Yoga Now Langkawi

Yoga Now Langkawi, Kampung Kedawang: Address, Phone Number, Yoga Now Langkawi Reviews: 5/5

Yoga Now Langkawi
5
Write a review
About
YOGA RETREATS - Start any time. All levels welcome - including complete beginners.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

5.0
110 reviews
Excellent
97
Very good
10
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Simone T
London, UK75 contributions
Apr 2013 • Friends
I treated myself to a 3 night 4 day yoga retreat - way more than I had spent on anything else in my time travelling around Asia but fully worth it. Meng and Marc were the perfect hosts and took care of us the whole time we were here. My friend got ill for a day and Meng went out her way to get her what she needed so she'd be fit and ready for yoga the next day.

The food they made for us - lunch and dinner, was incredible home cooked food with amazing attention to detail - even the bread was freshly home made. We were picked up from the hotel they arranged for us at 6.25am to go to the yoga studio and commenced the days meditation and yoga. There's a large break in the middle for lunch and a couple hours free time, before continuing with yoga in the afternoon.
They are great yoga teachers and though we found it difficult, we enjoyed it and they really motivate you to try your best.
We got a little yoga now bag and neti pot to take away with us, which was a lovely reminder of our time here.
I'm now obsessed with yoga and I think it's thanks to this retreat and a couple other yoga studios I've been to this year whilst travelling. If you can, I'd recommend you stay longer than 3 nights, 4 days as it's surprising how much can be achieved, especially with more time.

Though this retreat is expensive, especially for backpackers and I was backpacking when I decided to treat myself to this, I do think it's worth it and you see why it's expensive when you get there. The amount of time Meng and Marc spend with you doing the classes, cooking healthy fresh food for us and taking us out (to an amazing Indian restaurant by the way) means its not a budget retreat.

Thanks Meng and Marc. I hope to come back in the future.
Written January 1, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emily M
Bangkok, Thailand3 contributions
Oct 2013 • Solo
For my birthday this year I treated myself to a 4 day, 3 night Intensive Yoga Retreat with Yoga Now. It was one of the best presents I could have given myself. Marc and Meng are absolutely wonderful, welcoming hosts. They even got me a cake! The retreat was so refreshing and relaxing. I had never done a retreat before and hadn't practiced yoga in a while but during our sessions I felt completely comfortable trying new poses and both Marc and Meng were so helpful with their instruction. Overall I recommend Yoga Now to anyone for a truly wonderful experience.
Written October 31, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Viirnaa
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Dec 2013 • Solo
I've been wanting to do yoga retreat with Yoga Now Langkawi for long time since they have received such many of excellent review.

One day the opportunity come up to travel to Langkawi and I did 4 days yoga retreat, it was the most fulfilling experience, Meng and Marc are such a great host, not only I learned much about yoga in those 4 days, Meng also able to point out the step by step method on how to do advance yoga poses in detail.

If anybody want to learn about the real yoga either about the philosophy, the sutra or yoga asana, yoga now langkawi is the must place to visit. The food was great and the visit to many of Langkawi's waterfall was so refreshing within the tropical climate.

I will definitely do yoga retreat again with Meng and Marc whenever I step my foot in Langkawi.
Written January 19, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nel_Batt
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
Oct 2015 • Solo
I felt that the phrase, ‘I’m not a morning person, so don’t take it personally if I seem grumpy,’ was a somewhat ironic comment from somebody offering yoga and mediatation classes at 6.30am, and I feel that this utterance epitomises my very short experience at YogaNow, Langkawi.

I was, perhaps naively, surprised to learn that I was the only person participating in this retreat, which is apparently the case in 80% of holidays booked. Although this could have been a welcome surprise, no attempt to personalise the experience was made, and I instead felt that I was intruding in the couple’s home.

Marc and Meng Foong seemed to ‘take it in turns’ to occupy me, with one making noise running in and out of the kitchen during meditation, and then tag-teaming during dinner- both getting up numerous times within the meal and going in to separate rooms. I got the impression that they were very keen to drop me back at Senari Bay as soon as possible, and continue with their evening.

At no point was I asked about whether I had practised before/which type of yoga/what I was hoping to gain for the retreat etc, which would I would have expected. Furthermore, the induction process would have been fitting of a larger group, but felt unnecessarily detailed for one person. For instance, I was given strict guidelines on only using one glass throughout the week-long retreat to avoid excess washing-up, and was shown to a separate toilet in the garden. I was repeatedly instructed with pedantic requests concerning where to place my belongings, where to move them to, which doors to shut, where I could sit, where not to sit etc. which neither made me feel like a guest in their home, or somebody that had paid handsomely for a relaxing retreat.

This being said, the couple were very pleasant and were happy to refund half of the money I had paid prior to the class on the second day. I’m sure the retreat is ideal for some people, but was neither the relaxing celebration of yoga, or the personalised support in furthering practice that I felt it could have been.
Written October 17, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Frances A
Maryborough, Australia7 contributions
Apr 2015 • Solo
I don't know where to begin. Marc & Meng are welcoming, warm, fantastic yoga practitioners and teachers. The 4D/3N retreat was just fabulous!!
Everything about Yoga Now is balanced, calm, mindful. I loved it and can't wait to return.
Thank you both for such a wonderful experience.

PS - some of the best home cooked vegetarian meals you'll get anywhere.... Yum!!!
Written April 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gisela p
Nelson, New Zealand27 contributions
Jul 2014 • Solo
I loved my 4 day retreat with Yoga Now - my only regret is that I didn't stay longer. I was just getting into the rhythm of things when it all came to an end. Marc and Meng Foong offer a very special experience, combining the physical with the philosophical, the personal with the universal, the challenging with the relaxing. My favourite memory of Langkawi Island is lying in Shavasana feeling a gentle breeze flow through their wooden studio, hearing the birds and insects outside.
Written August 8, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Erica W
London, UK2 contributions
Sep 2013 • Solo
I recently completed an intensive 4 day yoga retreat at Yoga Now, Langkawi. I learnt a lot about myself and everything that was taught on the retreat. Marc and Meng Foong are lovely hosts with a wealth of knowledge about life, yoga and well being. They made sure I was comforatble and looked after on the retreat and really pushed me, which is what I needed. The surroundings, sounds and home cooked food was great. I stayed at Senari Bay Resort which was wonderful, relaxing, clean and just what I needed. I recommend this retreat!

September 2013
Written October 2, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

worldnomadSingapore
singapore1 contribution
Apr 2012 • Solo
I completed the 5day/4night intensive retreat with Yoga Now. According to their website, a minimum of 4hrs a day of yoga will be practiced. What I found, is regardless of which retreat you sign up for (relaxed or intensive) all groups end up lumped together.
So, even though I did not opt for a trip to the waterfalls in my package (because it is not listed in the outline under Intensive retreat), it became part of my itinerary when I arrived. We did not practice yoga at the falls either. The trip seemed to be more about wasting time instead of practicing yoga. After the waterfalls, we were taken to a pastry shop, which was nice, but seemed completely out of place since I was supposed to be on an intensive yoga retreat. The trip to the falls and pastry shop took all afternoon and there was no additional yoga practice this day. According to their website there should be 3 yoga classes a day on an intensive retreat (except for the first & last day).
I also noticed the actual yoga practice is cut short and more time is spent on meditation and relaxing in shavasana. The total amount of actual asana practice is closer to 3 hours per day. This is not exactly an intensive retreat.
According to their website, they also provided free transport to and from the airport and ferry terminals. They picked me up at the airport but did not want to bring me to the ferry terminal at the end of the retreat as they said it was too far. The taxi to the ferry took 20 minutes and the trip to the falls took 40 minutes.
Overall, the yoga asana practice was good (I learned some new poses and found some challenging), but the actual time duration does not match their outline on their website. A large chunk of time ends up being devoted to relaxation. For example, in a 2 hour yoga session, 40 minutes was devoted to relaxing in shavasana.
Unfortunately, I did not feel the retreat was worth the money, there is false advertising on their site, and it was average at best.
Written April 24, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on the yoga retreat you recently attended with us here in Langkawi. There is no false advertising on our website. In fact the longer retreat you requested isn’t listed on our website at all. You were given a printed outline of your retreat, which we spent the time to go through with you, before the retreat started. Neither then, nor at any other moment, did you raise any objections to the idea of a waterfall trip. On longer intensive retreats we almost always include an optional visit to the rainforest and a waterfall - the key word being ‘optional’. Based on your feedback we will now e-mail a full outline of specially requested longer retreats to all future inquiries. For the vast majority of our retreat participants the waterfall trip is one of the highlights of their retreat and gives our guests a chance to see more of this beautiful island than the inside of the yoga hall. There was never any question of practising yoga at the waterfall, however we did propose hiking deeper into the forest for meditation, an offer which you declined, hence the pastry shop visit. We do occasionally have participants who prefer to skip the waterfall trip and replace it with a yoga class. We are very open to this. For example, one of the other participants whose longer intensive retreat overlapped with yours expressed such a desire. We happily replaced the waterfall trip with an additional class. Had you expressed such a desire in person while you were in Langkawi with us, rather than after the fact here on Trip Advisor, we could easily have facilitated this. You seem to have forgotten the two and a half hour yoga and meditation class we did directly after the waterfall trip. You also seem to have forgotten that the next day you specifically asked to lie down and relax rather than continue practicing some of the more challenging inverted poses. When presented with the chance to learn some of the kriyas, which, as explained during your retreat, can be emotionally and psychologically challenging, you turned down the opportunity. Yoga practice requires self-discipline. While we are certainly not in the habit of forcing participants to do things they don’t want to, we do encourage people to participate fully. At the same time, we understand and accept that there are times when participants find certain elements of the intensive retreat to be, well – intense. You seem to be under the misconception that meditation and relaxation have no part in the yoga practice. Nothing is further from the truth. A two hour yoga class is not, and never should be, two hours of asanas (yoga poses) uniquely. We emphasise Savasana as it is one of the most important poses in yoga and though it might have seemed like 40 minutes it was closer to half that time in most of your classes. Meditation is a key element of the yoga practice. While we understand that it is a challenging practice it is also an important one. It is not an appropriate moment for exchanging gestures and facial expressions with the other retreat participants. Not only does this sort of behaviour lose sight of the goal of meditation, but it also distracts other retreat participants from their practice, regardless of how complicit they might be in such exchanges. Yes, we didn’t drop you at the ferry port and explained from the outset that due to ongoing retreats we would not have the time to do that. This didn’t seem to pose you any problem at the time. We will gladly refund your taxi fare if you wish. Thank you again for your feedback, and as mentioned above, we will make appropriate changes to our e-mails so that those on longer retreats understand more clearly that they have an option of a waterfall trip during their retreats. We wish you all the best in your yoga practice.
Written April 26, 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lollybelle85
London, UK48 contributions
Sep 2017 • Solo
I just loved my time at Yoga Now, and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anybody who is looking for a yoga retreat or class in Langkawi.

Marc and Meng really are amazing teachers, and I feel I took a lot away from my course.

I stayed at Yoga Now for 5 days, and everything was just ideal. The room were I stayed was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

I opted for the intense course as I do have a basic yoga practice and wanted to develop this further. I feel I did achieve this with Meng and Marc's help.

I loved the meditation time. Meditation is not something I have had much practice of, but Marc's guided meditations were just great.

Yoga Now is in a fabulous location, surrounded by nature. In my free time I loved taking a bicycle and cycling past the paddy fields and into the main town/beach area.

If you are thinking about a retreat or class in Langkawi then definitely go to Yoga Now.

Written October 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sofia P
2 contributions
Mar 2017 • Solo
I spent a week with Marc and Meng and this experience could be described with the word "life-changing". I feel like the journey is different for everyone, but to me personally this retreat changed my perception on so many things in me and in my life. I was able to reflect myself and my attachments in a new light and although opening up, truly seeing yourself and learning to love yourself harder is not the easiest task, I was in the right place at the right time. Absolutely, just book the retreat, go open-minded and be prepared to change. Namaste.
Written April 1, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 104
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yoga Now Langkawi


Restaurants near Yoga Now Langkawi: View all restaurants near Yoga Now Langkawi on Tripadvisor