We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo River Outfitters

9664 N Highway 65, Saint Joe, AR 72675-1259
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Credit card fees

I ordered a canoe on the wrong day and was charged $25 to refund the rental because they were sold... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Katie O
Horrible Service

We showed up on Memorial Day at 9 am with expectations of it being very busy and crowded. I have... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kristen R
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer canoeing, kayaking, rafting, tubing, shuttle services and cabins rentals. We have a variety of float trips to offer whether you just want one day or multiple days. We take pride in being the best outfitter in the middle section of the Buffalo National River.
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“mile trip” (5 reviews)
“float trip” (5 reviews)
“man raft” (3 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
9664 N Highway 65, Saint Joe, AR 72675-1259
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mile trip"
in 5 reviews
"float trip"
in 5 reviews
"man raft"
in 3 reviews
"porch swing"
in 2 reviews
"water level"
in 2 reviews
"tyler bend"
in 4 reviews
"silver hill"
in 2 reviews
"great outfitter"
in 2 reviews
"bro"
in 9 reviews
"canoe"
in 21 reviews
"gilbert"
in 6 reviews
"ford"
in 4 reviews
"equipment"
in 6 reviews
"cabin"
in 7 reviews
"crew"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"boats"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ordered a canoe on the wrong day and was charged $25 to refund the rental because they were sold out on Saturday.More

Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Katie, We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. You are informed when making a reservation online about the cancellation policy. The cancellation policy actually made your reservation completely non-refundable as it was cancelled within 21 days of your arrival date. Due to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We showed up on Memorial Day at 9 am with expectations of it being very busy and crowded. I have only floated the buffalo once a few years ago and was super excited to make another trip. Terms were slightly different this time bc I...More

2  Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. You spoke to three different employees before your float, all of whom are quite articulate and have a history of explaining our services to customers effectively. The first employee you talked to attempted to explain to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Called so I could get advice as I have never been on this river before. First time for me on this river and my friend's first time kayaking ever. All the staff I spoke with were so nice and helpful. Garret took us down to...More

Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

We rented an eight man raft there were six of us and it was perfect. Had plenty a room for our dry goods as well as cooling bags. Some of our crew just floating along the side of the raft at points in the river....More

Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review! Come back and see us sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Ok river rat friends- I want to give some mad props to Buffalo River Outfitters in Silver Hill. My cousin and I floated Hersey to Woolum on Friday. I went down to their store to fill out paperwork for a shuttle. It has been a...More

Thank BuffaloRiverRat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for this review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon! Buffalo River Outfitters Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I stayed in a Family Cabin and used the Buffalo River Outfitter's shuttle service during a recent paddle boarding trip down the Buffalo River. First - the Family Cabin: It was a comfortable place to stay and was very conveniently located to the area in...More

1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenMilburn, Owner at Buffalo River Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello DC, Thank you for your kind review of our business. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see y'all again soon! Buffalo River Outfitters Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Found out about this company from a local in Little Rock. Most of the kayak and canoe tours occur between 8 AM and noon so make sure you get there before then. I went on the 4 mile kayak tour and it was great. I...More

Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Started at Tyler Bend for a 3-5 hour canoeing trip down the Buffalo River. The water is clear and wonderfully cool. The scenery is amazing with rock cliffs and sandy beaches. The day was sunny so we stopped several times to enjoy a snack n...More

Thank aduplechain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

We did the Tyler Bend to Gilbert raft float. There were 4 adults plus our ice chest and the 8 man raft was definitely needed. If you are adults do not go below 6 man raft. Too small. It was a beautiful float! I do...More

Thank rebecca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Real friendly staff. Had a great float. Grandkids had a good time. Water wasn't to cold, it was just right for the hot day. There was several places for the kids to play in the water.

Thank bregitteg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Saint Joe Hotels
Sunset Motel
4 reviews
6.94 miles away
Silver Run Cabins
47 reviews
11.71 miles away
Seawright's Motel
1 review
22.96 miles away
The Hub Motel
68 reviews
23.45 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ferguson's Country Store and Restaurant
82 reviews
2.50 miles away
Big Springs Trading Company
43 reviews
4.07 miles away
Coursey's
65 reviews
2.38 miles away
Coursey's Smoked Meats
28 reviews
2.41 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gilbert General Store
24 reviews
2.28 miles away
Kenda Drive-In
25 reviews
6.19 miles away
Buffalo River Float Service
18 reviews
12.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lisa S
May 22, 2018|
Answer
Response from BenMilburn | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your question. Unfortunately, we do not have RV hookups here at our location. However, there are RV campgrounds very nearby. Thank you! Buffalo River Outfitters Staff
0
Votes
Melisha C
August 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from D C | Reviewed this property |
We paddle boarded on July 20, which is late in the float season; we found the river to be low in places but had a good trip. It was almost too low then and the river level has dropped since. There is a great website that has... More
1
Vote
;