Jewel Africa
Speciality & Gift ShopsLessons & Workshops
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
About
Embark on an amazing and informative experience with a 10-20 minute tour through the Jewel Africa showroom and factory. Witness the mesmerizing jewelry-making process live, as skilled craftsmen and women bring stunning pieces to life from design to manufacture, polish, and final setting. Jewel Africa boasts an impressive collection of loose diamonds, tanzanite, African jewelery, colored stones, and fine jewelry, perfect for anyone looking to create a one-of-a-kind piece. Whether you are interested in exquisite jewelry, gemstones, or loose diamonds, our showroom has something for everyone. For our international guests, we offer services in German and French, ensuring a comfortable and comprehensive experience for those who prefer these languages. Collections can be arranged for guests.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Jewel Africa and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Schotsche Kloof
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles44 reviews
Excellent
22
Very good
11
Average
5
Poor
1
Terrible
5

Auristela E
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 • Couples
Bought a pendant and ring with an over 1 carat tanzanite. They had to resize the ring. So we returned after lunch to pick it up trusting this place. Later, when we examined the ring and pendant stones together we see a complete different quality on the brilliancy and colors of both stones. I sent an email questioning that and they tried to tell me something else and ignored any emails afterwards. No responsibility and they do not care!!! I would NOT Recommend this place to ANYONE especially a tourist as they know the person would leave the country and would not notice any changes on stones.
Written March 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

F S
Vancouver, Canada323 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Family
The free tour about the Diamond mining process is quite short. They have nice product but it seemed like the staff were unwilling to help our group, despite multiple parties being interested in purchasing. Not only was staff hard to track down, their selection was extremely limited to choose from. Considering they are a retailer visited by what seems like a number of tour groups, it was a disappointing and a little shocking that they did not have a good selection nor stock of basic items such as chains.

For a jewelry retailer that sells precious gems, the service and selection was appalling, especially considering customers are there to spend hundreds, if not thousands of dollars on an item.
Written July 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi F S. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not completely thrilled with your trip to Jewel Africa, but we appreciate you letting us know your thoughts and allowing us the opportunity to the address the points you have raised. Since your review, we have taken the time to look into each point individually and assess what we can improve to ensure we only offer the best experience possible. We are sorry you felt the diamond talk was a bit on the short side. It is always a challenge to ensure that we are able to time the talk to be concise and remain interesting, without going on too long. Our staff are available to talk through more of the interesting story of diamonds and gemstones when requested. We have made an effort to make it more clear to visitors that this is an option. We are very glad that the content was interesting and that you would have liked it to be longer. With regard to the stock level at the time of your visit. I believe we were in the middle of a revamp of the showroom, which was the reason for the construction sheeting covering certain areas of the store and coffee bar. Due to the movement of cabinets, we did not have all of our stock out on display, which is why the selection may have been sparse in certain ranges. We are sorry you didn't get the chance to find something to take home. If you are still looking for something we would be more than happy to do anything we can to find and deliver an article to you with a discount. Regarding the sales-staff: We pride ourselves in not being a 'hard-selling' environment. We want our guests to share in the love of African Diamonds, Gemstones and Jewellery, without sales-people pushing aggressively for purchases. It's part of the magic that got us to be South Africa's most loved Diamond and Jewellery experience. Having that said, we have taken your review of the staff most seriously and have been redoubling our efforts to make sure that our sales team are more available to customers, such as yourselves in the future. Thank you again for your review. We appreciate any information that can help us improve our experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there is anything further we can do. Kind regards, The Jewel Africa Team.
Written September 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

travcaine
Johannesburg, South Africa93 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2017 • Couples
This is one of the stops on the Red City Tour Bus and it was on of the best.
There is a free tour and speech about how diamonds are made and every step of the process, this is very interesting to hear.
Written November 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Samah A
107 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2017 • Solo
Good demonstration on how they shape diamonds , only for rich heavy pocket people, 😅
There is other gems to buy and silver
Written March 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarc1
New York City, NY252 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2016 • Solo
Went here based on recommendation from the hotel and from the Hop On and Hop Off tour-looking for a nice piece of jewelry. I ended up buying a pair of Tanzanite earrings and a pendant. I paid more than I wanted but it was more affordable than what I looked at a shop on the Waterfront. The salesperson was very nice and professional. I really don't know the monetary value of Tanzanite, so I have no idea if I was taken over the hurdles but I feel good I have a Tanzanite set that I like and is from Africa. I believe they give a tour about diamonds but I skipped this. After my purchase, I got a complimentary ride back to the hotel, which I thought was nice.
Written April 27, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

islandgirl_bg_fl
North Port, FL87 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Couples
Our guide took us here after a rainy wine tasting day. Probably best not to go after several glasses of wine but we totally enjoyed our shopping spree. The sales people were knowledgable and seemed to enjoy their jobs, which was sharing beautiful jewelry with the visitors. We had not planned on purchasing but boy am I glad we did.
Written August 17, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MsKiesha
Alexandria, VA2,759 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2017
We had a great presentation through the entire process of how diamonds are made and then we browsed through the beautiful showcase!
Written April 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gerry C
York, UK324 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2016
Staff very friendly and extremely honest. The honesty came to the fore when they advised me to buy an item quoted by another jewellery company and also from a mix up with a pair of earrings.
The quality of the products on sale are of a very high standard and would recommend with hesitation.
Written January 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karolyn G
Guernsey, UK62 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2015
I was so pleased to visit this establishment, I didn't intend to buy anything but relented, and have now a lovely ring, the staff were so helpful, but not at all pushy.
Written October 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sue P
Suffolk, UK24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019
We like to bring some jewellery home from countries we visit and Jewel Africa was recommended to us. A car was sent to our hotel to collect us and take us to Jewel Africa for a wonderful experience. We were looked after by Vanessa Bird who was very knowledgeable, we never felt pressured into buying anything, but of course we did. She also recommended a diamond and setting for an engagement ring which our son had asked us to look at. On returning to our hotel we had numerous phone calls with our son which resulted in another visit to Vanessa to purchase the diamond engagement ring which I am pleased to say was loved by everyone.
Written October 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 32
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Jewel Africa - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town Central
All things to do in Cape Town Central
Day Trips in Cape Town Central
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars