Escape The Place

Escape The Place, Mission Viejo: Hours, Address, Escape The Place Reviews: 5/5

Escape The Place
5
Escape Games
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Have you ever had to escape from a building that’s about to be demolished, or a mysteriously locked hotel room? How about finding yourself handcuffed to a table by the CIA, or deactivating a very powerful nuclear device? When you visit Escape The Place CA, you will experience all of this and truly become part of the adventure. You and your group will be challenged in the most creative ways as soon as you step into a room. But you only have 60 minutes to overcome the obstacles that are in your way. Work with your team, embrace the mystery, and allow yourself to be thrilled like you never have before.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

5.0
24 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

elaine g
10 contributions
Nice mall
May 2017 • Business
Get food court. Stores pricey. My adult functional class likes to come and walk around and have lunch.
Written August 8, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brian C
1 contribution
Absolutely fantastic
Jul 2017 • Family
This was the best hour I have spent in a long time. We went through the Hang Over Room for my sons 22 birthday and had a blast. Kayla, our tour guide host could not have been better. She went through everything with us from the pre-instruction to the clues when needed. We have already started to figure out who we can take with us for our next trip, which room we want to go in.
Written July 21, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian, it's wonderful to hear you had so much fun that you're already planning your next escape! Kayla is a pleasure to work with, and we're certain she'll love reading her shoutout in your review. Thanks for all the kind words, and we look forward to your next challenge! Best, Escape the Place Team
Written July 24, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

cloversmel
USA4 contributions
Chamber
Apr 2017 • Family
We arrived early, as required, for our prepaid visit. The door was locked and no one was around. We called three times. Finally someone was sent and arrived 20 minutes after our appointment time. The room ended up being fun, but having no one there to greet us really put a damper on our visit. No discount was given, though if we had no showed, the rules state we would be charged an extra fee. When we asked for a reduction in our fee, we were refused. It is recently under new management we learned, and they will also soon be moving from the location. Suggest extra staff or owner on site to greet visitors.
Written April 16, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
While we're glad you enjoyed your escape, we'd like to apologize that there was some confusion regarding the start time of your experience. We can assure you that this is not a normal occurrence for us, and we'll be sure to look into what may have happened some more. All the best, Escape the Place Team
Written July 21, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Danielle F
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA26 contributions
You've got to try it!
Mar 2017 • Family
I was looking for something to do with my family on a Sunday and came across Escape The Place on Google. I booked our time slot for 8pm. We went into it not knowing what to expect so we were a little nervous but the staff was really nice and welcoming. The facility was nice and clean and air conditioned. This was a fun bonding experience for my family. We all worked together to move on to the next step and helped each other when we would get stuck. We had so much fun I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who wants to have fun and is ready for a fun challenge!
Written March 13, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I am glad that you and your family enjoyed yourself and had fun. I would like to thank you for joining us.
Written March 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mac M
Kingman, AZ4 contributions
Birthday celebration
Mar 2017 • Friends
Loved it! Lots of fun & entertaining! Our group got out with 1minute 27 seconds to go! Great group/party activity. Well worth the $ & time! For sure will do it again!
Written March 1, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I would like to thank you for letting us share in your birthday with you. We enjoyed working with you and your group. Hope to see you back again soon.
Written March 6, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

saphyrefly
Mission Viejo, CA5 contributions
Timebomb with a group of ten
Dec 2016 • Friends
I booked Timebomb because it is one of the few local escape rooms that can handle a higher capacity of people. I had done one other escape room at another location prior to this one and I preferred my other experience to this one, but this was still fun. Timebomb is apparently a "portable" escape room, so the room itself is not really important at all -- the set-up is completely independent of the room. All of the members of the group must really work together to solve all of the puzzles, as they must be solved in a linear way (whereas at my previous experience, the room features were much more important and the group could divide and conquer different puzzles). I see how this room would be a WONDERFUL way to encourage team-building because of the way it is set up. With ten people in the room (the room says it can handle up to twelve), the space was pretty cramped. Almost half of the room is taken over by a feature that has no purpose at all, so not sure why it is there other than ambiance (but it has no part in the game at all otherwise). The room needs to have a better system for air conditioning because it got rather warm. Our host was in the room with us rather than locking us in and he had the door open, so that was also different than my prior escape room experience (where we were literally sent into a room and the door was shut). Unfortunately, we did not break out of this room in time (we needed 2 more minutes to do it and we know where our downfall was), but it was fun. I prefer the rooms that have more involvement in the room itself and more diverse puzzles, personally.
Written December 11, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorry for the delayed response, but wanted to let you know that we truly appreciate your support and are grateful for the feedback. While it sounds like you did enjoy yourself, it seems that Timebomb was not the kind of experience you were expecting. Our other room experiences do involve being locked in a room with your party alone. We would be delighted to have you back to experience Chamber, Blacksite or Hangover. Additionally, we'll be sure to discuss all the things you've brought up with our team and look critically at our set up and room designs as we move forward. Thanks again, Escape the Place Team
Written July 25, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Peter C
Chandler, AZ38 contributions
Unusual puzzles, fun, not scary
Oct 2016
Our adventure began on a Saturday night in an office complex. There was only one other car in the parking lot so we weren't sure it was the right place. But Google said we were there so we went inside. The place is an office suite that several rooms with different themed puzzles. You solve each puzzle to reveal a key, progressing through the puzzles until you find the code that unlocks the door and let's you out of the room. Our adventure was a two room competition with 8 people from 17 to 52yrs, and everyone had fun. It is timed, so you cannot be there all day. This would be good for families as well as company team building activities.

Written October 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

PeggyMauro
Laguna Hills, CA1 contribution
Timebomb was Awesome!
Sep 2016 • Friends
We took our 30-something sons and their wives for a family activity to Escape the Place in Mission Viejo and had a blast! The "guide" was very accommodating and made a last-minute change for us, which we really appreciated. Would highly recommend the room Time Bomb, where you have one hour to save the world! Our kids are still talking about it!
Written September 20, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for letting us know how your escape went, Peggy, and we're happy to hear the whole family had a great time. It sounds like your attempt at Timebomb is something you won't soon forget and that's great to hear. Love to have you all back again for another fun experience. Best, Escape the Place Team
Written July 25, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cupcakesmmm
Lake Forest, CA13 contributions
So exciting! The suspense was awesome!
Jul 2016 • Family
We had so much fun in "The Chamber." Garrett was great! We finished with 15 minutes to spare. Would definitely do another room. Everyone must work as a team and everyone does bring different eyes to the game. Great for all ages.
Written July 30, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorry for the delay in responding, but it's awesome to hear you all enjoyed your time in The Chamber! You should be proud of your escape -- 15 minutes to spare is pretty impressive. Hope we'll have the chance to see you again soon! Best, Escape the Place Team
Written July 25, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kelly J
Mission Viejo, CA5 contributions
Unique, challenging and so fun!
Mar 2016 • Friends
We live local and had no idea that this place even existed. It is hard to find activities like this in the Mission Viejo area. We called on a whim and were so surprised when Escape the Place gave us a last minute booking and recommended The Chamber.

I had never done any escape rooms and did not know what to expect. The staff was super friendly and gave us a detailed, helpful briefing on our situation before entering the Chamber. Without giving away any details - the room was challenging and well-planned. Each clue lead to the next and varied in difficulty. There was something for everyone in our group and everyone could participate in some way.

I would highly recommend this as a fun activity for family, friends, and even corporate team-building activities. Such a fun way to spend an afternoon!
Written March 21, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks a bunch Kelly for your Awesome review! Glad you had great time and hope you come back to try one of our other offerings in the future!! All the best! JT
Written March 22, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing