We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
Phone Number: 27828382309
Website
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark...

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 229 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 183
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
World Class experience!

I went out with ASEC for a shark cage diving experience, one of my life bucket list items and WOW what an experience. Early departure from Simons Town harbour, we were met by very... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Rob E
,
Western Cape, South Africa

Similar Things to Do in Simon's Town

Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I went out with ASEC for a shark cage diving experience, one of my life bucket list items and WOW what an experience. Early departure from Simons Town harbour, we were met by very friendly crew that explained everything in detail to us. A nice 30 min sunrise trip out to seal island was enjoyed. Once we got there the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob E
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends and I had a terrible encounter with this company. Having booked the trip 3 days in advance I made a conscious effort to continuously 'check in' with the company and ensure that the booking was going ahead and morning had changed. On the morning of the dive, we took a taxi from camps bay to Simons town for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
AIRJAWS, Agent at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Your review is surprising and disheartening. You called us on the afternoon of Saturday (9th July) requesting a booking for Sunday or Monday but we were fully booked. Because you were leaving the country soon I helped you and your friends out by booking a trip for you with another company (not us) as a favor. Your booking... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although this trip requires an early start and a reasonable level of fitness and resistance to seasickness it is an experience of a lifetime. We were lucky to see many huge Great White Sharks on our trip with the very knowledgeable crew, and this was an experience I will treasure forever. Wrap up warm for the early morning start and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nijinsky53
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We here at ASEC are so happy that you had a good time with us and our wonderful great white sharks. More 

Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three years ago, I went out with ASEC several times over the course of a week. Well, I always wanted to do it again, and there was no question that I was going to book with ASEC again. I booked multiple trips over the course of a week. Lost two due to weather, but that still left me plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Rob will be so thrilled as he does his best to make sure all our guests...and photographers....have a great experience. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

By far the best diving experience in Cape Town! I was here in August 2015 and went with a different tour company since I booked it last minute. That company, along with almost every other company (if not all of them), have you hold your breath and yell at you to duck down when the sharks come up. This is... More 

Helpful?
Thank madin77
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An unbelievable trip! The Crew was knowledgeable, personable and did everything they could to attract sharks for us during our afternoon trip and were very successful! We had two sharks that came by our boat numerous times and got up close and personal. Our crew knew what to do as the other two boats out beside us did not have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CTL23
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We seen breaching Sharks eating seals all over the place. It was shark week live! Lol. Just incredible. The captain and crew were all knowledgeable. They help make it a scare free morning. Our whole family including my 11 year old went diving in the cage with the great whites. The star of the show were the flying great whites.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank grace j
Grafing, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a 5-day shark trip. The trips were well organised and I had much fun being on the boat with the ASEC crew. We spotted some sharks and saw a few cool predations. Thanks ASEC Team for the great time with you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilka S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had booked a shark dive with this company for 25 June. Prior to the trip, was contacted by them and informed that there was a temporary lack of shark sightings in their area, and was offered either a full refund or to be referred to another company operating out of gansbaai (2 hours drive out of cape town, different... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank betawesh
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely and positive review. Its really appreciated! More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this trip months in advance. Two days before our scheduled tour we were contacted about the lack of sharks in False Bay. We were offered a refund or going with another tour company out of Gansbaai. We opted for the Gansbaai and experienced over 10 sharks on our outing. Came a long way for this experience and thankfully this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rod G
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a good shark trip. Next time I hope you get to join us. More 

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Shark Eco-Charters and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from African Shark Eco-Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?