We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uyuni Expeditions

Features Animals
Uyuni, Bolivia
More
About Uyuni Expeditions
Uyuni Expeditions by Creative Tours, is a local tour operator located in Uyuni with over 20 years of experience. It belongs to the company products and infrastructure of Creative Tours Bolivia, a pioneer tour company of innovative tours throughout Bolivia with deep focus on Bolivias tourism epicentre, which is Uyuni. Offering innovative and responsible tourism concepts and working in alliance with the Tayka hotels, Uyuni Expeditions by Creative Tours will provide you unique tours with the best service and quality in the region.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Uyuni Expeditions
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
132Reviews12Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 14
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michael Mx wrote a review Feb 2020
Munich, Germany38 contributions41 helpful votes
We took the 4D/3N tour starting and ending in San Pedro de Atacama. I try to be as transparent and objective as I can, therefore I split the rating into subcategories. I hope this helps especially people who do some research online before they come to Uyuni. 1. Altiplano & Uyuni experience: 5 stars To begin with the best: the experience of all the beautiful lagoons, the altiplano, the volcanos, the geysirs and finally the salt flat are just breathtaking. Those landscapes with all the colours, the flora and fauna burn into you mind forever. You have to definitely see those places and go for it (in case you are still hesitating). 2. Guide: 1 star Our Spanish-speaking guide was very friendly, told us some stories about the places we visited. From our perspective he could have been more interactive and explained more about Bolivia and the people. Especially as the Bolivians have a very strong relationship to mother earth ("Pachamama"). For the price we paid we expected a little bit more, but nothing to complain about. However, our guide overslept on the last morning and forgot to pick us up at the hotel to bring us with our lugagge to the bus stop as agreed the day before. Fortunately, we decided early enough to start walking to the bus stop and therefore still managed to catch the bus from Uyuni to San Pedro de Atacama leaving at 5:30 am (no private transfer - see more below). This was a non-acceptable for us and therefore a 1 star rating here. 3. Transfers San Pedro de Atacama (in/out): 1 star a) From San Pedro to the border: We were picked up at the hotel. In San Pedro they put us into a small bus with two other groups. This bus brought us to the border where we were then picked up by our driver/guide. b) From Uyuni to San Pedro: This was one of the worst bus rides ever and I have been to a lot of crazy bus rides across the globe. Even though you book a private tour with the respective price this company puts you in a normal bus for the transfer from Uyuni to San Pedro which takes 11 to 12 hours. If you have a semi-cama bus this can be a comfortable ride (we did the same from SPA to Salta). But the bus we had to take was a standard bus (no cama or semi-cama) where the bus driver allowed much more people to board than seats available. For half of the journey we had not only uncomfortable seats, but also always someone leaning against us (or at least me sitting in the aisle seat). I can handle such a situation if I decide to go low budget, but if I pay more than 800 USD per person for a private tour I expect much more value for money. 4. Hotels: 2 stars a) Tayka del Desierto (1. night): Basic hotel but more than we expected. On 4500 meters altitude you cannot expect a fancy hotel, but this one makes the best out of it. We felt very comfortable and the dinner was really, really good. This place we would definitely recommend to stay. b) Luna Salada (2nd night): This hotel would not have been part of our tour, but I asked the agency if a stay here is possible (costs for the upgrade is 130 USD for two persons). This is a great place to stay with a great view on the salt flats. The entire interior is made out of salt. The infrastructure (SPA, hotel bar, restaurant, rooms, etc.) is really great as well as the dinner and the breakfast. It was definitely one of the better hotels of our entire journey and a completely different experience. c) Tambo Aymara (3rd night): Cold, dark hotel with very old interior. We were supposed to stay here for two nights (luckily we booked the upgrade to the Luna Salada). This was also one of the moments when we asked ourself why this private tour is so expensive and then you end up in staying in such abandoned place where nobody ever books a night (we did some research and there are quite a lot nice places around Uyuni for reasonable prices so I don´t get why they put us in this one). In total we give just 2 stars because we consider that we would have had to stay two nights in this cold, dark place called Tambo Aymara. 5. Food: 3 stars a) Lunch (prepared by the driver): All in all the food was basic, but we liked it. It was a good mix of fresh food. Just a side remark: A few other groups stayed at the same lunch places and their lunch offers seemed a little bit more high level than ours. For us this was completely okay as we were completely happy with the food served. In case you are picky on that just ask your respective tour operator. b) Breakfast and Dinner (in the hotels): Tayka del Desierto offered really great dinner and basic breakfast. Luna Salada both were really great. In Tambo Aymara no dinner was served (I think as we got some cheese and olives during the sunset in the salt flats - again a "for what do I pay the premium price moment"), but they offered some very basic early breakfast the next day. 6. General recommendations: - The situation with all the tours and tour operators (e.g. we booked with "uyuni expeditions", but the tour operator is called "creative tours") is not really transparent and even with some research it is difficult to find out which tour operator fits best to your expectations - If you really want to book it online then either rely on some recommendations of friends or get in contact with some people who did those tours already. You can also contact the local hotel in San Pedro for example and ask them if they have some preferred operator. - In San Pedro de Atacama there are a lot of operators with offices near the main square. So if you are not tight on time I would rather go there, speak to some agencies and book directly with them. - From my perspective the tour is ideally integrated in a journey from north to south or the other way round, because you can combine travelling distance with a great tour. With my little research I did not find a convincing round trip offer (but maybe the operators in San Pedro do have some cool offers which I did not see/find)
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriela A, Sales & Marketing at Uyuni Expeditions
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Hola Michael, I'm sorry your expectations weren't fullfilled during your visit in Uyuni. But you have a very good point, next time you should follow your own advice and at least read the details of your purchase, if you had done so you would knew that: a) You bought a semi-private tour not private. Which departs minimum with 2 and maximum 4 passengers per car. You had luck and the tour departed only with both of you. b) During rainy season, the north shore of the salt flats is unaccessible, so most of the salt hotels on our route are not reachable, this is why the accommodation near the salt flats is in Uyuni. Of course, you can change to the hotel of your preference paying an additional price. c) Also during rainy season, we only have the roundtrip option with return by bus due to the restrictions, I think this is very clear on the description of the program, but maybe is not that clear for some travelers... I will make sure to highlight it for the future. d) Uyuni Expeditions is the Uyuni tour operator of Creative Tours (the main brand that has specific tour operators for each region in Bolivia). We're the same company and you can read about it on our website. All in all, I'm kind of confused by your review, because you wrote me via Whatsapp that you had a "phenomenal time" during the tour. I just wonder why you didn't reached me when the driver didn't arrive to your hotel on time for the transfer to the bus station? You say he overslept, but the hotel says that you decided to leave earlier and not wait the driver because you didn't like the accommodation. Honestly, I can't take any side because I wasn't there, but I can tell you that if the driver did overslept, he had the responsability to take you to your destination on time, this means he would have done a private transfer to catch the bus or even to reach the border, at no extra cost to you. Also, if you would have reached me or the operative office in Uyuni we could have sent another car to replace your driver. But the moment you decided to leave the hotel on the early morning and walk to the bus station without letting us know, we are not responsible for you. If you wanted a private tour, you just had to ask me, I would have been very happy to offer you one. Though maybe you would have complained that it was too expensive. Anyway, apologies for the bad time. We'll keep in mind your review for future trips. Best,
Read more
NeelaNZ wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand34 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
My son who had researched our trip to Bolivia was extremely keen to visit Eduardo Avaroa National Park. It seemed difficult to get to until I discovered Uyuni Expeditions. Gabriela from UE was fantastic. After I explained what we wanted to visit, she put together the perfect itinerary for us. She very patiently answered all my many emails, the result of which was an experience we will never forget. Every detail was perfect - our driver Silvio was great, the vehicle was very comfortable, the amazing picnic lunches by the lagunas and the incredible landscapes in the National Park. I can without a doubt, recommend Uyuni expeditions if you want a comfortable, problem free and memorable experience in one of the more remote and spectacular areas of the world. We have so many wonderful memories of this beautiful place!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriela A, Sales & Marketing at Uyuni Expeditions
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Neela, Thank you so much for your kind review !! I'm so happy to read you had an unforgettable time at the deserts and lagoons !! Your words will certainly inspire more travelers to visit Bolivia and its beatiful sceneries !! Thanks you so much !! Happy travels !!
Read more
Gustavo M wrote a review Jan 2020
8 contributions2 helpful votes
The overall experience with Uyuni Expeditions was amazing. Gabriela was always helpful in attending all of our queries. They provide everything you need to enjoy the trip as much as possible. Juan, our guide, was experienced and a lovely person. He knew his way around the places we went and was able to provide valuable information about the country. I can certainly recommend them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriela A, Sales & Marketing at Uyuni Expeditions
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Gustavo, Thanks so much for your kind review, I'm very happy to know you had an unforgetable trip to Bolivia !! Happy travels !!
Read more
becky s wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Amazing experience, our guide Inti was super friendly and went beyond expectations. Very knowledgeable, full of energy, flexible programme, he thought of everything! We loved Bolivia, it was a once in a lifetime experience on the salt flats - with the rain and the mirror effect, we even helped the locals take out the llamas to the fields (very special). Inti went the extra mile to make it extra special even putting on an impromptu picnic on the salt flat!! We stayed in an amazing salt hotel which part of a community programme, making it sustainable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriela A, sales & marketing at Uyuni Expeditions
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear Becky, I'm so happy to read you had a wonderful time during the tour !! Andean Reflections is a new route, so we're very happy you choose it and enjoyed it !! Will send Inti your message, he has a lot of passion for this program !! Happy travels !!
Read more
MarS wrote a review Dec 2019
3 contributions
The tour UYUNI-UYUNI 3D was, without any doubt, one of the highlights of our trip in Bolivia. We had the first contact with Gabriela, she was very attentive during the reservation process and her local assistance was outstanding. Juan, our guide & driver provided an excellent service during the tour. The itinerary was perfectly designed. All the meals included a great variety of food. This company is the perfect choice for anyone looking for a tour including luxury services paying an affordable price.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Gabriela A, Marketing y Ventas at Uyuni Expeditions
Responded Dec 12, 2019
Thanks so much for your kind review Marcello !! I really enjoyed worknig on the organization of your trip, I'm happy to know you had an unforgetable time in Bolivia !! Happy travels !!
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Uyuni
from $294.24
More Info
from $670.00
More Info
from $225.65
More Info
from $199.75
More Info