We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SauveTerre Musee de Prehistoire

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Modern take on famous ancient site

The excavations at Sauveterre gave a whole classification to archaeology. Of course very little... read more

Reviewed July 31, 2015
Elizabeth K
,
Hook, United Kingdom
Beware of hours

Came 45 minutes before closing time, and they wouldn't let us in. Thought we could get an... read more

Reviewed May 13, 2014
Sam W
,
Israel
Read all 18 reviews
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor22%
  • Terrible5%
Jul 31, 2015
“Modern take on famous ancient site”
May 13, 2014
“Beware of hours”
About
A really new, modern, interactive place dedicated to Prehistory!
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
Contact
le Bourg | Sauveterre-la-Lemance, 47500 Sauveterre-la-Lemance, France
Website
+33 5 53 40 73 03
Call
Improve This Listing
Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sauveterre-la-Lemance
from $11.21
More Info
from $114.39
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
2 results
Traveler rating
0
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
0
1
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 31, 2015

The excavations at Sauveterre gave a whole classification to archaeology. Of course very little remains to be seen in this era but the museum has made an excellent job of making prehistory accessible. It is a small but significant and fun museum. The chateau above...More

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Elizabeth K
Meryll-Pro, Responsable relations clients at SauveTerre Musee de Prehistoire, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank you for providing your review. We’re glad that the museum pleased you and we wish to see you soon.

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Came 45 minutes before closing time, and they wouldn't let us in. Thought we could get an impression in that time, but they thought otherwise. At least we saw the grandaddy of local archaeological museums in Les Eyzies.More

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Sam W
Meryll-Musee, Responsable réception at SauveTerre Musee de Prehistoire, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

We're sorry that you couldn't come in the museum. No entrance is avaible 30 minutes before closing time because you've not any time to visit all the museum. However, if you really want to visit it , it's not normal that we didn't let you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hotel Restaurant La Bastide
59 reviews
4.30 miles away
Brit Hotel Vallee du Lot
75 reviews
6.81 miles away
Castelwood
105 reviews
7.07 miles away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
403 reviews
8.50 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Auberge des Moulins
8 reviews
2.20 miles away
Les Bons Enfants
125 reviews
3.68 miles away
Auberge le Gaulois
124 reviews
3.85 miles away
La Table de Marlyse
29 reviews
3.64 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Chateau de Bonaguil
528 reviews
3.57 miles away
Perigord en Caleche
11 reviews
3.86 miles away
Moulin de Guiral - Pisciculture
11 reviews
3.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from SauveTerre Musee de Prehistoire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines