We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springtide Sailing Charters

Features Animals
Waterfront Drive | The Waterfront Knysna Quays, Knysna 6571, South Africa
+27 44 382 0321
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful cruise

We booked the sunset cruise and were lucky that the weather allowed us to go through the Heads... read more

Reviewed January 6, 2017
Kerstin Z
,
Pretoria, South Africa
Sunset sailing; Must do once visiting Knysna

My friend and I booked a sunset sailing trip of 2.5 hours. We were really looking forward to this... read more

Reviewed December 9, 2016
marianneNL85
,
Haarlem, The Netherlands
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Springtide Charters offers exclusive sailing charters aboard a sleek, custom built 50ft mono-hull yacht called 'The Outeniqua'. Cruises depart daily (weather permitting) from the popular Knysna Waterfront find our Yacht moored in the waterfront next to our brightly painted lighthouse kiosk and ticket office. After exiting the quays our yacht sets sail across the expansive Knysna estuary and out to into the ocean through the Knysna Heads. We sail parallel to the beautifully rugged Knysna coastline and depending on the sailing conditions we either head east towards the Noetzie area or west towards the Buffalo Bay area. The thrill of sailing surrounded by such show stopping scenery makes this an adventure of a lifetime.Sunset Cruises, 2,3 & 4 hour Day charters,private hire (maximum of 12 passengers).
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“sunset cruise” (11 reviews)
“man crew” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Waterfront Drive | The Waterfront Knysna Quays, Knysna 6571, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 44 382 0321
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2017

We booked the sunset cruise and were lucky that the weather allowed us to go through the Heads which is not always possible. The cruise itself was very nice and the crew friendly. However, I find it overpriced (R830.00 per person) - it included a...More

1  Thank Kerstin Z
EvelynP514, Manager at Springtide Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you for your review, we do try to offer a great experience to all our guests, the sun sets very late in December/January with the light fading only well after 8pm, we do try to adjust our departure times to the different seasons and...More

Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I booked a sunset sailing trip of 2.5 hours. We were really looking forward to this trip but unfortunately the yacht encountered some technical issues and therefore we were not able to leave the harbour. The skipper Martin and his crew worked...More

1  Thank marianneNL85
EvelynP514, Manager at Springtide Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you for the review, we are glad that we were able to rectify the problem and that you enjoyed your trip.

Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this sailing charter. It was a 2.5 hour sunset cruise. The crew was friendly and the captain knowledgeable. He gave his best effort to get us out into the Indian Ocean. The ocean is spectacular from a sail boat. We were able...More

Thank chocolatehound
EvelynP514, Manager at Springtide Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thank you for your review I am glad that you had a lovely sailing trip, we do offer on our sunset cruise only - a complementary glass of bubbly per person/ sparkling wine per person. All other drinks consumed on board is for the clients...More

Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We were spoilt to a Sunset cruise by our friends during our Honeymoon! Well all I can say is Wow wow wow. Dave and Eric you were freaking awesome! The yacht is in immaculate condition and it was a breath of fresh air on how...More

1  Thank AnchAustralia
EvelynP514, Owner at Springtide Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thank you for your kind words, we do appreciate it and will pass on to our crew Regards from a lovely warm summery Knysna!

Reviewed August 15, 2016

This is a must for every visitor to Knysna! Awesome experience, good food, fine wine, insane views, lovely hosts!!!

Thank howzitg
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

We did the Sunset Cruise from Knysna waterfront out to the Heads and back on a Sunday evening. We wondered whether we'd have to lend a hand with the sailing at any point, but thankfully we could just sit and relax! It was a relatively...More

Thank wings_18
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were joined by another two holiday makers for a sunset cruise through the Heads of Knysna. Not sailed before and the whole experience was an adventure in the safe hands of the Captain and his one-man crew. On returning through the...More

Thank keitharmstrong
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

We went out on sunset cruise from Knysna Quays into the Indian ocean. The cruise itself was amazing seeing the sights, the staff and especially our Skipper for the day, David was very friendly, skilled and knowledgeable about the area. Champagne and a beautiful platter...More

1  Thank Landi J
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Awesome experience! My wife and enjoyed it. The crew was so friendly and informative. My wife was so scared but the skipper calmed her nerves by telling us his experiences. Will definitely go back.

Thank Lydon L
Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

What an amazing experience. We went on the sunset romantic sailing option which included a Mediterranean platter and champagne. This was superb for a honeymoon couple! The yacht was gorgeous sailed by experienced, professional skippers. We were able to go out to sea which was...More

Thank Jenna K
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Le Maquis
391 reviews
.36 miles away
Freshline Fisheries
952 reviews
.28 miles away
Ile de Pain
752 reviews
.42 miles away
Anchorage Restaurant
758 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Featherbed Nature Reserve
942 reviews
.31 miles away
Shuttle Travel and Events
14 reviews
.47 miles away
Jandreart Studio
44 reviews
.36 miles away
Old Gaol and Art Gallery
12 reviews
.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Springtide Sailing Charters staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit