We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: R301 Wemmershoek Drive | (Exit 59, N1 north towards Paarl), Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 21 867 8000
Website
Description:

Nestled in the beautiful Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, 35min from Cape Town and...

Nestled in the beautiful Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, 35min from Cape Town and surrounded by majestic mountains, lies Pearl Valley at Val de Vie Estate, South Africa's top residential estate. Pearl Valley boasts, among numerous other facilities, an iconic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, named the Best Conditioned course in the Western Cape for 2010, 2011, 2012/2013 and again for 2014/2015 by Golf Digest Magazine and awarded the Compleat Golfer's Five Star Experience Award for six consecutive years. Pearl Valley is distinguished as the epitome of golf and luxury living that allow for peace of mind and unforgettable experiences. Come home to Pearl Valley where you truly can 'Live,Play, Relax'.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 73 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Great gold and views

Wonderful views from all of the course here. I happened to have an all right day with the sticks but still managed to lose a few balls. Come well prepared. Watty

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2016
Watty5657
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The self catering lodges were awesome for our traveling group of 20 golfers. The lodges were will equipped. The golf course was in superb condition even during winter. The lodges however requested additional money to clean the lodges R400 (per chalet per day,which is excessive after already spending so much money on the lodges themselves). There was also additional costs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kumara C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

Golf corse is great. The accommodation and set up of the individual Lodges are great also. Cannot be faulted. I'm BUT BEWARE (1) no internet in Lodges. After complaining I was handed a "dongle". A device which requires to be pre-paid with a data provider and which offers sketchy wifi (at best); (2) visitors cannot use the on-site gym; (3)... More 

Helpful?
Thank InnesMackay
Pearlvalley, Manager at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Innes Thank you for your compliments about Pearl Valley. Your concerns about the availability of Wi-Fi in the lodge is duly noted. The lodges which you are referring to, are owned by individual owners who use their discretion whether to have internet or not. There is however Wi-Fi in our Club House which our guests may use. The gym,... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

We were allowed to play on club Championship Day - fantastic golf course, beautifully set-up, and with club championship pin positions- awesome. Wonderful layout - every hole presents a different challenge - terrifyingly quick greens and horrendous bunkers. I had one experience I wasn't expecting - a meeting with a Cape Cobra in the rough! I declared the ball lost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Pearlvalley, Public Relations Manager at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Sounds like you had a thrilling experience on course and we hope to welcome you back soon for another round! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit to Pearl Valley. Kind regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
661 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Wonderful views from all of the course here. I happened to have an all right day with the sticks but still managed to lose a few balls. Come well prepared. Watty

Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Gorgeous estate, picture perfect, amazing golf course, staff and surrounds. However, be patient at the restaurant as the food & service does not seem on par as the rest of the facilities. Very international. Good wine choices. Simple menu and slow service as a whole. Not a lot for young children to do, apart form the most amazing swimming pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandiceLink
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful Jack Nicklaus golf course that's manicured and well presented. A good challenge for all golfers if you play it off the right tee for your handicap. I was paired with three 1-2 handicap Austrian golfers, one of whom had won his national amateur championship 19 times! They played off the back pegs and myself off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robsski
Sussex
Level Contributor
214 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016

This is a good golf course but with lots of hazards - bunkers and water so pack some balls! The course was well kept and is enjoyable with a nice clubhouse. A buggy may not be necessary but was worth it on a hot day.

Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

This is really a very nice golfing experience and no doubt a very aspiring golf estate to be a member of. The golf course is a great test of skill (and would be after hosting some SA Open's) and thankfully it has various tee positions for everyone's enjoyment. The views are great, the layout is flowing, condition is very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank GolfnutEves
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Firstly, this is the first time I'm writing a negative review. We were so disappointed last night and if it was not for the exceptional service we've received from Jo-Anne our waitress we would've walked out. The chef, Juan thinks he's Gordon Ramsay (overheard him screaming to one of his staff) and he was just outright rude to my husband.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Pearlvalley, Manager at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Sharon We apologize for your experience on this occasion, which is not in keeping with our standards. The matter was at the time promptly dealt with our relevant staff. Thank you for complementing our colleague Jo-Anne and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed the sole. Kind regards Ruan Olivier Pearl Valley F&B Manager More 

Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

Very nice parkland course in excellent condition, the holes were interesting, challenging, but very playable as you'd expect from a Jack Nicklaus course, with great views to the Simonsberg mountains. Unlike some golf estates, the properties never intrude on the course and definitely, worth a round if your in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Brian S

Travelers who viewed Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?