We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo River Outfitters

Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Buffalo River Outfitters
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
42
All photos (42)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“mile trip”(6 reviews)
“float trip”(7 reviews)
“man raft”(3 reviews)
About
We offer canoeing, kayaking, rafting, tubing, shuttle services and cabins rentals. We have a variety of float trips to offer whether you just want one day or multiple days. We take pride in being the best outfitter in the middle section of the...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
9664 N Highway 65, Saint Joe, AR 72675-1259
Website
+1 870-439-2244
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
44
9
2
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
44
9
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mile trip float trip man raft mile float rope swing tyler bend a lot of fun silver hill great outfitter bro canoe gilbert cabin equipment crew vehicle props
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018

After months of planning our trip to Mt. Judea, we quickly noticed all the outfitters were not in use. Unknown to us there had been very little rain that had all the river levels way down. We inquired in town and were told how bad...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jleaskey
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Location is actually in Gilbert. Due to rainy weather was unable to canoe the river. Cabin was spacious and the covered porch was a blessing. The beds need new mattresses to get the best night sleep. Since this was off season the store had very...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank BobG1935
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Staff friendly and knowledgeable at the BRO. Even the shuttle drivers were great. Store has cute shirts & many souvenirs. The river was low but we did the 5.8 mile trip from Tyler’s bend to Gilbert and it took almost 5 hours with a few...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Miranda E
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

I called Friday July 13 to ask about paddling between Mt Hersey and Baker Ford. I had checked multiple sites that said that water levels were low. The lady on th phone told me that, “ the water was low, and that we would drag...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Elizabeth C
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Husband and I floated this past weekend, probably my 15th time with BRO and husband's first experience on the Buffalo. Reservation and check-in went smoothly, guide and vehicle to put in point was nice, canoe and lifejackets etc. were quality. At the end of the...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lojomu
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Took my youth group on a float trip for our youth camp! The service was great and the employees were very helpful!!!Will use them again!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lew P
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

We started our cabin and float trip on a Monday, we checked in about 5:50 and they weren’t cranky at all. The river is down so we changed our raft to kayaks. I scheduled it back in February. I did have to pay a little...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Deborah B
Reviewed June 7, 2018

I ordered a canoe on the wrong day and was charged $25 to refund the rental because they were sold out on Saturday.More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Katie O
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hello Katie, We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. You are informed when making a reservation online about the cancellation policy. The cancellation policy actually made your reservation completely non-refundable as it was cancelled within 21 days of your arrival date. Due to...More

Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

We showed up on Memorial Day at 9 am with expectations of it being very busy and crowded. I have only floated the buffalo once a few years ago and was super excited to make another trip. Terms were slightly different this time bc I...More

Date of experience: May 2018
4  Thank Kristen R
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. You spoke to three different employees before your float, all of whom are quite articulate and have a history of explaining our services to customers effectively. The first employee you talked to attempted to explain to...More

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

Called so I could get advice as I have never been on this river before. First time for me on this river and my friend's first time kayaking ever. All the staff I spoke with were so nice and helpful. Garret took us down to...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Carolyn H
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Sunset Motel
4 reviews
6.94 miles away
Silver Run Cabins
47 reviews
11.71 miles away
Quality Inn
110 reviews
21.80 miles away
The Hub Motel
68 reviews
23.45 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Big Springs Trading Company
44 reviews
4.07 miles away
Daisy Queen Marshall
52 reviews
6.72 miles away
SkyLark Cafe
77 reviews
14.16 miles away
Blacksheep Joe's Smokehouse and Grill
69 reviews
18.24 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Gilbert General Store
24 reviews
2.28 miles away
Kenda Drive-In
26 reviews
6.19 miles away
Buffalo River Float Service
21 reviews
12.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lisa S
May 22, 2018|
Answer
Response from BenMilburn | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your question. Unfortunately, we do not have RV hookups here at our location. However, there are RV campgrounds very nearby. Thank you! Buffalo River Outfitters Staff
0
Votes
Melisha C
August 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DC1049 | Reviewed this property |
We paddle boarded on July 20, which is late in the float season; we found the river to be low in places but had a good trip. It was almost too low then and the river level has dropped since. There is a great website that has... More
1
Vote