Fly Cape Town Paragliding
Fly Cape Town Paragliding
5
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
We offer tandem paragliding flights in Cape Town, South Africa from Lions head and Signal Hill. We also do Paragliding Training Courses, Guiding, Equipment Sales and Safety Training.
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Fly Cape Town Paragliding
Travelers talk about
(112 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles520 reviews
Excellent
455
Very good
45
Average
12
Poor
3
Terrible
5

Ilkleygirl
Ilkley, UK2,207 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
Fantastic experience
2nd time of paragliding off Signal Hill and it’s awesome !
Amazing experience along with fantastic friendly staff make you feel at ease.
Already looking forward to next years visit and we can fly again .
Thanks again
Caroline, Guy & Andrew
Written January 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TheBlackSheepGroup
22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Couples
The flight (I think we can call it that) was amazing and the sympathy, kindness and professionalism of the whole team was awesome. It was my first time doing paragliding and I can tell you: they made it so easy and safe, that now I'm a fan!
Written May 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear TheBlackSheepGroup, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We really appreciate the kind words. It is reviews like yours that inspire us to work even harder to ensure that we deliver the highest levels of customer service and overall experience with Fly Cape Town Paragliding. Kind regards, The Fly Cape Town Team
Written May 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ElaineKH
Dublin, Ireland42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2015 • Family
Fantastic company, really professional, make you feel so safe and make the flight fun aswell. Would def recommend fly Capetown Paragliding. And they give you a free hug when you land 😊
Written January 11, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We had heaps of fun flying with you as well. It really puts smiles on our faces when you get such positive feedback from our clients. We look forward to sharing the Cape Town skies with you again soon, hugs included!!! The Fly Cape Town Paragliding Team
Written January 13, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt H
Cincinnati, OH27 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2015 • Family
I want to start out letting everyone know that I do not take giving bad reviews lightly. If you read through my others, you will see that I have only one. Unfortunately, this needs to be done after my experience with this company.

We were going to be in Cape Town for 11 days in March and were looking for adventurous things to do with our family. Paragliding was definitely on the top of the list. After researching, we settled on Fly Cape Town Paragliding. The website looked nice and they said all the right things, so we decided to book with them.

After the booking was made, we received a confirmation email that included payment terms, our flight day, flight time, and a link to cancel if we needed to. They asked you give 24 hours notice.

Upon arriving in Cape Town, some things happened out of our control and we knew we would be unable to make our scheduled day. I followed the cancellation link to cancel our booking. I did this giving them a full two days notice. I re-booked on the website for the day before our original booking. With that booking, I also included a note saying that our cell phones did not work in Cape Town. If they needed to contact us, please call the hotel (I provided the name, phone number, and even the room number) or by email.

One hour before we were to fly, we had not heard from them. I decided to call them to confirm if flight conditions were right to fly. Good thing I did, because the days flights were cancelled. Not a big deal. I explained to the gentleman on the phone what I had explained when we booked (no working cell phone in Cape Town). I told him my name and again the contact information, then told him I would re-book online for another day.

This is where the major problems begin. The day we originally booked for, that we cancelled, our family was out on another activity. When we came back to the hotel that evening, I checked my email to find a very nasty note from the company. They wanted to thank me for wasting their time and a bunch of other highly negative things. I was floored and angry. We cancelled that booking online by the given link and instructions they provided. I sent a response explaining the situation while staying calm. The response I received was almost unreal, it was my fault. He then proceed to say that they were sorry for my mistake and other unprofessional comments.

The link they gave me only cancelled one person, not all three. When I booked, I received one confirmation email and one cancellation link, not three. I asked him to please explain that and how it was my fault (he never addressed that). I also added that in no way as a business owner would I ever treat a customer like that and continue to blame them for my mistake. The response I received was the most pompous and arrogant thing I have ever read. I will give you the highlights, and these are actual quotes. "It's your fault", "We do not operate like a normal business where the customer is right", "You wasted our time", "We don't need your business", "We know the truth will always show who's wrong", "We understand that there was a misunderstanding on your part".

I'll leave out all of the personal attacks, as I am sure you already get the point. I responded one last time to his email. I explained to him that I can see that he is the kind of person who has to get the last word in and that I would no longer reply to his messages. Of course, he responded once again with more attacks.

We chose another company, there are a bunch out there, and had an amazing experience. They were quick to respond and knew how to follow directions in contacting us. I would mention the companies name, but I feel that to be inappropriate in this review. If you are interested, you can read my other reviews and find the name.

If anyone has doubts about my claims, please private message me. I have kept all of the emails as proof and would have no problem forwarding them to you.

Ask yourself this question, is it worth it to book with them? When we are talking about something as important as your safety in an activity like this, why take a chance? There are much better options out there. What happens if something goes wrong, do you really want to deal with someone like this telling you it's your fault and avoiding responsibility at all costs?
Written April 12, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi itsnevercoldthere Thank you for taking the time to review our services. It is a real pity that we never got to meet you and share the Cape Town skies with you. I have decided to post all correspondence of what exactly happened here in order for everyone to see what actually happened. I can understand that you were upset about me saying that you wasted our time and I hope that you still enjoyed your time here in Cape Town. I was really upset as well as we never received any email from you and said No to a lot of potential clients on a perfect weather day for flying. Please see all correspondence below : We wrote: Hi, We noticed that you have made another booking for tomorrow. We waited for you on the mountain today and tried calling you but your phone kept going to voice-mail. We do not appreciate you wasting our time. Regards, They wrote: Stephan, I'm not really sure why you are upset with us and have that tone. We cancelled that booking with the link that was provided in your original confirmation email on the evening of March 23. If you will look, you will see that not only did we do that, but we rebooked for the day before (Tuesday March 24 at 12:00). That reservation was cancelled by you because of weather. I called one hour before flight time as suggested by your email to confirm. The gentleman I spoke with said they sent us a text message saying it was cancelled due to strong winds. I at that point even told him we didn't have phones here in South Africa. Furthermore, I also sent your company an email explaining that we did not have a phone that works in the country and if the flight would be cancelled to please advise us by email or phone at the hotel, which I provided. I can resend you that email as proof if you like. I'm not sure how to feel about your email. We want to paraglide with you tomorrow, but I am unsure if that is wise due to the scathing email you sent to us. Please advise. We wrote: Hi, You only cancelled one booking. The other two was still booked. We tried to contact you several times today as well as sent you an email but had no response from you. I'm sorry you feel that my email is scathing, unfortunately we felt let down by you not showing up or at least letting us know that you are not coming. I had two pilots booked to do your flights today and you wasted their time on the mountain for an hour when they could have accommodated other people in that time slot. We can accept that it may have been a misunderstanding from your side when you cancelled only one booking in stead of all three. We understand if you would prefer to use another company. Regards, They wrote: I'm not sure what you are talking about? If you are referring to cancelling all three people, we only received one original confirmation email with one link, not three separate ones. That is a system error on your part, not mine. That is what I used to cancel the bookings. If you are referring to three separate reservation days, we cancelled one, you cancelled the other due to weather, and the other one is for tomorrow. You still did not address the fact that I told your company that we did not have a working cell phone here (from our hotel phone) as well as sent you an email with that same message. To blame the customer is just plain rude and unprofessional. I am a business owner as well. I would never send an email like that then follow up with another one placing blame on the customer. You have a lot to learn about how to run a business. You can expect me to pay you the same amount of respect that you have shown us on TripAdvisor. After all, that is what brought us to you. I don't want others to make the same mistake. We wrote: Hi, Thank you for threatening us with a a bad TripAdvisor review if you were the ones that did not show up for an appointment. You are welcome to leave a TripAdvisor review. We know that the truth always shows who was wrong. The fact is you did not show up for an appointment. We did tell you that we can understand that there must have some misunderstanding from your part. You made a booking for three people yesterday. You cancelled for one person, which left another two. A simple reply on our email to you yesterday morning would have resolved all of this. This is not a normal business and will never be. We are very passionate about we do. We do not see it as a normal business. We do not think that the customer is always right. We get to share one if the most amazing experiences with people. Unfortunately we get very disappointed when we say No to other clients due to us not having space available and then our booked clients do not show up. I'm sorry you feel this way about us, if you did show up for your booking things would have been very different. I will cancel your booking for today. Kind regards, They wrote: I will let you have the lasts word, because I can see that is the kind of person you are. You keep telling me I am wrong, but you fail to address any of the things I pointed out to you that caused the error on your part. I will leave a honest review for you on TripAdvisor, that is not a threat, but a promise. Please don't forget that I have all of your condescending emails I will post as well. Instead of trying to diffuse the situation, you choose to escalate it. Now, you will loose our business and the business of many others. People take reviews very seriously and even a single negative review gives people pause and causes them to look else where. I will also seek out other review sites to share my experiences with you and your company. I hope it was worth it and hopefully you learn to value every customer as it was your last.
Written April 24, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

katie-la
sunshine coast, australia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014 • Couples
We had a great experience with Fly Cape Town. The guys were really friendly and professional, communication was easy and everything went well and on time. We were lucky to have great conditions and had an amazing flight of about 20 mins - spectacular scenery and super fun!
Written September 15, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LisaduPlessis
Cape Town, South Africa302 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013
The team at Fly Cape Town Paragliding are super friendly and professional! I loved every moment of my flight - seeing Cape Town from above while gliding through the air was an experience I will never ever forget. Thank you sooo much guys - I will definitely be back :)
Written August 8, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

StuJen_13
Edinburgh, UK78 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
Quite professional to book and deal with, was a great experience however the downside is that it is quite expensive for how long the flight actually lasts. Lasted no more than 5 minutes of flight time until landing in Sea Point. You can opt to get dropped back off at Signal Hill or stay at Sea Point which was a lot easier to pick up an Uber.
On reflection good experience, professional, but brief and expensive.
Written April 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Stujen , Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We really appreciate the kind words. Unfortunately, the length of the flights are completely dependant on the weather. We would like to invite you to come have another flight at no charge. Kind regards, The Fly Cape Town Team
Written November 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicole702808
Jacksonville, United States599 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 • Solo
In researching companies for paragliding in Cape Town, I decided to book with Fly Cape Town Paragliding.

There was no payment due at booking (received a text message confirmation for the date, time, and link to the address). Communication was quick, clear, and concise. If there are people in your group that are not participating, they can accompany you to Signal Hill, and transportation can be provided to meet at the drop-off point (they will miss your take-off, but could potentially see the landing).

The day of the flight, received a text message reminding to meet 15 minutes before the takeoff time. Upon arrival, there were several other companies that left from the same location on Signal Hill (companies took turns for take-off). There was very little wind during the morning of our flight . As a result, we were advised they were waiting for the wind to pick up, and there would be a 30 minute delay. At exactly 10:30am, we were called to begin our experience.

The tandem pilot, Zenti Bishop, set very clear expectations, had great energy, and assured me that I would have a fantastic experience. During the flight (that had perfect weather), he pointed out different landmarks, provided opportunities to take some really cool photos/videos and performed some cool “acrobatics” towards the end.

After landing, photos and video from the GoPro were uploaded to my phone. We settled the bill with the ground agent, and I purchased a t-shirt. The entire experience (check-in, flight, and check-out) took less than 15 minutes.

FYI: During flight, take full advantage of the GoPro option by capturing as much as you can.

If looking for a company for paragliding, check out Fly Cape Town Paragliding!
Written November 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Nicole C, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We really appreciate the kind words. Kind regards, The Fly Cape Town Team
Written December 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sakura27
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia62 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019 • Solo
The crew was awesome including Christa (lots of communication via whatsapp), Zenti (my pilot) and Stephan (super kindly fixed a billing issue which was not even their fault so he didn't have to!) I enjoyed the flight even though it was too short (1 min!) Indeed an awesome experience, will be back.
Written September 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Leah
Dublin, Ireland58 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Friends
I didn't think it would be so relaxing just running off a hill to float over a city! I was a little nervous when I arrived but you literally just have to run a few steps and then the pilot does the rest of the work. We flew for around 15 minutes due to good winds. The views from Signal Hill down to the coast are beautiful. I'd definitely go paragliding again.
Written March 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear 755leahj, Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We really enjoyed sharing the Cape Town skies with you and really appreciate the kind words!!! Kind regards, The Fly Cape Town Team
Written May 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 487

Fly Cape Town Paragliding - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town Central
All things to do in Cape Town Central
Day Trips in Cape Town Central
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars