We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Railway Touring Company

Closed Now: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

The Railway Touring Company
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (227)
All photos (227)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
About
The Railway Touring Company has a long established reputation for providing an interesting variety of UK day trips by steam train and tours in the UK, Europe and Worldwide.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
14A Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JN, England
Website
+44 1553 661500
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
268
88
26
46
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
268
88
26
46
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cumbrian mountain express premier class return journey first class premier dining network rail flying scotsman steam loco silver service main line course dinner full english breakfast day trip dorset coast rolling stock royal duchy union of south africa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Absolutely brilliant,what a wonderful day, As a surprise gift for my wife’s birthday,something different...! It was....great views ,good food and friendly,superb staff. Well done ‘the railway touring company ‘ for an experience never to be forgotten.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Logosgil
RTCUK1, General Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful day and gave yourself and wife a superb experience for a special occassion. We hope to welcome you on board in the future.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Have just returned from the most amazing day out on the union of South Africa .thouroughly enjoyed the whole experience.the train was spotless and very lovely ,we were looked after so well by all the staff who were brilliant ,they made the day even more...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 19carol60
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience on our trip The Edinburgh Flyer. We look forward to welcoming you on board again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I grew up with smoky noisy steam engines, and was a train spotter until diesels took over the tracks. This day out was a blast from the past - not that I ever had a four course dinner in a Pullman carriage when I was...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank DaveMaxx
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you your feedback following your recent day trip with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your day. We hope to welcome you on board more tours in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very lucky last weekend to see the famous flying Scotsman and what an amazing experience. Book your tickets in advance to avoid disappointment as was very busy as one can imagine. Great afternoon of fun.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Passp0rtAlwaysReady
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comment. The Flying Scotsman is a very popular loco and all trips are sold out extremely quick. Maybe see you on board in the future

Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

What a fabulous day out. From start to finish it was perfect. The carriages were beautifully restored, the food was excellent and the service superb. The waiting staff were so professional, delivering a polished service that made waiting an art form! I can't recommend this...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 713mandyh
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your day with us. We look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon.

Reviewed March 4, 2019

A 11 day holiday with plenty of narrow gauge steam - 2 days on the 'never fails to disappoint Harz Mountain network', Rugen Island and the famous street running on the 'Molli'. The Harz was covered in a fresh snow and the descent up Brocken...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 5kas
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us on our German tour. We will pass your feedback on to our tour managers.

Reviewed February 28, 2019

Lovely long day spent traveling to Carlisle, down to Settle then home via Preston. Steam Loco failed just before due to be attached so unable to be steam hauled. Replacement Heritage Diesel that IMO did not distract from the journey. Wonderful remote scenery on route....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Steve C
RTCUK1, General Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your day with us despite unfortunately and unexpectedly unable to travel steam hauled on this day., thank you for your understanding on this situation. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Went on the WCME on 2nd Feb, firstly please sort out the rolling stock, in our carriage at our end the electric heating wasn’t working although was working at the other end so rather annoying and to be honest was really cold on a winters...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank DGG1988
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were cold in your carriage. We have spoken with our operator and this has been looked into and resolved now. We do have a trip to Edinburgh running on 20th April, our Edinburgh Flyer trip....More

Reviewed February 3, 2019

A perfect day out in sunshine with perfect time-keeping. The immaculate just restored Mayflower 61306 and Merchant Navy British India line 35018 double headed over Shap and the Settle and Carlisle line. Les Ross’s 86259 provided spirited running on the main West Coast line. These...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank David P
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your day with us. We hope you will travel with us again in the future.

Reviewed January 30, 2019

I booked a trip on the Cumbrian Mountain Express, last year and was so excited for January to come around. When the day arrived i could not wait to get there. First off the train came down the track and looked fantastic, the staff on...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Michelle C
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were not happy with your experience on board. We would always recommend speaking to our staff on the day as they are very good and if you are unhappy they can resolve any issues you...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
The Dukes Head Hotel
1,305 reviews
.06 miles away
Globe Hotel
853 reviews
.08 miles away
Tudor Rose
63 reviews
.09 miles away
Bank House Hotel
254 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 219 nearby restaurants
Crown and Mitre
394 reviews
.11 miles away
Riverside Restaurant
262 reviews
.14 miles away
Prezzo - Kings Lynn
618 reviews
.06 miles away
Nando's
206 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 81 nearby attractions
Kings Lynn Minster
163 reviews
.36 miles away
True's Yard Fisherfolk Museum
120 reviews
.14 miles away
Lynn Museum
149 reviews
.27 miles away
St Nicholas' Chapel
68 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ussh2
February 21, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RTCUK1 | Property representative |
Hi, Please telephone us at the office and provide us with your email address and we can send you some photographs of the carriage interiors. 01553 661500
0
Votes
Coftonowl
July 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from W1462TFandyr | Reviewed this property |
I think that you can but woukd expect a corkage charge. The on board drinks are normally reasonably priced from my experience
0
Votes
Patricia P
June 20, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ShirleyE14 | Reviewed this property |
The person who has answered the question below is quite right. The standard class is just tables in the middle of 4 bench type seats. You can buy bacon rolls and tea or coffee or even take your own food a board. There is no... More
2
Votes