‪Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento‬

تعليقات حول - ‪Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento‬, بوينس آيرس

المنطقة
الجوار: ميكروثنترو
كيفية الوصول إلى هناك
  • ‪General San Martín‬ • 4 دقائق سيرًا
  • ‪Retiro‬ • 6 دقائق سيرًا
أفضل الأماكن القريبة
المطاعم
3,023 على بُعد 5 كيلومترات
معالم الجذب
521 على بُعد 5 كيلومترات

4.5
2,667 تعليق
ممتاز
‪1,803‬
جيد جدًا
‪751‬
متوسط
‪102‬
سيئ
‪7‬
سيئ جدًا
‪4‬

تمت ترجمة هذه التعليقات تلقائيًا من اللغة الإنجليزية.
قد تحتوي هذه الخدمة على ترجمات تم تقديمها من خلال Google. وتخلي Google مسؤوليتها من جميع الضمانات، صريحةً كانت أم ضمنيةً، المتعلقة بالترجمات، بما في ذلك أي ضمانات تتعلق بالدقة والموثوقية، وكذلك أي ضمانات ضمنية تتعلق بقابلية التسويق والملاءمة لغرض معين والخلو من التزييف.

Tupelo010835
‪Denton‬, تكساس1,961 مساهمة
‪لا تنسى!‬
يناير 2020
‪كثيرا جدا جدا. نحاول دائمًا زيارة زوجين من الكنائس والكاتدرائيات عندما نكون في مدينة جديدة. سعيد فعلنا هذه المرة. وجدنا أن هذه قطعة فنية رائعة حقًا. لا توجد طريقة أخرى لوضعها. إنه فن.
جميلة! !‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 20 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

carlaontrip
بوينس آيرس, الأرجنتين127 مساهمة
‪لطيف‬
مارس 2020
‪كابل جميل للزيارة. يمكنك دخول الكتلة ، وهناك مكان صغير حيث يمكنك شراء بعض الهدايا التذكارية.‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 16 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashim M
ملبورن, أستراليا278 مساهمة
‪إذا كنت تحب الكاتدرائيات - فهذا جوهرة‬
مارس 2020
‪الكاتدرائية القديمة المذهلة ذات التاريخ المذهل - أليسوا جميعًا؟ ؟ ؟

جميل رغم ذلك. تستحق الزيارة مع دليل.‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 10 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Vincent M
نيو أورلينز, لويزيانا2,199 مساهمة
‪جميل مذهل!‬
فبراير 2020
‪في وقت مبكر من ليلة واحدة ، لاحظت وجود كنيسة ذات مظهر مثير للاهتمام في أحد الشوارع الجانبية. تجولت لرؤية الواجهة ، لكن حفل زفاف كان لا يزال مفتوحًا. حد الحفل من قدرتي على الاستكشاف ، لكن ما هي كنيسة جميلة بشكل مذهل: بشكل عام ، وبالتفصيل. (ملاحظة: أنا لست كاثوليكيًا ، لذا إذا قلت أي شيء غير صحيح ، اعتذاري مقدمًا ؛ فأنا أقترب من بازيليك سانتيسيمو ساكرامنتو لأنك قد تقترب من السيخ غوردوارا أو شينتو جينجا ، تمامًا من منظور ثقافي ومعماري).

الخلق: اعمل سيارة مرسيدس كاستيلانوس دي أنكورينا ، بعد أن أمضت سنوات في فرنسا ، واستلهمت من كنيستها الباريسية المفضلة (أشك في سانت تشابيل) ، تريد بناء شيء مماثل في بوينس آيرس. غطت 100 ٪ من تكلفة هذه الكنيسة: الأثرياء جدا حد ذاته أورا حقا! تم تكريس الكنيسة ، المستندة إلى تصميم باريسي ، في عام 1916 (سنة عظيمة لتكون بعيدة عن فرنسا كما يمكنك الحصول عليها) ، وأعلن البابا على الفور بازيليكا ثانوية. هذه الكنيسة تستحق هذا الشرف. "القاصر" ليس تحقيرًا ؛ أربع كنائس رومانية قديمة هي البازيليكات الرئيسية الوحيدة: الفترة. لا يهم إذا صمم برونيلشي قبتك ، بنى جيوتو برج الجرس الخاص بك ، وقام غيبرتي بالأبواب: إذا لم تكن واحدة من هذه الكنائس الأربع ، فإن أفضل ما يمكنك الحصول عليه هو ثانوي.

الواجهة: واجهة البازيليك طويلة ، ضيقة ، ومحاطة بالمباني المحيطة في كل مكان ، لذلك تضطر إلى النظر إليها من مكان قريب ، وليس عبر ساحة أو مساحة مفتوحة أخرى ، حيث يمكنك الحصول على منظور أفضل . الأسلوب هو Beaux - Art ، مع التركيز الشديد على الكلاسيكية الجديدة. ترتيب الأقواس المزخرفة على الواجهة ذكي: في بعض الأماكن ، يكون القوس الواحد مدعومًا بصريًا بواسطة عمودين. في حالات أخرى ، يتم دعم "قوسين" جنبًا إلى جنب بثلاثة أعمدة فقط ، الدعامة المركزية تقوم بواجب مزدوج. أو جرب أربعة أقواس مدعومة بسبع أعمدة: التصميم ذو القوسين أو الثلاثة أعمدة ولكن مع القوس الثالث الكبير المدعوم من عمودين بجانب الأعمدة الخارجية مزدوجة القوس. ثم القوس الرابع فوق القوس الثالث ، مدعوم بعمودين إضافيين بين قوسين ثالثين. وأخيراً ، على مستوى الأرض ، نحصل على ثلاثة أقواس وأعمدة حقيقية ، واحدة قبل كل باب في الكنيسة. تقوم الأقواس الثلاثة السفلية بالفعل بعمل القوس ، مما يدعم الوزن ؛ والبعض الآخر مزخرف بحتة. والعودة إلى أعلى الوسط ، داخل أحد القوسين فوقهما جميعًا: تمثال رخامي رائع لملائكين راكعين يعبدان المضيف: تتجول البادئة القوية في تماثيل ذهبية متقنة بأشعة تشع خارجًا من المضيف في وسطها. الوحوش عبارة عن مبنى زخرفي يعرض المضيف المقدس: الرقاقة المستخدمة للتواصل المقدس ؛ يُطلق على "الوحوش الشمسية" صكًا شمسيًا تخلو من أشعة تسقط منه ، كما ترى على واجهة الكنيسة. حق! لذا امشي في الكنيسة وحدق إلى الأمام مباشرة على مذبح جميل خرافي ، وماذا ترى ضربة صفعة في منتصفها؟ وحش الشمسي الذهبي الحقيقي ، وصق البصق من واحد على الواجهة! كل هذا مناسب تمامًا ، لأن اسم الكنيسة هو سانتيسيمو ساكرامنتو: "أكثر الأسرار المقدسة" ويعرف أيضًا باسم القربان المقدس (الأسرار الستة الأخرى ، من المعمودية إلى الوحدة المتطرفة ، بما في ذلك الزواج الذي احتفل به بورت أو أس) ؛ انظر صور الواجهة والوحش).

الداخل: ما تلاحظه على الفور هو مدى الإضاءة ، بفضل كل تلك النوافذ (انظر الصورة الداخلية). هذه الصورة تعطي أيضا تلميحا من transept ، قبالة إلى اليسار. صحن الكنيسة مشرق ومبهج. يتم وضع الممرات على جانبي الصحن بواسطة أعمدة ؛ (انظر الصورة ناف). السقف البيج الفاتح أعلى المنصة عبارة عن قبو ضلع (انظر صورة الضلع المدفن). قبو صالات العرض "الثانية" الأنيقة فوق الممرات مباشرة (وتسمى triforium) ، ويتم فصلها عن الصحن بواسطة رواق بأقواس مشرقة ترتكز على أعمدة سوداء ساطعة. فوق الجدران الثلاثية ، تغلق الجدران الخارجية على المنصة ، وبالتالي فإن النوافذ الزجاجية الملطخة في هذا المستوى الأعلى (وتسمى clerestory) تحصل على الكثير من أشعة الشمس ، وهذا عامل آخر في الطبيعة الداخلية المشرقة المتجددة الهواء. تستمر نوافذ clerestory في توفير الضوء الطبيعي في جميع أنحاء الصحن ، وتلتف حول transept ، ثم تضيء الإسعافية والقمية (انظر صورة Triforium و Clerestory).

الحنية (مقدمة الكنيسة من الكنيسة إلى المذبح) مذهلة: الزجاج الملون مذهل ؛ يتكون المذبح من رخام منحوت بشكل جميل من مختلف الألوان ، خاصة رخام كاريرا الأبيض ، وهو نفس الحجر الذي استخدمه مايكل أنجلو لديفيد وموسى وكنيسة ميديشي. تحتوي الحنية أيضًا على لوحات جدارية جميلة (انظر صورة Apse). كان لدي عدسة تليفوتوغرافيّة ، لكنني أتمنى لو اقتربت. لسوء الحظ ، فإن الظرف الوحيد الذي يجعل من المناسب مقاطعة حفل زفاف عن طريق الركض إلى المذبح ، هو إذا كنت الفصل اللائق الذي يحب العروس حقًا ، وكنت قد حصلت للتو على دليل على أن العريس الذي هو فقط بعد ثروتها ، هو لا يزال متزوجًا قانونيًا من امرأة في بوغوتا ؛ أنا لا أتفق مع هذا الوصف.

ومع ذلك ، حتى في طريق العودة إلى مؤخرة SS Santisimo Sacramento ، يمكنني أن أؤكد جودة المواد المستخدمة ، وذلك بفضل المصليات الجانبية (انظر مصلى سايد) والحرفية المزخرفة على المنبر الخشبي والاعترافات ، التي كانت داخل بعض الشيء خط البصر (انظر صور المنبر والاعترافات). شيء بسيط مثل الخط المائي المقدس تم نحته وصنعه بأربعة أنواع مختلفة من الرخام (انظر صورة الخط).

سانتولوجي: إن الفحص الدقيق للنوافذ الزجاجية الملطخة هنا قد يعرضك على عدد قليل من القديسين الذين لم تسمع بهم من قبل. كان بعضها جديدًا بالنسبة لي ، على الرغم من أنه قد يكون معروفًا في كل من إسبانيا وأمريكا اللاتينية. على سبيل المثال ، نافذة واحدة شرف الشارع. هيرمنجيلد ، أمير فيغوث فيزغوث في أوائل القرن السادس عشر ، تمرد على أبيه الملك. خسر الحرب أولا ، ورأسه الثانية. ربط القديسين الرموز المقدسة (باتريك - شامروك ، جورج - تنين ، أوغسطين - كتب مملة) وهيرمينغيلدز هو رأس فاسد: على نافذة الزجاج الملون ، يوجد فأس واحد في الصورة الرئيسية للقديس ، وآخر في الأسفل أصغر المقالة القصيرة من قطع رأسه الفعلي (انظر الصورة Hermengild).

الأنابيب: الجهاز الأنبوبي للكنيسة هو وحش: فرنسي - مبني ، يحتوي على 4983 أنبوبًا صوتيًا. "بفضل حفل الزفاف ، سمعت العضو: إنه مثير للإعجاب. إذا كنت كاثوليكيًا ، أوصي بالذهاب إلى القداس في بعض المناسبات الخاصة عندما يكونون متأكدين من لعبهم للجسد ، مثل عيد القديس هيرمينغيلد.

ص. س. 1: تأمل واحد مهووس: كما تعلمون ، نظرًا لما يتكون من هذه الكنيسة ، وعندما صُنعت ، أدهشني أن طاقم الشحن الكاثوليكي الإيطالي نفسه الذي حمل رخام كاريرا الجميل إلى بوينس آيرس لهذه البازيليكا ، قد يكون محملاً بـ ذخائر قاتلة للعودة إلى إيطاليا ، لاستخدامها ضد النمساويين الكاثوليك على جبهة Isonzo. الأرجنتين كانت حكيمة في البقاء خارج هذه الكارثة.

ص. س. 2: بعد كتابة ما سبق ، قمت بمسح مراجعات TA الأخرى. على ما يبدو هذه الكنيسة هي محطة جولة شعبية (أستطيع أن أرى لماذا). يذكر بعض المراجعين أن هذه كاتدرائية ، حيث ترأس البابا فرانسيس الحالي ، حيث يوجد قبر خوسيه دي سان مارتن. إنها بازيليه ثانوية وليست كاتدرائية. ربما كان للبابا فرانسيس بعض الصلات مع سانتيسيما ساكرامنتو في مرحلة ما من حياته المهنية ، ولكن بمجرد أن أصبح رئيس أساقفة بوينس آيرس ، كان مقعده الرسمي هو كاتدرائية العاصمة. يقع قبر Jos de San Martin في الكاتدرائية ، وليس هنا ، على الرغم من أنه محشو حتى هناك ، لأسباب لاهوتية. (يتم عرض فرانسيسكو بيزارو بفخر في كاتدرائية ليما ، لكن بيزارو لم يكن ماسونيًا أبدًا).‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 8 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Flavia L
بوينس آيرس, الأرجنتين33 مساهمة
‪الكنيسة الجميلة‬
فبراير 2020
‪إنها أجمل كنيسة في المدينة مع قصة مذهلة. الناس المهمين الزواج هناك. هذه الزيارة أمر لا بد منه. . . .‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 5 مارس 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Dez
‪Sunshine Coast‬, أستراليا648 مساهمة
‪الكنيسة الجميلة‬
فبراير 2020 • زوجان
‪كنيسة جميلة جدا. عندما تدخل هناك تماثيل جميلة وزجاج ملون في جميع أنحاء الكنيسة. تأكد من المجيء. ربما لا تكون مناسبة للعائلات التي لديها أطفال يصرخون.‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 16 فبراير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Gottagocit
‪Tennessee‬1,451 مساهمة
‪بازيليكا جميلة‬
يناير 2020
‪يا له من مكان هادئ وسلمي في الوسط على فوضى المدينة. المنحوتات الرائعة مرة أخرى النوافذ الزجاجية في كل مكان. هناك العديد من المصليات الرائعة على جانبي القاعة الرئيسية. بالتأكيد يجب أن نرى عند زيارة بوينس آيرس.‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 15 فبراير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Ntee6603
‪Sarasota‬, فلوريدا175 مساهمة
‪الكثير من القطع الفنية الجميلة والمنحوتات والتماثيل والرخام كارارا وجهاز كبير‬
يناير 2020
‪لا ينبغي تفويتها في زيارة إلى هذه المدينة الجميلة ، بوينس آيرس ، مثلت هذه الكنيسة الثراء والثروة لمالك الأرستقراطي ، مرسيدس سي دي أنكورينا ، الذي جعلها تتمنى دفنها في القبو. كان كفاحها المستمر مع سيدة ثرية أخرى ، السيدة كوفينا كافاناغ التي فاتتها صهر ابنتها ، موضوع أسطورة الفرص الضائعة والانتقام ،‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 12 فبراير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

perthguy6
بيرث, أستراليا205 مساهمات
‪تغيير الحرس!‬
يناير 2020
‪كمسافرين متعطشين ، إذا كان هناك تغيير في الحراسة في البلد ، فأنا أحب مشاهدته وبمناسبة هذه الكنيسة المذهلة ، تابعت الحرس من القصر الوردي الرئاسي إلى قبر سان مارتن داخل الكنيسة. لا أعرف الكثير من الحراس الذين يراقبون قبرًا في الكنيسة ، لذلك أعتقد أنه فريد من نوعه. كنيسة جميلة والكثير للنظر في ولكن حاول أن الوقت لتغيير الحارس كذلك!‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 2 فبراير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

Joan W
فانكوفر, كندا850 مساهمة
‪محرج‬
يناير 2020
‪اضطررت لالتقاط صور للأرضيات المبلطة. كان صنعة المعلقة. كانت مزدحمة بالسياح في الداخل ولكن ليس إلى النقطة التي لا يمكن أن تتمتع بجمال الكنيسة.‬
Google
كُتب بتاريخ 2 فبراير 2020
يعبر هذا التعليق عن الرأي الشخصي لأحد أعضاء Tripadvisor ولا يعبر عن رأي شركة TripAdvisor LLC.

عرض نتائج 1-10 من أصل 118
هل هناك أي شيء مفقود أو غير دقيق؟
اقترح تعديلات لتحسين ما نعرضه.
تحسين هذا الإدراج

Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento

Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento, Buenos Aires

Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento

Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento
4.5
Plan your visit
The area
Neighborhood: Microcentro
How to get there
  • General San Martín • 4 min walk
  • Retiro • 6 min walk
Popular mentions

4.5
2,666 reviews
Excellent
1,802
Very good
751
Average
102
Poor
7
Terrible
4

Besos43
West Orange, New Jersey215 contributions
Wonderful Cathedral
Feb 2020
The Cathedral is in Classical and NeoClassical Parisian Architecture. Was very interesting and beautiful. Worth a stop
Written June 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tupelo010835
Denton, TX1,962 contributions
Memorible!
Jan 2020
Very, very much so. We always try to visit a couple of churches and cathedrals when we are in a new city. Glad we did this time. We found this to be a truly spectacular piece of art. No other way to put it. It is art.
Beautiful!!
Written March 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

carlaontrip
Buenos Aires, Argentina127 contributions
NICE
Mar 2020
Beautiful Capel to visit. You can enter mass, and there is a little place where you can buy some souvenirs.
Written March 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashim M
Melbourne, Australia278 contributions
If you love Cathedrals - then this is a gem
Mar 2020
Stunning old Cathedral with an incredible history - don't they all???

Beautiful though. Well worth a visit with a guide.
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Vincent M
New Orleans, LA2,213 contributions
Spectacularly Beautiful!
Feb 2020
Early one evening, I noticed an interesting-looking church on a side street. I wandered over to see its facade, but a wedding was taking place, and the church was still open. The ceremony limited my ability to explore, but what a stunningly beautiful church: both overall, and in detail. (Note: I’m not Catholic, so if I say anything incorrect, my apologies in advance; I approach Basilica Santisimo Sacramento as you might approach a Sikh gurdwara or a Shinto jinja, strictly from a cultural and architectural perspective).

Creation: Doña Mercedes Castellanos de Anchorena, having spent years in France, and inspired by her favourite Parisian church (I suspect Sainte-Chapelle), wanted to build something similar in Buenos Aires. She covered 100% of the cost of this church: a very wealthy señora indeed! The church, based on a Parisian design, was consecrated in 1916 (a great year to be as far from France as you could get), and was promptly declared a minor basilica by the Pope. This church merits that honour. “Minor” is not pejorative; four ancient Roman churches are the only major basilicas: period. It doesn’t matter if Brunelleschi designed your dome, Giotto built your bell-tower, and Ghiberti did the doors: if you’re not one of those four churches, the best you can ever get is minor.

Facade: The basilica’s facade is tall, narrow, and hemmed in by surrounding buildings all around, so you’re forced to look up at it from close by, rather than across a plaza or other open space, where you could get a better perspective. The style is Beaux-Art, with a heavy emphasis on neoclassicism. The arrangement of decorative arches on the facade is clever: in some places, a single arch is visually “supported” by two pillars. In others, two arches side-by-side are “supported” by only three pillars, the central one doing double-duty. Or, try four arches supported by seven pillars: the two-arch/three-pillar design but with a large third arch supported by two pillars right beside the outer double-arch pillars. And then a fourth arch over the third one, supported by two more pillars bracketing the third arch’s. And finally, at ground level, we get a trio of real arches and pillars, one before each door into the church. The bottom three arches actually do the work of an arch, supporting weight; the others are purely decorative. And back at top centre, within one arch high above them all: a remarkable marble sculpture of two kneeling angels worshipping the host: a stern padre is holding up an elaborate golden monstrance with rays radiating out from the host in its centre. A monstrance is a decorative objet d’art which displays the sacred host: the wafer used for Holy Communion; a monstrance with rays projecting out of it, as you see on the church facade, is called a solar monstrance. Right! So walk into the church and stare straight ahead at the fabulously beautiful altar, and what do you see smack dab in the middle of it? A real golden solar monstrance, the spitting image of the one on the facade! All this is sublimely appropriate, since the church’s name is Santisimo Sacramento: “the most holy sacrament” aka Eucharist (the other six sacraments, from baptism to extreme unction, including the matrimony those Porteños were celebrating, are santo, but not santisimo; see Facade and Monstrance photos).

Interior: what you immediately notice is how light it is, thanks to all those windows (see Interior photo). That photo also gives a hint of the transept, off to the left. The nave is bright and cheerful; the aisles on either side of the nave are set off by pillars; (see Nave photo). The light beige ceiling above the nave is a rib vault (see Rib Vault photo). The elegant “second-story” galleries immediately above the aisles (called the triforium) are vaulted as well, and separated from the nave by an arcade with bright arches resting on shining black pillars. Above the triforium, the outside walls close in on the nave, so the stained glass windows at this topmost level (called the clerestory) get plenty of sunlight, another factor in the airy, bright nature of the interior. The clerestory windows continue to provide natural light throughout the nave, wrap around the transept, and then light up the ambulatory and apse (See Triforium and Clerestory photo).

The apse (the front of the church from the transept to the altar) is stunning: the stained glass is breathtaking; the altar is made of beautifully-sculpted marble of various colors, particularly white Carrera marble, the same stone that Michelangelo used for David, Moses, and the Medici Chapel. The apse also has beautiful frescos (see Apse photo). I had a telephoto lens, but I do wish I could have gotten closer. Unfortunately, the only circumstance where it’s proper to interrupt a wedding by running up to the altar, is if you’re the decent chap who really loves the bride, and you’ve just obtained proof that the groom who’s only after her fortune, is still legally married to a woman up in Bogota; I didn’t fit that description.

However, even way back at the stern of the SS Santisimo Sacramento, I could confirm the quality of the materials used, thanks to the side chapels (see Side Chapel photo) and the ornate craftsmanship on the wooden pulpit and confessionals, which were somewhat within line-of-sight (see Pulpit and Confessionals photos). Something as simple as the holy water font was elaborately carved and constructed from four—count ‘em—four different types of marble (see Font photo).

Saintology: A close inspection of the stained glass windows here may introduce you to quite a few saints you’ve never heard of before. Several were brand new to me, though they might be famed throughout both Spain and Latin America. For example, one window honorus St. Hermengild, an early 6th century Iberian Visigoth prince who rebelled against his father the king. He lost the war first, and his head second. Saints have associated sacred symbols (Patrick-shamrock, George-dragon, Augustine-tedious books) and Hermengild’s is a headsman’s axe: on the stained-glass window, there’s one axe in the main portrait of the saint, and another down below in a smaller vignette of his actual beheading (see Hermengild photo).

Pipes: The church’s pipe organ is a monster: French-built, with 4983 “sound tubes.” Thanks to the wedding, I got to hear the organ: it’s impressive. If you’re Catholic, I’d recommend going to Mass on some special occasion when they’re sure to be playing the organ, such as Saint Hermengild Day.

p.s. 1: One morbid reflection: you know, given what this church is made of, and when it was built, it struck me that the same Catholic Italian freighter crews that carried beautiful Carrera marble to Buenos Aires for this basilica, may have loaded up with deadly munitions to take back to Italy, for use against Catholic Austrians on the Isonzo Front. Argentina was wise to stay out of that cataclysm.

p.s. 2: After writing the above, I scanned other TA reviews. Apparently this church is a popular tour stop (I can see why). Some reviewers state that this is a cathedral, where the current Pope Francis presided, and where José de San Martin’s tomb is located. It’s a minor basilica, not a cathedral. Pope Francis might very well have had some connection with Santisima Sacramento at some point in his career, but once he became archbishop of Buenos Aires, his official seat would have been the Metropolitan Cathedral. José de San Martin’s tomb is in the Cathedral, not here, though it’s squirrelled away even there, for theological reasons. (Francisco Pizarro’s is proudly displayed in Lima’s cathedral, but Pizarro was never a Freemason.)
Written March 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Flavia L
Buenos Aires, Argentina33 contributions
Beutiful church
Feb 2020
It is the most beautiful church in the city with an amazing story. Important people get married there. This visit is a must....
Written March 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dez
Sunshine Coast, Australia661 contributions
Beautiful church
Feb 2020 • Couples
Very beautiful church. When you enter there are beautiful statues and stained glass throughout the church. Make sure to come. Probably not suitable for families with screaming kids.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gottagocit
Tennessee1,464 contributions
Beautiful Basilica
Jan 2020
What a quiet peaceful and beautiful place in the middle on the chaos of the city. Wonderful carvings again glass windows are everywhere. There are several gorgeous chapels along the sides of the main hall. Definitely a must see when visiting Buenos Aires.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ntee6603
Sarasota, FL175 contributions
So many beautiful pieces of art, carvings,sculptures, Carrara marbles and a grand organ
Jan 2020
Not to be missed on a visit to this beautiful city, Buenos Aires, this church represented the opulence and the wealth of the aristocrat-owner, Mercedes C. de Anchorena, who got her wish to be buried in the crypt. Her constant struggle with another wealthy lady, Ms Covina Kavanagh who missed becoming her daughter-in-law, was a subject of legend of missed opportunity and revenge,
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

perthguy6
Perth, Australia206 contributions
Changing of the Guard!
Jan 2020
As an avid traveller, if a Country has a changing of the guard I love to watch it and on the occasion of this stunning church I followed the Guards from the Presidential Pink Palace to the Tomb of San Martin which is inside the Church. I dont know of many guards that watch over a tomb in a church so I think that is quite unique. Beautiful church and lots to look at but try to time it for changing of the guard as well!
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 292
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento

We recommend booking Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 4 Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento: View all restaurants near Basílica del Santísimo Sacramento on Tripadvisor