More

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank dennis l
Reviewed April 5, 2017

On October 5, 2016 Skip Barber Racing School, LLC entered into an Assurance of Voluntary Compliance with the Attorney General State of Georgia Samuel Olens. The Assurance settles allegations that the business has used unfair or deceptive acts or practices. 1.When classes were cancelled due...More

Date of experience: March 2017
8  Thank Steve M
Management response:Responded April 6, 2017

Skip Barber Racing School has offered Steve M and his 2 friends incentives to reschedule and we have offered them other means of settlement. Sebring and Road Atlanta both owned by NASCAR terminated our long term agreements and effectively changed the terms that allowed us...More

Reviewed March 3, 2017

You'll not be able to drive certain cars because they're either in the shop or the staff don't want to deal with getting some of them too dirty. You'll have two hour lunches because they'll be missing transport vans. You'll have your curriculum changed to...More

Date of experience: December 2016
11  Thank wl7938
Reviewed February 7, 2017

December 2016, Laguna Seca, CA. Instructor one hour late, couldn't find an open classroom for another hour, so out on the track with only 15 minutes of instruction. Another class needed to share the cars, so there were 9 working cars time-shared by 22 people....More

Date of experience: December 2016
6  Thank curlyintiedye
Reviewed January 18, 2017

This use to be the best but now the worst school in the country. They went from Hero to Zero in the past three years with money problems. Ripping off the people that work for them. All the good employees quit!

Date of experience: October 2016
9  Thank tgmpapa
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 nearby hotels
Carmel Valley Ranch
1,805 reviews
4.32 miles away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
476 reviews
4.83 miles away
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
198 reviews
5.03 miles away
Discovery Inn
118 reviews
5.26 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 347 nearby restaurants
Lucia Restaurant & Bar
147 reviews
4.83 miles away
Valley Kitchen
189 reviews
4.40 miles away
Toro Place Cafe
70 reviews
2.86 miles away
Iolis' Pizzeria
34 reviews
4.25 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 36 nearby attractions
WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
222 reviews
1.07 miles away
Garland Ranch Regional Park
162 reviews
4.14 miles away
Frog Pond Wetland Preserve
23 reviews
4.35 miles away
Folktale Winery & Vineyard
100 reviews
4.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brnensky
Brought to justice by Georgia's Department of Law - here is a quote from the official website: Skip Barber Racing School, LLC (SBRS) - CPU alleged that Skip Barber Racing School, LLC (SBRS) engaged in multiple violations of the FBPA related to its offering of racing classes to consumers. SBRS scheduled racing classes, collected money from consumers (often several thousands of dollars) in advance of those classes, and then cancelled classes without offering to refund the money collected in advance to the consumers. SBRS implied that the only recourse for the consumers was to reschedule their classes. These were classes at race tracks across the country which involved travel expenses for the consumers and which were not easily rescheduled. If SBRS did agree to give the consumers a refund of their money, they did not do so within a reasonable time frame. The average time it took consumers to receive their refund (from refund request date, not from the date that SBRS knew the services would not be provided) was 122 days. SBRS has agreed to change its practices and to pay $5,000 in penalties and approximately $118,000 in restitution to the consumers who did not receive their refunds for a cancelled SBRS class.
February 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from W26AR |
Is there a process for customers to apply for a refund now?
0
Votes
Evelyn R
October 16, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Evelyn R | Reviewed this property |
I took out a civil claim against Skip Barber racing school and also going on news 4 NY
2
Votes