We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden House

Closed Now: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Mothers day

When for mothers day Loved the gardens Children love finding the animals Had an meal and the staff... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carol V
via mobile
Fresh food, well presented in lovely clean surroundings.

Beautiful food, the crab sandwich was fresh and well presented. Excellent value for money, along... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ChristineE1290
Read all 276 reviews
All photos (168)
All photos (168)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“tea room”(25 reviews)
“cakes”(17 reviews)
“cream tea”(14 reviews)
About
The Garden House is a 10 acre series of garden rooms, each planted differently, for seasonal interest. Visitors love the planting styles, 16th century ruins, bright colours and far reaching views over wild flower meadows. Children can roam free and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Buckland Monachorum, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7LQ, England
Website
+44 1822 854769
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
204
44
10
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
204
44
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room cakes cream tea little gem interesting plants different levels salad autumn colours great variety lovely tranquil few weeks every turn flowering shrubs delicious lunch plenty of seats different times of the year plant sales
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When for mothers day Loved the gardens Children love finding the animals Had an meal and the staff where amazing Never had staff helped us so much I cant thank them enough for helping us with all are needed.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Carol V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful food, the crab sandwich was fresh and well presented. Excellent value for money, along with very helpful staff, made for a lovely afternoon out.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ChristineE1290
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well maintained paths. Beautiful valley garden. Should be stunning in a few weeks. Blossom coming out along with many bulbs. Lovely cafe. Staff exceptional.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank GrahamJoy
kwillco, Manager at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow thank you! We have such a wonderful team, all really passionate about The Garden House so I know how thrilled they’ll be with your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit, the blossom is wonderful; just a hint of what is coming 🙂

Reviewed February 17, 2019

Wonderful garden for people who love plants to visit. A garden for all seasons, planted up with many rare, and not so rare, trees, shrubs and seasonal plants. Currently there are swathes of snowdrops and crocus as well as winter flowering shrubs eg: Daphne and...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mjatsts
kwillco, Head of Visitor Services at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

It’s a real treat isn’t it! I’m still discovering new plants and asking the gardeners for planting advice 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit. This gorgeous weather has has enticed the magnolias to spring into colour, alongside many different varieties of camellia. Hope...More

Reviewed February 15, 2019

Beautiful garden but didn't have time to walk around garden as we were waiting over an hour for our food in the tea rooms. Eventually we gave up after 3 reminders to staff so we cannot comment on food and went home Oh dearMore

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank poppya48
kwillco, Head of Visitor Services at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

I’m so sorry your first visit to us didn’t go well; the unexpected gorgeous weather brought lots of people so all our staff were helping the catering team as much as possible. If you could contact me at office@thegardenhouse.org.uk I would like to send you...More

Reviewed February 13, 2019

Lovely garden. Snowdrops a speciality at this time of year. Phoned to book a group visit and we had a tour with a snowdrop expert at no extra cost. Fascinating and highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pamelak228
kwillco, Head of Visitor Services at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit to our garden and snowdrop tour. Pat is our fantastic snowdrop advisor, her enthusiasm for snowdrops is contagious!

Reviewed February 12, 2019

Went to see snowdrops and weren't disappointed. But this lovely laid out garden has much more to offer. Makes the most of a relatively small area.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank chs588
kwillco, Head of Visitor Services at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

It’s stunning isn’t it! With 87 varieties of snowdrops and a glorious bulb meadow in full bloom, it’s a wonderful place to welcome spring.

Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

So disappointed , just travelled for an hour and it's closed. We checked the website before setting off and it said it was open today! I would ring to check in future as I the website isn't up to date.More

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank blinkinflip
kwillco, Head of visitor services at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

I’m so sorry you weren’t able to come into the gardens; winter weather can be unpredictable so we very occasionally have to close at short notice but we do update our website and social media as quickly as possible. Sadly I think your visit happened...More

Reviewed November 7, 2018

The garden is closed except I think the plant sales may still be open We live locally and often go to this delightful garden. So full of flowers and flowering shrubs and so much to see at every time of the year.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank N6041QHdavids
kwillco, Manager at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi So glad you enjoyed your visit, even in winter there is still so much colour and things to see. Throughout November and December we are open on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays 11am to 3pm

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

If you are in this part of Cornwall/Devon, then you must visit.. Incredible Garden spread over ten acres all themed differently, so worth a visit anytime of year. The way the Garden is constructed with viewing points built in everywhere so that you can fully...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank shepski_11
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Moorland Garden Hotel
742 reviews
1.83 miles away
Tavistock House Hotel
472 reviews
3.83 miles away
The Duke of Tavistock
303 reviews
3.84 miles away
The Bedford Hotel
614 reviews
3.91 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Drake Manor Inn
234 reviews
.40 miles away
The Who'd Have Thought It Inn
175 reviews
1.37 miles away
The London Inn
154 reviews
1.45 miles away
Skylark Inn
525 reviews
2.28 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 11 nearby attractions
Wildside
7 reviews
.99 miles away
Wildwood Arts Dartmoor
7 reviews
1.46 miles away
The Royal Oak Inn
59 reviews
2.84 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeff F
May 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from shelster2016 | Reviewed this property |
I had a cream tea today with 2 others and not badly priced either
1
Vote
Jeff F
May 14, 2017|
Answer
Response from Sophie P | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they have a cafe which serves breakfasts as well as hot and cold lunches and cream teas
2
Votes
Rica786
September 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from VJ_Spencer | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but not pricey. If you are a rhs member it's free entry on a Friday
0
Votes