We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoo de Santillana

Features Animals
Open Now: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Lots of animals but seemed a bit run down

There were plenty of animals to see but the facilities overall were a bit run down and in need of a... read more

Reviewed October 31, 2018
RichardC4954
via mobile
Great Zoo

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2018
PeteJ196
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 601 reviews
All photos (363)
All photos (363)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Jan 1, 2019
“Very sad, poor animals, are you going to do something about it?”
Oct 31, 2018
“Lots of animals but seemed a bit run down”
About
Santillana Zoo is a 42 year old zoo where you will enjoy more than 2000 animals from all over the planet in a surface bigger than 6 football fields... You will enjoy the magic of the Butterfy house and more than 40 European endangered species...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Avda. del Zoo, 2 | A 800m de la villa medieval de Santillana de Mar, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Website
+34 942 81 81 25
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
6
3
4
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
3
4
3
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Great selection of animals, but oh Gosh in which poor conditions they live :( zoo employees did not look happy either.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Marina K
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. It is always useful for us to learn.

Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

There were plenty of animals to see but the facilities overall were a bit run down and in need of a refresh. Paths were muddy and slippery and the cafe was closed. The areas for some of the animals were quite small (compared to Chester...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank RichardC4954
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Thank you Richard for your feedback because it is always useful for us having many different opinions. See you soon!

Reviewed October 14, 2018

Wish I hadnt gone. The animals clearly demonstrated institutionalised behaviour and their surroundings were uninspired. The terrain was hilly and the facilities non existant or poor.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank torquoise
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

I am sorry for your disappointment. Our Zoo has been here for the last 41 years and it is well respect by all the zoos all around Europe because of our successful way of breeding endangered species. Besides it is a private one with no...More

Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked after. Lots of food for animals and lots of staff maintaining and cleaning enclosures. Butterfly house is easily one of the best wildlife attractions I’ve been to! Friendly staff...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank PeteJ196
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Thank you very much Pete for your nice explanation about the staff and the enclosures of the zoo. When someone gives us such a great opinion is when our work makes sense. Thank you again and see you son!

Reviewed May 19, 2018

This is s horrible place. The large animals have insufficient space. The live on concrete with no greenery. They are either suffering from complete misery or must have been drugged. The smaller animals pace and space as there is no room to move further. Even...More

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Harrysmumanddad
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Sir: I am sorry to hear such a negative comments. We are member of EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria, https://www.eaza.net) and one of its objetives is ensuring that its member zoos and aquariums achieve and maintain the highest standards of care and...More

Reviewed September 8, 2017

Although we had read the reviews against my better judgement we visited this zoo. It was not quite as bad as I expected and not as bad as another zoo I visited in the north some years ago. However, I left feeling very sad rather...More

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank gone2asturias
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

I'm sorry you felt like that but if you have the opportunity, please come back whenever you can and I'll explain you many things that may change your opinion about us.

Reviewed September 1, 2017

My children and I used to volunteer here in the 80's. It was smaller then but is now well advertised.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank nmph2017
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and the mark you give us! See you soon

Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

The zoo does not have the concept of animal welfare, the orangutang cage has concrete floor and nails projecting, bear cage concrete floor, enclosures not big enough for the type of animal, social animals held alone. There is a stream with a concrete channel through...More

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank rdsp430
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

I'm sorry about such a bad opinion evethough I do respect it. Anyway, thank you for your comments

Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

We thought that it could have been a bit expensive at €20, but it's well worth it. A large area with an excellent variety of animals.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Dennis C
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and see you soon!

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

No words to describe this awful run down zoo .Animals in horrific conditions , small dirty enclosures hence very smelly !! Rabbits in wire bottomed cages no food, peeing etc onto the concrete floor underneath them what a stench ! No grass or runs for...More

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank DeborahG508
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

We are sorry you felt like that... Anyway, we appreciate your opinion, thank you and have a good day.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Los Hidalgos Apartments
95 reviews
.42 miles away
Casona Los Caballeros
164 reviews
.48 miles away
Hotel Salldemar
47 reviews
.49 miles away
Hotel Cuevas
148 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 54 nearby restaurants
Descanso Altamira
11 reviews
.57 miles away
El Bisonte Rojo
1,080 reviews
.45 miles away
Pizzeria Bitinia
720 reviews
.51 miles away
EL Pasaje de Los Nobles
1,370 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Escuela de Surf El Pico
21 reviews
.66 miles away
Plaza Mayor de Ramon y Pelayo
687 reviews
.68 miles away
Calle de Juan Infante
200 reviews
.64 miles away
Collegiate Church of Santillana del Mar
792 reviews
.80 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zoo de Santillana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines