Tarifa Air Force
Tarifa Air Force
5
Sports Camps & ClinicsWater SportsKayaking & Canoeing
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM, 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
About
TAF is a close-knit company founded in Tarifa in 2005 by a bunch of dreamers passionate about the sea. Friendship, reverence for nature and a romantic quest for a sport-centric lifestyle have always been our engine. At the beginning, creating our own path meant sailing against the wind. TAF is the result of a firm will to overcome difficulties, a combination of ideas, shared efforts, patience and lots of enjoyment over the years. Our purpose is creating and sharing with you unforgettable experiences while also developing the local economy and preserving the environment of Tarifa, the place we call home. Our lifestyle is a message we hope will inspire all of those who seek their own-inspired path for the sake of developing their full potential within the magical realms of fun and happiness. This place is yours. Feel at home and join the fun TAF Team!
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz, Spain

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(20 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles236 reviews
Excellent
229
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Anna S
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
I have tried out 2 schools for kiting before and finally found the best - Tarifa AirForce. Besides the expertise of +12 years with teaching kite surf, Jordi (the owner) and his team are very flexible (language-wise and timing), empathic and always fun to be around. If you want to learn kiting in a short amount of time, you have here the right value for your money. Always recommendable! Thanks Jordi & team!
Written July 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ruben B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Solo
After 15 years inactive I decided to give kiting an other try, but not without a refresh course. Very happy with choosing Tarifa Airforce. Due to Jordi’s (the owner) enthusiasm and teaching skills, I was able to navigate back and forth within 3 hours. Would recommend to everyone, no matter what level.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Carmen P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
I went surfing with Tarifa Air Force when there was not enough wind for a kite session. Despite requesting this last minute, Jordi (the owner) was really accommodating and made a slot available for the next day. The class was great fun and I really felt like I progressed (I'm a beginner). Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to go surfing in Tarifa!
Written October 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Chris B
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
Wonderful kite experience with TarifaAirforce! Great things with Jordi and his team are they go beyond teaching you kitesurf, the team helped and supported with other questions/ activities as well. Comparing the attitude of other kite schools/ instructors in Tarifa Lances Jordi and his team are always positive and not arrogant at all - great people to spend your vacation with. Finally always recommendable due to the perfect cost/performance ratio!
Written July 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Anna
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Friends
We booked the day before the first lesson, fortunately the wind was on our side. They came and took us from near the hotel to the best beach to practice, the lesson was amazing and lasted a bit longer than planned, which is a great thing because the goal is to learn well! Both instructor ans organizer amazingly friendly, a combination of laughter, adrenaline and kite experience over the years. Equipment provided was good, constant support before and after the lesson in case you wish to take another one, what is there more to say... nos gustò muchissimo! Looking forward to come back soon :)
Written August 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

acnghm
14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019
I visited Tarifa for a few days with my girlfriend in September 2019. We both had a few days previous beginner kitesurfing experience. We decided to go with TAF after reading the many positive reviews, free transport to the beach and competitive prices (as shown on their website).

Things got off to a bad start on the first day when we were allocated Javier as our instructor. He was rude, abrupt and incredibly derisory about our ability (we’d already made it clear we considered ourselves beginners). However, Jordi (the owner) was very good and said we could have a different instructor for our remaining lessons.

We had Titi for our second day who we liked. However on the 3rd day, unbeknownst to us, we were allocated yet another instructor for the final lessons. We found this disruptive as we had to yet again explain our level and what we had done before.

Other issues:

* Despite what it says on the website, you do not necessarily get a kite each when on a semi-private lesson. Excuses included bringing the wrong sized kite for the conditions and one of the kites being ripped from a previous lesson.

* Spending 20 minutes untangling lines (from previous usage) which, when we questioned this, were told it’s “good practice”.

* A significant chunk of the lesson is spent waiting on the beach for the instructor to return from wherever the other student got to.

* The website clearly states you get a 10% discount when booking with a friend. They know nothing about this and we had to argue this point. They even admitted to not knowing what is on their website! (forget about the “kite surfing manual” as that doesn’t exist either).

In general it was a rather disappointing experience. At no point did I really feel the level of instruction was anything more than adequate (we’ve had very good tuition in the past at a different school). That’s not to say I didn’t learn anything, but if we returned to Tarifa we would look elsewhere for lessons.
Written November 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

solobackpacker
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019 • Solo
Do not use this kite school unless you’re happy to be overcharged.... they charged me an hour more than what I did and when I tried to refute it they said “there’s lots of back ground work and sometimes we charge 3 hours for lesson that only went for 1.5 hours”. Ended up paying it but felt totally scammed. Didn’t even feel like it was of quality either.
Written September 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, from TAF, we are very sorry to know that this is your feeling regarding how we have treated you. We have always treated you very well, you told us that you had a level to rent material and we trust you, we picked you up from your hostel and we took you in our car to the beach (which is not inclined in a rental) we help you with the supervision of your equipment on the beach (which is not included in a rental) but once you went to the water, the reality was that you had no level to rent. We were with you comforting you when you started crying because you were not able to navigate and got frustrated out of the water ... We took you back to your accommodation (again a service that we did for empathy with you and that is not included in the rental price of material) Our rates are published in our brochure, website etc. You were charged a rent, we are not to blame for your session not being as you expected. We feel that you do not agree with us but I think we treat you very well and that we do not deserve this comment. I hope in the future you invest in more Kitesurfing classes since water safety goes before money. Regards.
Written October 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stan
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Solo
I don’t usually take the time to write reviews but these guys really deserve one. If only everyone was like Jordi, the world would be a better place! I stayed in Tarifa for a while training and studying and decided to learn to kite in my scarse free time.

These guys are just always happy and friendly, enjoying life. They have years of experience and never push anyone. They always exactly know what you are doing wrong and they are just great instructors.

You just feel how relaxed they are and you internalize their positivism while kiting, a big difference from the shouting and semi angry instructors you sometimes see on the beach. Jordi and Ricardo do everything with a smile and that’s how it should be. Kiting is not easy at first, but you are there to have a good time not a stressy time, right?

Don’t be mistaken, Jordi is a super professional, he lives for his school, and is constantly trying to do good for everybody, taking care of the gear, scheduling lessons, making sure everyone has exactly what they need. jordi and Ricardo both have years and years of experience with kiting and teaching and they know what they are doing.

Jordi was extremely fair and transparent regarding our lessons and prices, sending me an overview whenever I asked. Jordi and Ricardo don’t look at the clock, often my lessons would take a lot longer than I officially paid for. He’ll always try to find and give you the best rate. He’ll never push you to go kiting if the wind isn’t any good or even if it is to strong for your level. It happened a couple of times that he called me to say that maybe this wasn’t the best wind for my development, hurting his own wallet... This is the kind of honesty you are looking for... .

To conclude, if you are looking to have a good time and fun while learning to kite from great, patient and relaxed instructors that really know what they are doing, want great gear and a professional way of business concerning appointments and rates, you can’t be better off anywhere in Tarifa. I am returning...
Written June 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim van Gilst
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Solo
I had an amazing time learning to kitesurf with Riccardo. Riccardo is great fun and a good teacher. I was able to stand up after three lessons (!!!) and the wind & kiting in Tarifa was awesome. Tip: if there is wind, go kiting!
Written June 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jonathan Soom
Winterthur, Switzerland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Friends
On recommendation I sent my friend to this school and was able to see his progress live (I could already kitesurf myself). I think the lessons were done with a lot of patience and good tips. The material was also in good condition. The atmosphere was always great. I myself was able to benefit from the knowledge of the right spot and wind and the recommended kite size by the kite school teachers. Many thanks Jordi for the great time with you guys at the beach!
Written June 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 107

Tarifa Air Force - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Tarifa HotelsTarifa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tarifa
All things to do in Tarifa
Day Trips in Tarifa
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars