Silfra Fissure Arctic Adventures

Silfra Fissure Arctic Adventures

Silfra Fissure Arctic Adventures
5
Multi-day ToursScuba & SnorkellingAdrenaline & Extreme ToursWater SportsDay Trips
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Snorkelling Trips to Silfra in the National Park Thingvellir are operated by DIVE.IS. We conduct a variety of different Snorkeling Day Tours, such as the all time bestseller, the Snorkeling Silfra Day Tour or a number of Combo Tours where you can combine Snorkeling in Silfra with the Golden Circle or Caving in a lava tube or a visit to the Blue Lagoon or Horseback Riding or more...
Thingvellir, Iceland
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(154 reviews)
(57 reviews)
(71 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles727 reviews
Excellent
605
Very good
87
Average
21
Poor
11
Terrible
3

Andre B
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Friends
Booked the 8am to 6pm Golden Circle Tour + Snorkeling. Be patient and don't get nervous if the bus does not arrive at 8am flat at your location, they are picking up a lot of people – they won't forget you.

Our tour guide Jacob was really nice (Jacob, your jokes aren't THAT cheesy 😉) and explained a lot about the history along the way. Our instructor at snorkeling was Marcus who was very professional by all standards, it was a smooth experience. I recommend to book the snorkeling, because it adds some action to the trip and the water is very clear.

You don't need to bring anything specific. They provide a warm suit AND a dry suit. Your fingers get a little cold – that's it.
Written August 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

miranda t
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Friends
A must do!

It is obviously not for everyone, but that being said it is quite accessible, we’re three slightly overweight people and we could do it and enjoy it! It wasn’t very physically strainous.

Our guide GC ( I believe, he was from Peru) was great, super informative and made us super calm and ready for the water. A girl in our group was quite nervous about it and he made her very comfortable about the whole situation.

Overall a very cool and unique experience! Don’t let the 2 degrees scare you away😂

Pro tip do the earliest slot, the water is the clearest and it’s more fun with no people around, it gets very busy after 9-10.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tink0707
West Jordan, UT1,057 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Friends
We are a group of 5 traveling on this trip. I am only one scuba certified so we did the snorkel (if you are certified I’m sure diving would be much better).
Our group of 5 got split up, which was a real bummer but Richard was fantastic & Frida was good.
We did the 10am session. It takes quite a bit of time to gear up. You wear your own long underwear (I highly recommend wearing 2 pairs of socks, even if the first pair is wool) and then you zip into a warm jumpsuit. Finally you add on the dry suit. We all found the dry suits a bit uncomfortable. We had to have our necks cinched to prevent water from getting in & it’s not comfortable. You just swim with your legs, not your hands, but your hands do still get wet (which means cold). Your face also gets very cold being in the water. You’re in the water about 40-45 minutes & temperature is about 37F. It is beautiful. Water is incredibly clear & blue. Neat to swim along a tectonic plate. It’s a different experience. Really isn’t anything in the water to see, other than the rocks. Glad we did it but it’s not something I’d need to do again on a future trip to Iceland.
Written October 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brandon Newman
11 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
Please let me start with the fact that the staff were very nice people. They did a great job helping us with gear, being kind in general, and throwing in some hot coco at the end. The trip itself just isn't worth the money or hassle. The gear is expensive so the trip will of course be expensive. To wrap up the experience: You float around the top of a pretty but very cold pond for an hour or so. Its actually a lake but it will feel like a pond. You have the option to "swim around and explore" at the end. Unfortunately the suits are so constraining and the water is so cold that most folks are getting out as quick as they can. It's just not a super cool or enjoyable experience. On paper it sounds awesome but there's just so much more to do/spend your money on in Iceland. The photos matched the experience. Find yourself a pair of goggles, dip your head in the pond, and you'll get the same view. Lastly they lied about the cookies at the end. There are no cookies :(
Written June 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Brandon. Thank you for choosing Dive.is and taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you thought our staff were nice and they did manage to help you with everything and glad you liked the hot coco at the end. I'm afraid we do not offer a cookies at the moment, we usually do offer them but with Covid, it has been too much risk. We will start offering them again when it is safe to due so, hopefully soon. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Silfra fissure as much as some of our other customers. We truly hope you had a great time on other activities in Iceland and will reflect back to your visit fondly. Sincerely, The team at Dive.is
Written June 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hoplik
Gold Coast, Australia36 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
Mmmmm, this tour is a had. Firstly there is no chance you are diving between tectonic plates as they are 7km’s apart. You are told this but the socials and chatter all suggest that you can touch one side of one plate and one side the other plate. Not true!
Yes the water is clear but that’s about it, you are required to get dressed in a van and to stand in the very cold open while given an hour long briefing about safety. There are no change rooms or anything like it, no facilities at all just 30 vans full of people trying to get dressed. You are dressed in suits that keep you dry but it’s so difficult to move around and control what you are doing. They are tight and uncomfortable. The photos we were given were of such bad quality and allegedly taken by a photographer ?????? They were awful ! That was what really annoyed us! If you are going to spruik an experience, get it right.
This is social media hype at its finest!
Personally I didn’t get the fascination………….. it’s not worth the money you are charged and it’s offering something that is a con! Go to a waterfall anywhere in Iceland for free, same same experience! Just in the water it’s free.
Written March 26, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, thank you for sharing your feedback. We aim to provide accurate information about our tours, and we apologize if there was any misunderstanding. The experience is designed to showcase the unique underwater visibility and the geological significance of the area. We acknowledge the challenges with the dressing situation and are continuously seeking ways to improve this aspect within the constraints of the national park's regulations. We understand that the dry suits can be restrictive and we aim to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. Regarding the quality of the photos, we apologize if they did not meet your expectations. We strive to capture high-quality memories for our guests and will address this with our guides. Your feedback is valuable to us and will be used to improve our services. If you have any further concerns or suggestions, please feel free to reach out.
Written April 16, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Phil J
United Kingdom34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
An amazing experience to snorkel in calm and clear waters (if cold) under the watchful eye of experienced guides. Thomas was ours and he combined expertise with disarming and tension-defusing humour.
It necessarily takes a while to make sure the dry suits fit everyone, but it is worth it to drift through a meltwater-filled rift in the earth's crust and marvel at the clarity of the water and the gentle current nudging you along.

Highly recommended. You are very well looked after and both the visibility and geological significance of where you are swimming is unlike anything you can see elsewhere.
Written June 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

stork90
Mount Juliet, TN1,392 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
Yes, this is very pricey, but for us, it was worth it. Where else can you get in a drysuit without training, to enter frigid water, with clarity of air, and "swim between continents"? The assistance into the gear was excellent, as was the briefing ahead of time. You knew exactly what to expect, and how to handle any discomfort. First rate operation! Chris was our guide, and was excellent and funny.
Written June 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kimberly L
Berkeley, CA72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
Such a great note to leave Iceland on. This was one of my last activities before I flew off to Iceland. It was raining and cloudy, which really ended up having no effect on the beautiful experience (I think it actually heightened it even more). My friend and I are pretty petite, just around 150cm (4ft 11in), and the suits still fit us pretty well. It's not as cold as I expected, pretty manageable–the coldest part of my body was probably my lips.

Clarence was an awesome guide and helped get us suited up and familiar with what to expect. He also took really great photos of us and was nice enough to give them to us for free when he found out there was something wrong with the camera.

Absolutely would recommend it. Also would suggest doing the earlier tours (we did ours at 8am where we drove to the site). When we started, there were just two vans there (both from the same company). By the time we got back around 11am, there were a lot more people and I'm just glad we got to experience the beautiful cold glacier waters with less people.
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Corinaand5
Dublin, Ireland10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
We started the trip a bit nervous, snorkling in cold water in winter time is not an every day activity. But upon arrival guide David took away our doubts, with a quick joke and clear instructions.
The snorkling itself is amazing, the water is clear and deep, the environment quiet. The dry suit and undergarment protect you against the cold, so you can fully concentrate on the underwater spectacle.
Written November 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrew P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Friends
I was a bit hesitant to book this tour because of past snorkeling trips I have been on. Thankfully, I decided to book the trip and it was one of the greatest decisions of my life. From the start, Kylie was extremely helpful giving background of the landscape. One of my friends was very nervous to snorkel, but the instructor was extremely patient and informative about the process and fun tips to stay calm. The tour is a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend to anyone who visits Iceland. Also, the trip ends with cookies and hot chocolate!!!!!
Written July 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 625

Silfra Fissure Arctic Adventures - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Thingvellir
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars