Carlingford Adventure Centre

Carlingford Adventure Centre

Carlingford Adventure Centre
4.5
About
Carlingford Adventure is the no.1 activity centre in Ireland & we offer a fun and safe way to try exciting outdoor adventures. We welcome families, groups & individuals. There are full day and half day options available throughout the year and kids camps during Easter/Summer/Halloween. ACCOMMODATION & ACTIVITY PACKAGES: The centre is located in the middle of Carlingford and offers great deals on accommodation and activity packages in private hostel dorms or holiday homes. Check out our website for special offers. We have over 30 activities on our 3 adventure sites Land, Sea & Sky. WOODLAND includes rock climbing & abseiling, laser combat, hill walking / Gaisce. SEASPORTS has kayaking, canoeing, stand up paddleboarding, raft building, canoe rafting and water pontoons / water trampolines. SKYPARK has an aerial adventure course, Sky Junior, Maze, team development high ropes, crystal maze challenge course, footgolf, aeroball, archery, climbing wall, ziplines, base jump & quazer
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Hayv7
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great place, lovely staff
    We did the crystal maze as part of a friends hen do. It was a brilliant, team building activity. We did loads of challenges and had such a laugh. Ellie was our team leader and she was amazing, really friendly and made sure we all had fun and got involved.
    We couldn't be more thrilled that you had a 5-star experience with us! We hope it was only the first of many visits and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
    Written May 15, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 6, 2023
  • Infoulein
    Düsseldorf, Germany1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Best Class Trip Ever
    I went here with my school and it was amazing! Eoghan, our group guide, did a great job at guiding and entertaining us. The food and hospitalities where amazimg and comfortable! Activties where varied and fun, I realy enjoyed the lazer tag as well as ziplining park. I would strongly recomend taking your class here or if you are a fellow student recomending it to your teachers.
    We really appreciate your 5-star review and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back soon.
    Written May 15, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 11, 2023
  • bepis t
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Carlingford adventure centre is really good
    it's a very good adventure centre. Eoghan was a really good guide I hope he gets paid more money. I really like the Quasar, kayaking and circus tricks. the sky park was also brilliant the axe throwing and bow and arrow was really good. I went there with my class and it was a wonderful time
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written May 16, 2023
  • Denys B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Denys Greenhills College
    First of all - it was the best trip of my life. Eoghan you know my attitude towards you, thank you for the opportunity to enjoy this trip. Everything was on the highest level, I will keep this place in my mind, so maybe in the future I can go one more time.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 16, 2023
  • Áine H
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Brilliant day out for TY students!
    Our TY students had a brilliant day out raft building and pier jumping. The staff were all amazing, especially Tamzin and Paola! Leigh, Jim and Ian, thanks for a great day out, we all really enjoyed it. Luttrellstown CC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written May 23, 2023
  • Sinead
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    All smiles after 3 days at Carlingford Adventure Centre.
    Just back from a fantastic, well run, 3 day, 2 night stay at Carlingford Adventure centre with 25,12 year olds. Our instructor Daniel was brilliant about bringing out the best in the competitive and reluctant alike and was so clued in to any additional needs in group. The centre were really supportive of any adaptations needed to support additional needs also and the adults and children alike will feel the benefit of such a great experience for weeks to come. A great school trip destination, thoroughly recommend.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written May 24, 2023
  • Mily B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Ellie is good🚣‍♂️
    I’m a Ty student from loreto Kilkenny and this was our end of year Ty trip. The trip was amazing as we were always kept busy by activities such as pier jumping or archery, but the highlight of my trip was our instructor Ellie even on hikes uphill she kept us laughing and entertained. She was great fun and her constant smiles and jokes kept us happy and cheery-Mily
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 31, 2023
  • aoife
    Kilkenny, Ireland1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing time
    My school (Loreto Kilkenny) went to Carlingford this year as a final TY trip. My friends Katie, Chloe, Mily, Ellie, Lily, and i had an absolute amazing time during the trip, and one of the instructors, Ellie, was unreal and always made sure we had a great time. I loved every bit of it and would absolutely go again!
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 31, 2023
  • Katie F
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We had an amazing time
    I visited the activity centre with my school Loreto Kilkenney and had an amazing time on both land and water activities. One of the instructors, Ellie made sure we had a fantastic time and never failed to make us laugh. Myself (Katie) and the girls (Aoife, Chloe, Hannah, Ella, Elie, Sarah, Lily and Mily) were all so sad to leave, as we had such a great time
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 31, 2023
  • Ella D
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    School trip
    I went to Carlingford adventure centre with school it was so fun and I would definitely recommend it. We had the best instructor called Ellie, she made all the activities so fun and enjoyable and she was so kind. Thanks again to everyone but especially to Ellie xx
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 31, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles563 reviews
Excellent
477
Very good
58
Average
12
Poor
0
Terrible
16

Deirdre S
Dunshaughlin, Ireland5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Friends
My two daughters stayed here for a 3 day 2 night adventure. They had such a brilliant time. Days were filled with kayaking, zip lining, sky walking, pier jumping, canoeing, laser combat and rock wall climbing. They stayed in their own pod and had had their own leader. Screen time was limited to evening time which they surprisingly had no difficulties with. Their pod stayed together in a dorm and night wardens were available during the night if needed. They enjoyed the meals and mealtime was structured and activities arranged around them. Their leader was called Daniela and they loved how she looked after them and catered for their every need. All in I would highly recommend Carlingford Adventure Centre.
Written July 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen Y
Herne, UK2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
We signed up for a family SUP session which was changed to kayaking due to the wind, although actually this was probably due to having too many people in the group. It took an extremely long tome to get everyone registered, then down the sea and get equipment sorted out - we arrived at 9.30 and it was 10.45 before we were in the water. Despite there be being 7 staff, only 1 seemed to know what was going on, which didn’t help and 1 was quite stroppy in her Instructions, customer service wasn’t her strong point. Children were given no help to carry their kayaks to the water, this was left to families to do for themselves. We were a group of 30, plus 2 who demanded to do SUP, and rather than split into 2 or 3 smaller groups we were herded together which made it very crowded. There was a lot of time playing ‘fun games’ sitting in the kayaks rather than actually paddling. Smaller groups with 1 or 2 instructors would have been much better and allowed people to explore a bit. The water trampoline was disappointing as it was in too shallow to allow people jump off it into the water (or muddy silt) and was limited to 6 at a time. At the end of the session there were cold showers and a small changing room with no thought given to social distancing. Overall the time on the water was fun, but we felt very babysat and herded and had the thought been given to split into smaller groups to do an excursions it would have been much better. We were glad in the end that it was changed to kayaking as the SUP equipment was poor quality and the scope was limited.
Written August 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Karen, thanks for your feedback. Im sorry to hear you didnt fully enjoy your session and we will take all of your comments fully on board. It was unfortunate that you had both a windy day and the tide fully out, if you are back in the area please let us know and we will treat you to a free watersports session
Written August 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Madam_Mim753
Kilkenny, Ireland17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
There was a group of 13 of us who had lunch, did the skypark and stayed in the hostel afterwards.

Skypark was so much fun, a few of our group weren't mad about heights but the team were very helpful, if anyone wanted to get down at any stage it was no problem. We did from 2-5pm which we found was loads of time, there was time at the end to do the zipline a few times. Again, those that weren't mad about heights, some just did the zipline. Such great craic, we all really enjoyed it. It is physical so just make sure to dress appropriately.

We stayed in the hostel then, it was fine, basic bunkbeds which was all we needed. The shower in two of the rooms were cold, that is the only criticism we would have!

Staff were so helpful and friendly, it's great on a budget, and would absolutely recommend it as a fun activity trip and Carlingford is a great town!
Written June 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We couldn't be more thrilled that you had a 5-star experience with us! We hope it was only the first of many visits and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written March 15, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fiona F
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Today my family (two adults and two kids aged 8 & 10) booked into laser tag for a few hours. Everyone had a ball, our guide Marco was excellent, he answered all questions, kept the enthusiasm going and really went above and beyond what was expected of him. We will definately be back!!😊 fiona
Written July 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jonathan B
Belfast City Region, UK21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Family
My entire family visited Carlingford Adventure Centre recently to enjoy 3 hours of Kayaking. We have a 6, 10 and 13 year. We all had a great afternoon as the instructor seems to adjust what they do depending on the group in front of them. We didn't do as much as the other family that went out at the same time as us but that suited us perfectly. The instructor as you would expect takes a safety first approach but he let's the kids get on with it at their own pace encouraging them as they learn.
Written July 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thanks for the feedback glad to hear you enjoyed your activity and the instructor tailored it to your needs!
Written August 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ashling
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
My 13 year old daughter & her friend did the 5 day summer camp this year. I was a little worried as she never stayed away from home by herself before.
I had no need to worry as she had the most fantastic time. She said the activities were fun packed & the staff were brilliant. It was five days of full-on fun. She was absolutely exhausted when she came home and definitely wants to back next summer as she met new pals who she’s kept in contact with.

Also, her GAA team were planning a weekend trip but it was paused due to Covid so I expect this will go ahead shortly. She’s really looking forward to it and has been telling her teammates what fun stuff to expect.

Next year I intend to also send my 11 year old son as, at the time, he opted not to go and was later disappointed when my daughter told him all about it.

I personally liked that, at the end of their stay, the children were asked for their feedback on how they feel things could be improved at the Adventure Centre which shows these guys are really striving to offer the very best experiences.
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

spiceytralee
tralee104 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
Was a fantastic place with the family - 2x9 ur old and a 10 yr old. Staff were very knowledgeable but felt there could have been more of them available around the course. A few back logs while people on the ground looked for staff to help people that were stuck. (Found the locks didn’t work all the time) - difficult when minding kids too. Axe throwing very good and lots of fun. Paid extra as kids were 9 not 8 but they were too small for some activities- felt they had a disadvantage. Maybe height restrictions rather than age limits. Overall very enjoyable and would recommend.
Written August 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tricia L
Carlow, Ireland20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Family
Two families which made up 9 people did the Ziptopia and the Kayaking. This centre is very well run with excellent staff. Our instructor Eoin was brilliant. So each of our activitirs started at 2pm till 5pm. Such a great experience. Thank you all for making it such fun.
Written July 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for the feedback we appreciate it! Delighted to hear you had so much fun :)
Written August 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Oisin Dunphy
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Friends
Liam, Craig, Michael and Javier were super dooper and gave us the time of our lives and made sure we did not drown didn’t fall off a zip-line and made sure we didn’t fall into the fire. Make sure the four lads get a raise please and thank you. Also your apartments were serious thank you love bailiebourgh xx👑
Written September 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We really appreciate your 5-star review and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Written February 17, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben B
cork23 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
We had booked an hour of water play ie canoeing however when we arrived in Carlingford no one was able to tell us where the watersports was on and there wasnt a signpost to be found. We spent 45 mins driving around and kept being sent to the Skywalk Adventure Centre. We met a group of young lads who were similarly baffled!We were eventually told it was at the pier and sent back around the town again.There seems to be 3 piers and the one the canoeing went from isnt signposted or marked so takes ages to find.When we did get there eventually we did get out on the water and got a good 45mins so they must be used to it happening!
We went to Skypark after which is amazing facility except the skywalk was badly understaffed. People kept getting stuck and it was ages before someone would appear to help which caused a pile up behind them. My 13 year old was booked for 2. he arrived at 1.50 and finally got a harness at 2.20 and didnt get on the training part until gone 3 and it was 5 before he got to the first zipline. Again, all due to a lack of staff clearing people who were stuck.
Written July 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 553
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Carlingford Adventure Centre - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Carlingford Adventure Centre


Restaurants near Carlingford Adventure Centre: View all restaurants near Carlingford Adventure Centre on Tripadvisor

All things to do in Carlingford
Day Trips in Carlingford
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars