We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bush Ways Safaris

Features Animals
Maun, Botswana
More
About Bush Ways Safaris
Bush Ways Safaris is a mobile safari operator born in 1996. Since its establishment, Bush Ways has been offering exceptional bush experiences and safari adventures with a difference. We take you on authentic safaris reminiscent of the traditional African expeditions of olden days. Experience the wild in its purest form. Immerse yourself in the most pristine surroundings. Get closer than ever to untouched nature. Discover those unique cultures for whom wilderness is home. Explore one of the last natural havens on our planet and observe its thriving wildlife.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
23Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simoinwonderland wrote a review Dec 2019
Melegnano, Italy159 contributions6 helpful votes
A unique and wonderful experience through Khwai, Moremi, Savute and Chobe area. 6 days of full serviced safari. My husband and me we were in honeymoon. We were lucky and had a group of 6, the group was amazing as well as out guide Joel and all the staff. It’s a camping site built in the middle of savana so for sure you have to be flexible and like adventures to like and appreciate this kind of experience but it really worth! During day-safari we met Lions, Leopard, Cheetah, Wild dogs and of course Elephants, Hyppo, Zebras and all the rest. Moreover we saw a lot of beautiful and colourful birds! Safari experience is not really relaxing but this trip was really amazing! I’ll suggest it to anybody that is interested in a real experience in the nature! The organization was perfect!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
PASCALE_CHRISTOPHE wrote a review Nov 2019
Cognac, France3 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and myself have just arrived from the Fish Eagle safari with Bush Ways (from 23/10 to 2/11/2019). We really spent a wonderful time, everything was well organized, the Bush Ways team amazing : our guide Mike made us dream and encounter a great number of wild animals (around 40 lions, 3 leopards, many many elephants, buffalos, antilopes, giraffes, "pyjama donkeys"...), and we could see some of them very close, but always respecting our security ; Obi, an incredible cook, preparing delicious dishes with few means ; Lorato, our nice translator ; all of them always available for us, and responding to our various requests. Thanks a lot to the three of them. Pascale & Christophe - Cognac - FRANCE
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Bush Ways Safaris
Responded Dec 13, 2019
Dear Pascale & Christophe, thank you so much for your nice words. We are super happy to hear that you had an amazing safari with Mike and our team. This is exactly what we want to offer to our guests and we hope that we maybe one day can welcome you back to this beautiful country and Bush Ways :) All the best from the entire Bush Ways team
Read more
sassytraveler1 wrote a review Sep 2019
Milwaukee, Wisconsin78 contributions52 helpful votes
I recently enjoyed a safari in Botswana through Bush Ways ('Northbound' listed on their website (bushways.com). While this was my first safari in Africa it was my third overall. I liked everything about this safari. The driver/guide was knowledgeable, fun, patient and respectful of the wildlife and the rules and regulations, which I greatly appreciated. The support staff did an amazing job with the mobile campsite including cooking fantastic meals. I can't tell you what a delight it was to get heated water in the morning to wash my face with (I traveled in the winter when the mornings were cool). I would absolutely choose them again for my safari needs as well as recommend them to anyone interested in mobile camps or the lodge options associated with them.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Bush Ways Safaris
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Dear sassytraveler1, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you very much for your great feedback. This is exactly what we want to create for our clients - wonderful memories! We hope you will come back Botswana one day. All the best, the entire Bush Ways Team
Read more
HilaryW79 wrote a review Sep 2019
Perth16 contributions5 helpful votes
In our 70s, we have just done a 6 night non-participatory mobile safari from Kasane to Maun. We are used to camping and also used to live in Zambia, so wanted to be nearer to the real Africa and travel a bit more remotely. Limited to 9 participants, this is also excellent for photographers as everyone gets an outside seat in the vehicle. As with all group tours, success is also partly dependent on the fellow travellers - ours were a great group and got on really well. All but one were late 50s or older, but still enjoying life to the full!!! The vehicles are very well thought-out. We travelled in one, towing a trailer with our luggage and supplies for morning coffee, lunch, or whatever. Our driver and guide, Tebo, was very skilled and also very knowledgeable. The other vehicle and trailer had our tents, supplies and chef and two assistants. On moving days we left them packing up camp and found them at our next camp finishing off the set-up. They call it non-participatory and if you want to do nothing at all, it would be, but everyone helps out when necessary, though hardly arduous - chopping salad at lunch maybe! Over 6 nights, 3 days are moving and 3 staying and exploring locally. You also get a sunset cruise at Chobe and a mokoro trip in Kwhai. The food was amazing, particularly considering everything was cooked over an open fire - including an anniversary cake for us - and there were plenty of fresh vegetables/salads. Our only real criticism was lack of lighting in the tent. They say bring head-lamps, which we hate so brought torches, and I assumed these were for around the camp, not the only light for the tent. At home we use a small, light-weight LCD tent light that hangs from above. I would have brought it if I had realised, it would have made so much difference! This is by no means “glamping”, but you do get to see things the fly-in/fly-out crowd don’t. It is great. Give it a go, and as long as you can say you are reasonably fit for your age, don’t worry - just enjoy!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Bush Ways Safaris
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Dear HilaryW79, thank you very much for your great feedback! :) We are super happy that you enjoyed your safari with us so much and that you are happy with your choice of safari style. You are definitely right with your statement that you see a lot of things on a mobile safari when you are moving from one camp to he other by car. And it seems you have been super lucky with your sightings and also you activities. So keep on travelling! All the best, the entire Bush Ways Team
Read more
Andychicagoan wrote a review Sep 2019
Spain122 contributions31 helpful votes
We spend 6 nights and 7 days from MAun to Kasane, sleeping in campsites in the NAtional PArks and Game Reserves (Moremi, Sabuti, Chobe). Outstanding organization, excellent team of people preparing your meals 8fresh bread every day!), tour tents. The guide, SOx, he does not work any more with Bush ways , but from time to time, he act as a guide for Bushways. Amazing guide. It is not possible to have somebody better.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from BushWaysBotswana, Public Relations Manager at Bush Ways Safaris
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Dear Andychicagoan, thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your safari to the fullest and that you had a great time with your team. All the best, the Bush Ways team
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Maun
from $705.39
More Info