Jewel Africa

Jewel Africa, Cape Town Central: Hours, Address, Jewel Africa Reviews: 4/5

Speciality & Gift Shops • Lessons & Workshops
Read more
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Jewel Africa and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Schotsche Kloof
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
42 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
11
Average
5
Poor
1
Terrible
4

Freedom690667
1 contribution
My daughter and I visited Jewel Africa on a Friday afternoon. We both saw something we wanted to purchase. My daughter chose a ring but it was too big. We were leaving Cape Town on the Monday afternoon. The ring was ready on the Monday morning cut to size. I wanted to purchase a Salvation cross made by a local artist. The shop had sold the last one. We were returning from safari on the Thursday to spend one night in Cape Town. Not only had the shop contacted the artist and had another one made but delivered the cross to our hotel on the Thursday evening! Vanessa Bird you are a star!! We have never had service like it. I would recommend Jewel Africa to anyone.
Written January 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

POOHBEAR60
Horsham, UK52 contributions
Couples
My wife and I first visited Jewel Africa on the recommendation of a local, who was advising a couple on our group trip on the best place to source an engagement ring. When we visited in 2010, we met a relatively new employee named Maria, who helped us with our first purchase. We received friendly help and advice without any pressure to buy - and it is this approach that has underpinned our return visits (and subsequent purchases) almost every year since this date. We always ask for Maria, who has never failed to find high quality products, competitively priced and within our budget. Jewel Africa provides a relaxing environment in which to enjoy a wide choice of beautiful diamond, tanzanite and other jewellery - with the freedom to explore what suits the individual - both aesthetically and financially. There is also the option to see an informative presentation on how the jewellery is crafted. As frequent travellers to Cape Town for holidays, we are aware that there are many shops selling jewellery in the ‘tourist’ areas - but we have always found that the high quality products, warm and friendly service, competitive pricing and no pressure to buy are the reasons why Jewel Africa is our preferred destination store.
Written February 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

travcaine
Johannesburg, South Africa94 contributions
Couples
This is one of the stops on the Red City Tour Bus and it was on of the best.
There is a free tour and speech about how diamonds are made and every step of the process, this is very interesting to hear.
Written November 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Auristela E
4 contributions
Couples
Bought a pendant and ring with an over 1 carat tanzanite. They had to resize the ring. So we returned after lunch to pick it up trusting this place. Later, when we examined the ring and pendant stones together we see a complete different quality on the brilliancy and colors of both stones. I sent an email questioning that and they tried to tell me something else and ignored any emails afterwards. No responsibility and they do not care!!! I would NOT Recommend this place to ANYONE especially a tourist as they know the person would leave the country and would not notice any changes on stones.
Written March 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

F S
Vancouver, Canada341 contributions
Family
The free tour about the Diamond mining process is quite short. They have nice product but it seemed like the staff were unwilling to help our group, despite multiple parties being interested in purchasing. Not only was staff hard to track down, their selection was extremely limited to choose from. Considering they are a retailer visited by what seems like a number of tour groups, it was a disappointing and a little shocking that they did not have a good selection nor stock of basic items such as chains.

For a jewelry retailer that sells precious gems, the service and selection was appalling, especially considering customers are there to spend hundreds, if not thousands of dollars on an item.
Written July 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi F S. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not completely thrilled with your trip to Jewel Africa, but we appreciate you letting us know your thoughts and allowing us the opportunity to the address the points you have raised. Since your review, we have taken the time to look into each point individually and assess what we can improve to ensure we only offer the best experience possible. We are sorry you felt the diamond talk was a bit on the short side. It is always a challenge to ensure that we are able to time the talk to be concise and remain interesting, without going on too long. Our staff are available to talk through more of the interesting story of diamonds and gemstones when requested. We have made an effort to make it more clear to visitors that this is an option. We are very glad that the content was interesting and that you would have liked it to be longer. With regard to the stock level at the time of your visit. I believe we were in the middle of a revamp of the showroom, which was the reason for the construction sheeting covering certain areas of the store and coffee bar. Due to the movement of cabinets, we did not have all of our stock out on display, which is why the selection may have been sparse in certain ranges. We are sorry you didn't get the chance to find something to take home. If you are still looking for something we would be more than happy to do anything we can to find and deliver an article to you with a discount. Regarding the sales-staff: We pride ourselves in not being a 'hard-selling' environment. We want our guests to share in the love of African Diamonds, Gemstones and Jewellery, without sales-people pushing aggressively for purchases. It's part of the magic that got us to be South Africa's most loved Diamond and Jewellery experience. Having that said, we have taken your review of the staff most seriously and have been redoubling our efforts to make sure that our sales team are more available to customers, such as yourselves in the future. Thank you again for your review. We appreciate any information that can help us improve our experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there is anything further we can do. Kind regards, The Jewel Africa Team.
Written September 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Samah A
107 contributions
Solo
Good demonstration on how they shape diamonds , only for rich heavy pocket people, 😅
There is other gems to buy and silver
Written March 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sarc1
New York City, NY259 contributions
Solo
Went here based on recommendation from the hotel and from the Hop On and Hop Off tour-looking for a nice piece of jewelry. I ended up buying a pair of Tanzanite earrings and a pendant. I paid more than I wanted but it was more affordable than what I looked at a shop on the Waterfront. The salesperson was very nice and professional. I really don't know the monetary value of Tanzanite, so I have no idea if I was taken over the hurdles but I feel good I have a Tanzanite set that I like and is from Africa. I believe they give a tour about diamonds but I skipped this. After my purchase, I got a complimentary ride back to the hotel, which I thought was nice.
Written April 27, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

islandgirl_bg_fl
North Port, FL93 contributions
Couples
Our guide took us here after a rainy wine tasting day. Probably best not to go after several glasses of wine but we totally enjoyed our shopping spree. The sales people were knowledgable and seemed to enjoy their jobs, which was sharing beautiful jewelry with the visitors. We had not planned on purchasing but boy am I glad we did.
Written August 17, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MsKiesha
Alexandria, VA2,289 contributions
We had a great presentation through the entire process of how diamonds are made and then we browsed through the beautiful showcase!
Written April 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gerry C
York, UK342 contributions
Staff very friendly and extremely honest. The honesty came to the fore when they advised me to buy an item quoted by another jewellery company and also from a mix up with a pair of earrings.
The quality of the products on sale are of a very high standard and would recommend with hesitation.
Written January 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 33
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jewel Africa

Jewel Africa is open:
  • Sun - Sun 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
  • Sat - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Jewel Africa tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 3 Jewel Africa tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Jewel Africa: View all restaurants near Jewel Africa on Tripadvisor