We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Even in the rain it was good!

We had already visited Kirstenbosch in Cape Town and been disappointed that there wasn't much in... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
banstead
,
Reigate, United Kingdom
Peace & Solitude!

It was our first time in the Botanical Gardens for our family photoshoot. We had an amazing time... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Aehrintyler13
,
Western Cape, South Africa
Read all 621 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“bonsai trees” (33 reviews)
“water lilies” (17 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had already visited Kirstenbosch in Cape Town and been disappointed that there wasn't much in flower (being winter) so had no great expectation for this one. But with the cheap admission we thought it worth a look, even though it was pouring with rain....More

Thank banstead
Reviewed 6 days ago

It was our first time in the Botanical Gardens for our family photoshoot. We had an amazing time, the kids loved seeing all the different plants and trees and loved being able to walk on the different pathways and playing hide and seek. We will...More

Thank Aehrintyler13
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome family outing, had lovely lunch at the Katjiepiering Restaurant. Definitely recommend it. Entrance fee was only minimal

Thank fhdhdbdj
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A definite place to go for bonsai tree lovers - I have never seen so many in one place. Very reasonable entry fee allows you to wander around the gardens at leisure. We went in winter but still plenty to see and a nice escape...More

2  Thank BWM505
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely Botanical Garden in the middle in the old town area of Stellenbosch.Its only R10 to enter and has different garden themes .Its a small scale Kirstenbosch with nursery and shop.And hidden cafe in the "rainforest".

1  Thank Mike_G6308
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A small well kept garden with an excellent restaurant great for an afternoon visit if staying in Stellenbosch. Numerous bonsai trees. Very good value considering the small admission fee and partial refund at the restaurant.

1  Thank Phillip A
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We visited in SA's winter, but can imagine it is a haven to go to when it is hotter. It certainly was idyllic when we visited on a sunny, crisp, winter morning. Has a cafe and really easy to walk around (I would say that...More

1  Thank Maddie P
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

I went there with my fiancé. I expected plants and trees but never thought i would see so many bonsai trees. Instantly happy. The bonsai's alone was worth it.

1  Thank 771willemb
Reviewed June 29, 2017

A lovely place to escape to for a while. Tranquil and beautifully maintained. Worth a visit, even a short one.

Thank Beverly S
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Then it gardens in stellenbosch are a gorgeous maze of indigenous plants that have been immaculately kept and signed so that visitors can learn all about the nature that thrives in our country. If you're a bonsai lover, a trip to the bonsai garden is...More

1  Thank caebae_v
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
767 reviews
.21 miles away
Fat Butcher
345 reviews
.08 miles away
Basic Bistro
634 reviews
.21 miles away
De Warenmarkt
79 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
268 reviews
.13 miles away
Stellenbosch University
117 reviews
.34 miles away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
14 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
March 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
February 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
December 30, 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes