Azari Winery and Vineyard

Azari Winery and Vineyard, Petaluma: Address, Phone Number, Azari Winery and Vineyard Reviews: 4.5/5

Azari Winery and Vineyard
4.5
About
Please call ahead to schedule an appointment for tasting Azari Vineyards specializes in small-lot, super-premium wines from our hillside estate in the Petaluma Gap as well as select vineyards in the best regions of Northern California. The winery strives to represent the Azari family's principles of quality and hospitality, which is reflected in the experience and personal attention we give each guest.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
17 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Sil
1 contribution
Disappointing Follow-up
Jul 2019 • Friends
I’m going to start out by saying Azari Vineyards was a pleasant experience in a beautiful location and setting. Coming from Chicago, the hillside scenery and fragrant breeze were just the out of the norm experience we were all seeking . The wine served and brick oven pizza was enjoyable and the atmosphere surrounding us was both charming and relaxing and thoroughly enjoyed by all. The hosts were knowledgeable and easy to work with as well. Infact, i enjoyed the wine so much I decided to purchase 2 bottles totaling over 100 dollars while being assured the pressurized climate controlled plane would not harm the bottles. Upon returning home, I gifted the bottle of white Reisling to my mother who was looking forward to trying her favorite kind from the winery. I was extremely disappointed to find it had turned and so in good faith I reached out to the vineyard and was pleasantly surprised when I received a response by Austin within a couple of days. This was August 30. Initially he tried to tell me it was ruined on the plane (it wasn’t as I have travelled with wine in a plane before) Unfortunately this is where the good and fuzzy feeling of Azari ends for me and made up my mind to never visit them again. Austin assured me that a replacement bottle would be sent ASAP. Fast forward and now it’s September 26th when I reached out again and was told by Austin that a new employee was handling the situation now and that he was no longer there but he would look into it for me. Fast forward to November 4, no bottle, no follow up, and no response. And I’m still waiting....Azari Vinyards May be pleasant and enjoyable while in the moment but once you leave the property there is no accountability or honesty. I was promised follow up and replacement and communication. Zero out of 3. I will not be visiting again.
Written January 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Art T.
2 contributions
These people who work here are dishonest and their business practices are HORRIBLE!
Nov 2019
I do not recommended this place at all. If their wine vineyard service is like their guest house practices you should try another vineyard. During early summer, I called to reserve their guest house. I gave them my specifics and I was told that my room was booked for the Thanksgiving weekend. I had a voucher for three days and was willing to pay for an additional day and was informed that I was booked. I contacted my family members and informed them that we would be spending the holiday on a vineyard enjoying the country side and wine tasting. In early November, I received a call from Azari telling me that I did not have a reservation. They made it seem like I never called and made the reservation; however, they had my contact information and called me so it proves that they had my information and my booking and further knew it was for the Thanksgiving day and weekend. During the call they told me that the place was already booked. If I did not have a reservation, how would they know to call me to tell me that I did not have a reservation.
These people are dishonest and lied to my face. Now I am left high and dry and needing to find another location at this late notice for my family. Instead of admitting their mistake and offering an alternative to make it right, they lied to me and tried to make if seem like I was at fault. These people are dishonest and if their vineyard service is like their cottage reservations, then you will do well not to visit this place.
Written November 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SMHOKIES
2 contributions
Must visit! Beautiful property, Best Pinot Noirs of the weekend!
Mar 2019 • Friends
We visited this winery a during a weekend wine tasting trip to Sonoma. It's one of our favorite wineries of the weekend. a MUST VISIT!!

We were there on a rainy/drizzly day and alot of other groups cancelled. They were basically closed for the day. We were lucky and followed the owner into the property. He welcomed us in and took care of us. Their wines were delicious. The BEST Pinot Noir we had all weekend. Someone in our group joined the club, and the shipment just arrived. Can't wait to open it! (I'm sure I'm right behind him in joining the club!!)

The property is BEAU.TI.FUL. Literally feels like you're in a different country. His son in law gave us a tour and explained alot of the work the owner had done himself. It was amazing to see at the pride the family has in their winery. It's a great little family business tucked away, and I'm SO GLAD we found it.

I can't wait to have more of their wine and visit again the next time we find ourselves in Sonoma!
Written March 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jeff D
Santa Rosa, CA85 contributions
A very nice family-owned winery
Oct 2018 • Friends
Azari is a bit hard to find, out in the Petaluma countryside. It's worth the extra effort. The Azari family members are generous and thoughtful hosts. And the wines? Superior. Come and spend a few hours at this beautiful winery and its gently rolling vineyards.
Written December 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sinistrality
San Francisco, CA57 contributions
Stunning views, excellent wine, top-notch boutique experience at Azari
Apr 2018 • Friends
The Azari Estate and Vineyard is a must visit for anybody looking for a unique, specialized experience in California wine country. This family estate is run by the Azari family themselves, is a working vineyard, and fortunately, they allow visitors to join them throughout the year as they create amazing wine. My family and I were able to stay on the property in one of their comfortable villas for several days. Knowing this is a working estate, we were glad to be welcomed as part of their family and felt at home walking the property and sharing meals. Oh! And they have the BEST pizza made to order in their outdoor brick oven! If you are looking for a unique experience that is not found in some run-of-the-mill hotel, this is the place for you. Get away from the hustle and bustle of town and enjoy the rolling hills, endless rows of grapes, and good food and company with the Azaris!
Written April 20, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review about our little winery. We can't wait to host you here again :)
Written May 2, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mollykamp
Hermosa Beach, CA3 contributions
Gourmet Wine and Pizza at an Italian-Cali Estate!
Apr 2018 • Friends
The GPS made this hidden gem hard to find as "Shamrock Lane" is their driveway and unmarked from the main road! The beautiful electronic gate opens to a beautiful garden setting reminding you of an Italian estate! Kaveh Azari hosted us with homemade pizza roasted in their own stone pizza oven which accompanied our superb wine tasting! Yummy reds and a lovely Rose were served. If I were local, I would join their wine club so I could bring friends and family to this lovely gem. Their hospitality and the ambiance is first class! Both the indoor wine room and the outdoor patio are lovely.
Written April 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

thechenster1
San Francisco, CA3 contributions
It's all in the thoughtful details...
Mar 2018 • Friends
I rented the Guest House at Azari Vineyards in March 2018 via Airbnb (and unfortunately passed the review deadline by just 1 day). It is a beautiful property—there's a view of the cows and the hills and the air smells like rosemary and lemon—as well as some other nice touches (the Azari brothers welcomed us to the property with 2 bottles of wine left in the fridge).

However, that being said, it was lacking in attention to detail, and the guest house property was less than well-maintained.

When the four of us arrived, we realized there was less than 3/4 of one roll of toilet paper for all of the guests. When I notified the hosts, they said, "Can this wait until tomorrow? Or you can pick up some TP and we will reimburse you for it later. Sorry :/" - a response that seemed pretty disappointing considering toilet paper is a basic necessity. We wound up having to detour to a grocery store at 10:00 p.m. on a Friday night after a long wine-filled dinner just to pick up toilet paper. They never followed up on reimbursing us.

The house needed maintenance: There were ants in the living room and the kitchen. One of the rungs on the dining chairs fell apart on us, as did a hand towel rung in the master bathroom. The master bathroom shower drain was clogged, and the toilet in the same bathroom repeatedly made a whistling noise.

The stay at Azari gets incrementally more expensive per person, so it costed us $300 more to have 5 guests than if we only had 1 guest. Included in the stay is a wine and pizza tasting that we were super excited for. When we arrived, we saw two people enjoying wine and a whole pizza to themselves...so imagine our disappointment when we were served 1 pizza between all 6 of us. We asked for another pizza at the end of our tasting and were told the wait would be more than 30 minutes, which we couldn't do since we were headed to another tasting. It seemed unfair to be paying more for a stay but not reaping equal benefits. We then had to look for lunch options for a toddler after that, which was not ideal at the last moment.

There are plenty of rave reviews on Airbnb as well as a few lackluster ones. Being the eternal optimist that I am, I ignored the latter and wound up disappointed—hoping nobody else will repeat my mistakes.
Written April 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello, Susannah - Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for your stay with us at our Airbnb listing. Although this TripAdvisor listing is for our Tasting Room, since you have decided to write your thoughts and feedback here we will reply to them here in kind. I’m glad you appreciated the beauty and splendor of the property that we work so hard as a family to maintain here. We are also glad that you appreciated the two bottles of wine we left for you complimentary. As you say it’s in the thoughtful details, and this is one of the ways we like to show our appreciation to our guests. We are so sorry there wasn’t enough toilet paper in the house for you. This is a complete oversight on our site, and when you wrote to us “Is there any chance you have extra? If not we can pick up some?” I told you that we could reimburse you to which you wrote “No worries.” I have also replied to you directly to reimburse you for the toilet paper and you have not responded to me, so I am a bit puzzled as to why you're writing "They never followed up on reimbursing us." When you arrived in our Tasting Room, my brother was very busy, as we are a small, family-operated establishment. He is often in the tasting room by himself, and although he does a tremendous job making sure all of our guests' needs are attended to (you can see many people raving about him on Yelp), sometimes when things get a bit busy he gets backed up. He did not deny you and your party another pizza, he simply asked you to wait patiently for another one, which you did not have the time to do so, unbeknownst to him. He even offered to make a pizza for you and bring it to the house, which you refused. After your stay, I asked you how everything was and you replied “Everything was fine, thanks! Tell the cows we say hi,” which I am so disheartened to now hear was not the case. We’d really like to make this up to you, and if you and your party would like to come back and visit us, I’d love to make sure everyone gets enough wine and pizza. We are a small, family owned operation. 100% of our employees are minorities and/or women. Susannah, as you continue your illustrious career writing about food for establishments like PopSugar, Chowhound, Eater and Zagat, I hope you remember the power your words have when you write them publicly like this, before giving the business owners direct feedback and an opportunity to make things right.
Written May 2, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karen S
Fairfax, California, United States17 contributions
Wonderful visit to the vineyard!
Apr 2018 • Friends
There is almost nothing sweeter then stumbling upon a hidden gem in your own backyard. I’ve lived in Marin since the 1980’s and always have enjoyed the beauty and surprises in the back roads of Marin and Sonoma. Finding this sweet surprise will be on my list to enjoy again and again! We made a reservation at the recommendation of a friend for wine and pizza. Kavey, one of the son’s, greeted us at the end of the long driveway and at the entrance of the lovely tasting room.
The grounds were impeccable, the wines delicious and pizza so yummy that I feel inspired to have a wood fired pizza oven in my own backyard! And Kaveh.... charming, engaging and willing to please!
Give yourself a treat and plan a visit, become a member if you like, and enjoy a growing industry in Sonoma County! They grow the grapes in the valley and the wines were superb. Best of all is that you couldn’t even tell it was there... I mean, who doesn’t like a surprise!
Written April 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I'm so glad you found us! You and Bonnie were a delight to host, and I do hope we see you both again soon :)
Written April 16, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jessica S
Orlando, FL10 contributions
Awesome and romantic stay!
Sep 2017 • Couples
My husband and I stayed at the guest house on property. It was spacious and comfortable. It was also very close to anything we would want to get to in Petaluma. The host was very accommodating and even gave us a free wine tasting! The wines were delicious and we ordered several bottles to be shipped home. Wonderful time and beautiful serene setting!
Written October 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We are so delighted to hear you had a nice stay with us. Please come and visit us again soon!
Written April 16, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Katya K
Paris, France42 contributions
Gorgeous place to stay & wine tastings. Walk from downtown Petaluma
May 2017 • Friends
Rented a cottage on the property with 6 friends — absolutely delightful! A spacious kitchen and dining area, beautiful landscaping all around, birds chirping, rolling hills and vineyards. The family that runs the winery is very pleasant as well. We will certainly be back!

You can walk here from downtown Petaluma
Written May 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing