We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: R44 | De Zalze Winelands Golf Estate, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number: +27-21-880-7300
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 134 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Inland Golf

A good inland course in the wine area. Course was extremely busy and play was quite slow until they sent a marshal out after we complained at the turn. It helped somewhat. The... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2016
Harry S
,
Austin, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

A good inland course in the wine area. Course was extremely busy and play was quite slow until they sent a marshal out after we complained at the turn. It helped somewhat. The course itself was a fair test required good positioning, It was in good but not great condition. Some of the views of the surrounding mountains were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Harry S
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Harry. Thanks for visiting our course and your input. We apologise for the fact that our course is not in the exact tip top condition we aspire to due to the fact that we are reshaping our bunkers and teeboxes and upgrading our irrigation system etc. This always results in less than satisfactory conditioning at times, however we know... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

I was with the group from Australia in March. To say our golf game was ruined by bad course management and really bad customer service is an understatement. There was no apology, understanding or any empathy for their stuff up of allowing 30 children play in front of us (we had booked nearly 8 months beforehand). A beautiful course with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey S
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsey. Please refer to the response to both Jene and Ian's reviews...surprisingly very similar to yours. You are attempting to use TA to besmirch our hard earned good reputation simply because your group failed to follow golf etiquette and refused to play behind some members with children. We see that you have registered on TA and have a history... More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

We travelled from Australia with a group and booked our round of golf many many months in advance and teed off the first at the allocated time. However, De Zalze had also booked a large group of kids off the tenth (great to see kids enjoying golf) which meant that we were held up so much that our game had... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Jene6
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Jene. Please refer our response to Ian below. We have a great reputation built up over the past 10 years and will continue to provide a superior level of friendly service to all golfers visiting DZGC. Thank you DZGC. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Played with a group and had 30 or more children start on the 10th (great to see the kids playing golf BUT) meant the round strretched to over 5.5 hours part of group were not able to complete round without any acknowlegment by pro shop they made a mistake with tee times, no apology just dismissed with arrogance. When you... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ianmct
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thanks for your input. What you have failed to do is to state that despite the juniors playing within the time limits provided (and under member supervision) your fourball decided to break golf etiquette and take the law into your own hands, simply because you didnt want to play behind children! You skipped certain holes and subsequently failed... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

The course is typically in very good condition and is cared for really well. Holes are designed to make players think a bit, rather than to just hammer a driver and then play a short iron in. High handicappers may struggle a bit as accuracy in shot making is essential.

Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaZorro
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Course is always in an excellent condition and the views from most greens picture perfect. It is often windy when playing here which makes it much more challenging than on a normal sunny day

Helpful?
Thank Lourens B
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Hi Lourens. Thanks for your kind review, we hope to continue meeting and exceeding your expectations. I was interested to read you wind comments as we don't get the south easter here at DZGC (the prevailing wind in the Cape)...or it may get to about a 1 club wind when its a 5 club wind elsewhere :)...we are lucky to... More 

Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

This must be one of the best courses with a very relaxed atmosphere for locals and guests. After a mediocre round we settled in the clubhouse for post round drinks. We were made feel very welcome even though none of us were members here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan V
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks Johan. We are extremely pleased that we continue to meet your expectations over time and hope to keep on improving. Hope to catch up one day soon. Kind regards, Dave More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Challenging and beautifully presented golf course with spectacular views. Club house staff and pro shop very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew. It is always a pleasure to obtain good unsolicited feedback which always energises the whole staff team. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks, Dave More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

This is probably one of the courses in the Cape that I will come back to each time I visit. Booked by e-mail and had quick feedback on both requesting tee time and rental clubs. Arrived the morning and quickly assisted with the necessary clubs. Nicely laid out driving range and putting green. Condition of the course was excellent with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Oiltraveller
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

We really appreciate the detailed review of your visit to our golf club, your observations are most helpful. At the time you visited we were busy with our new Hunter irrigation installation and now with summer here and everything blooming, the course and surrounds are at their best, especially the greens :) We hope to see you again on your... More 

Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Played the course in December 2015 and enjoyed it. Beautiful setting and course in good condition. Were impressed by the clubhouse, halfway restaurant and the general level of the whole golf estate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph H

Travelers who viewed De Zalze Golf Club also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zalze Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Zalze Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?