We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swithens Farm

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Good climbing frame but....

Visited Friday 26/4/19 with 2 children 2 and 1. Cost £4 admission to the play barn only which was... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Keswick7b
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Excellent value, great experience.

I went with my husband, my toddler, and my dog. Really nice family atmosphere. Kind, thoughtful... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Cheryl A
,
York, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 313 reviews
All photos (157)
All photos (157)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
“bouncy castle”(32 reviews)
“soft play”(22 reviews)
About
Providing a great day out in Rothwell, Leeds, our farm has plenty to offer whatever your age. Stock up on local produce, such as fruit, vegetables and meat in our Farm Shop and take the kids for a stroll around the Open Farm where they can feed the...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Swithens Farm Swithens Lane, Rothwell, Leeds LS26 0BT, England
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
116
78
31
30
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
116
78
31
30
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bouncy castle feed the animals soft play zip wire outdoor play area climbing frame play barn sand pit guinea pigs little boy play equipment tractor ride bags of carrots petting goats cafe emus
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today for the first time only £4.00 to go round we loved the fact the kids can interact with the animals and feed them there are pigs and cows and lovely little lambs which we even got chance to bottle feed lots of...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank C4771QKheleng
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

How this farm is not shut down or how they managed to get it reopened again after they was shut down I will never no. One of the worse farms I have ever been to. On arriving I couldn’t believe how junky it looked while...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Mapple83
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Friday 26/4/19 with 2 children 2 and 1. Cost £4 admission to the play barn only which was fine. Perhaps we visited after a busy lunchtime but the tables in the playbarn were littered with food debris and plates. No clean tables at all....More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Keswick7b
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my husband, my toddler, and my dog. Really nice family atmosphere. Kind, thoughtful staff, and lots to do. A bit rough around the edges, for example, the parking area is a bit rugged, some of the play equipment is old, and some...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Cheryl A
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review. We will look into improving the access for wheelchairs. again thank you & we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Took the grandaughter who will be two in a few weeks, really good time fed the lambs and calfs, plenty for the kids to do with lots of toys and climbing frames, great value for money.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank JohnLisaMc
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for you're great review & we are so glad you have a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

The farm is in need of a lot of work. Staff told that on Saturday they had 3500 visitor paying for tickets. That £4 × 3500 that's £14000 wow so buy new toys. The play area has a broken kiddies ride , sand pit that...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank A3303XQpaulh
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your review. We will look into all your comments. Our fire review happen very frequently & we have always passed with flying colours.

Reviewed April 13, 2019

We went with our three year old (just) granddaughter and was disappointed that children over two are charged. Overall the experience was disappointing not that many animals, however the time of year enabled the little one to bottle feed the lambs. Most of the staff...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Andyrue
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your review. we will look into your comments.

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This is the first visit today for the Easter event and it was really great. Exceptional value for money, stalls outside, egg hunt for the kids with free chocolate. What more could the kids want. We made an Easter basket at the craft station too,...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Lisa S
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

This place is in serious need of refurbishment. Cafe is disgusting, absolutely filthy, no amount of cleaning would help. People were complaining about food (frozen Yorkshire puddings not cooked, yes they were definitely frozen as the waitress brought out the Aunt Bessie’s packaging to show...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Fern96157
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Hi and thank you for your review. the day of your visit we were unfortunately 4 staff down & so the cafe wasn't up to our usual standards. I can assure you this has now been remedied & we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Our...More

Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Ordered a Toastie & Jacket Potato 8 tables that ordered after us served before us - the reason why ? I wanted Chili with my jacket and that takes longer Funny how two of the other tables had jackets and chilliMore

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank F4595YVmiker
SwithensAngie, Owner at Swithens Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Hi and thank you for your review. Unfortunately we were 4 staff down at the weekend so service was a little slower that normal. I can assure you the issue has now been remedied & I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. We look...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Oulton Hall & Spa
3,052 reviews
.76 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
524 reviews
1.01 miles away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
94 reviews
1.15 miles away
Premier Inn Wakefield City North Hotel
347 reviews
3.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13 nearby restaurants
Wood Fire Dine
134 reviews
.69 miles away
Dill & Bay Restaurant
327 reviews
.61 miles away
Calverley Grill
177 reviews
.72 miles away
Oulton Hall Restaurant
118 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Spa at The Oulton Club
184 reviews
.76 miles away
Royds Hall Riding School
11 reviews
.81 miles away
The Unicorn Inn
23 reviews
.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LizzyTurner1994
August 1, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 6bestfriends | Reviewed this property |
PS - with all there is to see and do, you can easily spend the day there.
0
Votes
Littlelegs93
August 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from Rebecca B | Reviewed this property |
33 or 33A into Leeds and then the 444 out again. Fraid I don't know if the 444 is a First bus but if it is you can get a day rider for £4.20 which as the name suggests let's you have unlimited trips on First buses for the... More
1
Vote