We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

African Shark Eco-Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
Phone Number: 27828382309
Website
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark...

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 239 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 190
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Shark spotting with a great crew

We went out on the boat today . We got out early to arrive as a shark had just breeches and caught a seal . The crew was completely engaged with the 12 customers on the boat... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
laj2e7
,
Orlando, Florida
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Simon's Town

Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went out on the boat today . We got out early to arrive as a shark had just breeches and caught a seal . The crew was completely engaged with the 12 customers on the boat . They thought of all the details including snacks , water , blankets , towels and knowledge . The captain runs a tight... More 

Helpful?
Thank laj2e7
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one unforgettable, intimate and exhilarating experience! I believe implicitly that anyone interested in the natural order of things should see the Great White Shark in the wild. It is the only way to truly appreciate the magnificence, raw power and grace of this rare and misunderstood shark. Just seeing one of these behemoths is a privilege and an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your in depth and comprehensive review. We really appreciate it and I am very sure it will be very helpful to many future guests wanting to join our trips. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I did the morning shark tour recently. I was collected from my hotel on time and driven into Simon's Town for the morning dive. We departed for seal island on time but with 16 people not the 12 max that is advertised. The vessel is old and has no luxuries whatsoever unless you include the toilet. When we arrived at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Forest G
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our boat is licensed for 12 guests. 12 is what we take, NOT 16. 16 INCLUDES THE CREW. You had 12 guests aboard your trip. The boat is EXACTLY THE SAME as all the other shark boats in False Bay. It is a working shark boat NOT A LUXURY Liner. As I said its the... More 

Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent "once-in a life-time" outing. The six of us booked this because 1). the company limited the number on the boat to no more than a dozen for increased "cage-time", 2). they have a scuba air line down into the cage so you don't have to keep surfacing for air and 3). it's only a 45 min drive from Cape... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael165
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of ASEC. So glad you had a "once in a life time" outing. Glad to help you tick off your bucket list. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a leisure diver, getting to see Great White is definitely on my to-see list! I'm glad we had chosen ASEC for our cage diving in Capetown! Engaging in such high risk activities, u will definitely require an operator who ensure safety comes first for their crew & passengers. Like many who had shared earlier, shark sighting are very luck... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phua L
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you had a great trip. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent two days with ASEC crew and I don't regret any minute of it. On the contrary- I regret that it was only two days. I will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank manson23
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you came out for more than one trip and we certainly look forward to having you join us again. More 

st julians
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good thing about ASEC is that it is in Simon's town which is a 45 minutes drive from Cape Town, most other companies are further out from town. The crew were fantastic took us right to the sharks and we were lucky enough to have 2 dives, they also provided light snacks and refreshments. It's awesome to see these great... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterBrincat
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a good trip and even managed 2 dives. Fabulous. More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've now done about 15 shark trips from Simon's Town over 3 trips to South Africa, most of those trips with ASEC. All of the companies there are good, but we prefer to use ASEC for some finer points of operations and pricing that I won't get into here. It's important to understand that it is not a zoo or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCad
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

We loved having you join us. Repeat guests are a very good indication of service levels and we appreciate your very thorough review. So glad you also got some great photographs. More 

Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went out with ASEC for a shark cage diving experience, one of my life bucket list items and WOW what an experience. Early departure from Simons Town harbour, we were met by very friendly crew that explained everything in detail to us. A nice 30 min sunrise trip out to seal island was enjoyed. Once we got there the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob E
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

We are so thrilled you had a great time with us here at ASEC, and had some good sharks and saw a great breach too. More 

Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I had a terrible encounter with this company. Having booked the trip 3 days in advance I made a conscious effort to continuously 'check in' with the company and ensure that the booking was going ahead and morning had changed. On the morning of the dive, we took a taxi from camps bay to Simons town for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
AIRJAWS, Agent at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Your review is surprising and disheartening. You called us on the afternoon of Saturday (9th July) requesting a booking for Sunday or Monday but we were fully booked. Because you were leaving the country soon I helped you and your friends out by booking a trip for you with another company (not us) as a favor. Your booking... More 

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Shark Eco-Charters and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from African Shark Eco-Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?