We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Categoria Patagonia

Features Animals
Puerto Madryn, Argentina
More
About Categoria Patagonia
Our Travel Agency is exclusively dedicated to make Tours and Excursions to the most visited places around Puerto Madryn. We manage the reception of guests who travel to our city and take them to the best places to see like Punta Tombo, the biggest continental rookery in Argentina. Another full day excursion is Peninsula Valdes for Southern Right Whale watching and visit the Peninsula to watch all the native fauna. Full day tours are at least 250 km from Madryn, but those places deserve to be visited. Some other excursions are shorter tailored for guests who have less time to stay.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Categoria Patagonia
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
91Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 14
  • 2
  • 4
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Glen wrote a review Nov 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
I sent an email to book Peninsula Valdes and whale watching.tour. Monica answered immediately and explained everything so clear that I booked. When I arrived they called me at the Hotel to tell me that the next day will be very windy, so if I wanted the can change dates. I asked how will it be if I go to Top Tombo, and that was fine, they answer, so I booked it too and it was great. The next day was perfect for sailing. During the Peninsula Tour we saw gunacos, flamingos and little owls in the road. At Puerto Piramides we took the whale watching boat, That was an amazing experience, The Southern right whales come very near the boat, but they also took us to El Doradillo, a place where the whales come near the beach, All the people working for Categoria Patagonia was really nice, also driver and tour guide. I want to congratulate the Agency cause its not very common that someone cares so much about guests to call and change date, knowing I was going to stay for 3 days at the city. I recommend them 100%.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MarceloEtcheto, Public Relations Manager at Categoria Patagonia
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Thank you for choosing us. Your review has a great value for us. We keep working to reach the higher levels of excellence in our services. We were pleased to have you as our customer and we hope you visit us again soon. CATEGORIA PATAGONIA staff send you best wishes. We hope to see you soon again. Dra. Mónica Spinelli Public Relation Manager
Read more
Barrie T wrote a review Feb 2018
Pershore, United Kingdom2 contributions
Arrived on Emerald Princess into Puerto Madryn and decided not to do a ship tour, after avoiding to usual taxi drivers at the end of the jetty we turned left and walked along the front and after a short walk came across Categoria Patagonia, a young student was outside who spoke very good English gave information and supplied a map and directed us inside where another person who spoke good English issued us tickets to visit Punta Loma to see Sea Lions. Mini bus was good with air conditioning and with a mix of tarmac and stones roads it did not take long to get there (17km), we had a Spanish speaking guide but we also had the student with us who translated the detail for the English speaking passengers. There was just a 50m walk to get to the viewing platform that overlooks the beach where there Sea Lions are, there was a toilet stop before leaving the site and another stop where pictures of the bay, and in our case of our ship could be taken. We diverted into town on our return where a few places of interest were pointed out and you were given the opportunity to leave there to look around by yourself or return to sea front where we started from. A great tour lasting just over 3 hours and at $35 usd each it was a bargain. Thank you
Read more
Date of experience: January 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcelo E, Owner at Categoria Patagonia
Responded Oct 28, 2018
Thank you for choosing us. Your review has a great value for us. We keep working to reach the higher levels of excellence in our services. We were pleased to have you as our customer and we hope you visit us again soon. CATEGORIA PATAGONIA staff send you best wishes. Dra. Mónica Spinelli Public Relation Manager
Read more
Langan12 wrote a review Feb 2017
Aberdeen, United Kingdom23 contributions11 helpful votes
I did two tours with the company, one for Punta Tombo and one for Peninsula Valdes. Seeing the Penguins in Punta Tombo was unreal and our guide David told us lots of information on the way to them. We then went to Gaiman to go to Case de Té for lunch/afternoon tea. This is a total tourist trap at 350 pesos (around 22e) and no alternative was offered or suggested. Our guide didn't even lunch with us so it would have been a nice idea to do a short walking tour or another activity for anyone who didn't want to partake in the afternoon tea. One guy said no to the lunch and was basically left sitting outside for the hour, not worth what you're paying for the tour with that regard. Punta Valdes was very interesting, or guide (Gabriella I think??) told us lots of information to and along the way. We saw penguins and (in the distance) sea lions and sea elephants. Apparently you see much more wildlife when the tide is high. When they got us to the coast the tide was so far out the animals were kind of blobs in the distance. Why the tour doesn't take into account the tides and bring you there when they are high I don't understand?? I think it would be much better to rearrange the day if necessary so you get the most value for money with regard to seeing the animals
Read more
Date of experience: January 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcelo E, Public Relations Manager at Categoria Patagonia
Responded Aug 21, 2017
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy the tour. We did our best as always. Thank you for choosing us anyway. Your review has a great value for us. We keep on working to reach the higher level of excellence in our services. We were pleased to have you as a customer and we hope you visit us again soon. CATEGORIA PATAGONIA staff send you best wishes. Dra. Mónica Spinelli Public Relations Manager
Read more
CT_Sarah wrote a review Apr 2016
Farmington, Connecticut108 contributions27 helpful votes
Warning: this is going to be a long review, but our experience with Categoria Patagonia deserves a full explanation. Please read fully if you are considering booking with this company. About 3 weeks before we were scheduled to vacation in Puerto Madryn, I emailed with 4 different tour companies to explore options for day trips to Peninsula Valdes and Punta Tombo. Honestly, none of the companies impressed me during our email correspondence, and the prices were the same with all four, but Categoria Patagonia stood out as the most responsive and thorough in the explanation of their tour options. They also guaranteed that both tours would be provided in English. Therefore, I went ahead and reserved spots for my husband and I to do both a Peninsula Valdes tour and a Punta Tombo tour with this company. The woman I emailed with, Monica, sent back a confirmation with a few additional details and her direct contact info in case we had any trouble. That was where the good customer service ended. Two days before our first scheduled tour with Categoria Patagonia, I emailed to check what time we would be picked up at our hotel. The next day when I had no response, I tried emailing a second time. At 4pm the afternoon before our tour, I finally tried contacting Monica directly using the What's App phone number she provided. She did not respond there either. We went to the front desk of our hotel to ask for advice, and he gave us directions to walk a few blocks to the Categoria Patagonia offices. At the office we managed to find the Spanish-speaking owner, get a pick-up time for the morning, and pay for our tours. Our Peninsula Valdes tour was great! Our tour guide, David, was a wealth of information and explained everything in both Spanish and English. He was even able to answer all of our more complex questions regarding the wildlife -- in impeccable English! The tour took us to several sights within Peninsula Valdes, with a perfect amount of time at each stop. We started to forget about the communication issues we had with the company, and we were excited when David said he would be the guide for the Punta Tombo tour the next day. The next morning, we were surprised when David was not the representative who picked us up at our hotel for our Punta Tombo tour. We were picked up by a man who did not speak a single word of English and was driving an unmarked sedan, as opposed to the Categoria Patagonia van we had been in the day before. We figured that this man was simply doing some pick-ups and would be bringing us to meet up with the larger tour group at the van. We were wrong! We picked up one more woman, and started to head for the highway. I asked our driver (in my limited Spanish) what was going on, as I had been promised an English tour, and he said nope, he was our guide for the day. We did not get much out of the day since the driver could not tell us in English where we were going or what we were looking at. To top it off, he drove like a maniac. I spent most of the long car ride praying to make it back to the hotel in one piece as I watched him drift into oncoming traffic lanes and excessively speed down dirt roads. Had I had any way of calling for help, I would have contacted our hotel to send us an alternate ride back since I was genuinely terrified that he was going to wreck the car. The tour itself on this day was completely not worth the price. Everywhere we stopped, there was an additional hefty fee to participate in the activity. By the end of the day, we had spent 3,700 pesos (nearly $250 US Dollars). We saw some beautiful places (the penguins at Punta Tombo are unbelievable!), but the overall experience was terrible. I honestly do not know if the other tour companies in Puerto Madryn are more professional, but it is worth a shot to try, because I can guarantee you that the folks running Categoria Patagonia are unprofessional liars.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcelo E, Public Relations Manager at Categoria Patagonia
Responded Dec 23, 2016
We are so sorry you didn´t enjoy. We did pur best as always Thank you for choosing us anyway. Your review has a great value for us. We keep working to reach the higher levels of excellence in our services. We were pleased to have you as our customer and we hope you visit us again soon. CATEGORIA PATAGONIA staff send you best wishes. Dra. Mónica Spinelli Public Relation Manager
Read more
Gbrawley22010 wrote a review Feb 2016
Sun City West, Arizona28 contributions8 helpful votes
We were a little confused and disappointed when we were on the shuttle from the port and a young English speaking girl from Categoria told us to get off the shuttle early and we thought she was coming with us and would be our guide. Instead we were hustled into a very small car with a driver who spoke little to no English and we were with him for the long ride to see the penguins. We thought that we were going to Tombo, the largest penguin rookery, where you could walk around with the penguins but instead we went to the National Park, which was about the same distance away and you could only see the penguins up close and there weren't nearly as many of them. It turned out to be a pleasant day as we saw sea lions and the driver was good at pointing out other animals along the way but if it wasn't for my limited Spanish, we would have been pretty lost. We were dropped off in the town at the end of the day and we caught the shuttle back to the ship
Read more
Date of experience: February 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcelo E, Public Relations Manager at Categoria Patagonia
Responded Dec 23, 2016
We are so sorry you didn´t enjoy. We did pur best as always Thank you for choosing us anyway. Your review has a great value for us. We keep working to reach the higher levels of excellence in our services. We were pleased to have you as our customer and we hope you visit us again soon. CATEGORIA PATAGONIA staff send you best wishes. Dra. Mónica Spinelli Public Relation Manager
Read more
Previous