We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shark & Safari - Day Tours

Features Animals
Cape Town Central, South Africa
More
About Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Shark & Safari specialises in wild life & adventure tours, specifically the Great White Shark cage diving & viewing tours as well as the unique Cape Safari near Cape Town, South Africa. We have tailored each of our package tours to ensure that you experience the very best of what is on offer in Cape Town. We Guide Adventure. If you wish to do a longer safari in Southern Africa, we have many packages available that cater for most tastes and interests.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Shark & Safari - Day Tours

Full-Day Hermanus Whale Route Tour from Cape Town (Optional Whale Watching Boat)

Hit the famous Whale Route on this scenic drive along the Cape Town coast, specially designed for close-up viewing of Southern Right whales frolicking in the waters. Get up close and personal with the majestic marine mammals, traveling comfortably in a private, climate-controlled vehicle. Tours also include stops in the Harold Porter Botanical Gardens as well as Stoney Point Penguin colony, plus an optional whale watching cruise.
Read more
9 to 11 hours
from $79.24

Custom Cape Town Private Day Tour

Do you want to do your own thing? Keep your group exclusive? See or take part in a unique experience? We have the answer: Create your own itinerary! We will provide you with a qualified tour guide and an air-conditioned vehicle with 7 seats. Let us know how we can help you create the perfect tour unique to your group.

This private tour has one price based on the hire of the 7-seater Minibus with driver/guide and so is not dependent on the number of guests.

Itinerary Suggestions:

- Wine and Brandy Tours including food or chocolate pairing and scenic drives.
- Family tours to accommodate babies and seniors. Take your time and tour at your own pace. Stop whenever you like for as long as you like.
- Visit the Cape Town Stadium or take a boat trip around the V&A Waterfront.
- Animals, including World of Birds, the Two Oceans Aquarium, or penguins, lions and cheetahs.
- Wild West Coast
- Museums and galleries of your choice.
- Cape Town Beaches or shop till you drop!
Read more
9 to 12 hours
from $289.40
84Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 52
  • 11
  • 4
  • 3
  • 14
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Esther L wrote a review Mar 2020
Newquay, United Kingdom18 contributions1 helpful vote
We walked into the office on Loop Street to enquire about a morning safari accessible near to Cape Town. Andrew gave us all the information we needed and we booked there and then. We had done our homework before our trip and knew that the safaris on offer near Cape Town are more conservation game reserves rather than wild safari experiences. We decided to book The Inverdoorn Safari and we are so glad we did. The day did not disappoint. We were collected at 7am from our AirB&B in Waterkant and taken on a 3 hour drive through stunning mountain scenery which was a treat in itself. Tony our driver was entertaining and so knowledgable about the area we drove through. We arrived at Inverdoorn and we immediately boarded our safari jeep and were introduced to our guide Vanessa. The jeep had approx 12 pax and there was plenty of room for everyone. The tracks were rough but Vanessa drove the jeep very carefully which resulted in a very comfortable ride. During the 2 hour safari we were delighted and excited to see 10 different species of game. Elephants, Lions, Giraffes, Buffalo, Zebra, Wildebeest, Springboks. Oryx, White Rhino and last but not least Cheetah. We were given the opportunity to photograph all the animals we spotted and at each stop Vanessa gave us a great deal of information about each species. The animals are free to roam around the vast reserve and there is no guarantee that any will be spotted but the many trails that criss cross the reserve give the jeeps access to different angles of the habitats that increase the opportunity of seeing the animals. On our tour we got up close to most and the ones that were more elusive and therefore distant (giraffes, rhino and buffalo) were easily brought into sight using our binoculars (highly recommended that you bring some). The safari drive concluded and we were given an open air buffet lunch which was delicious. We sat under awnings looking out over the game reserve. The journey back to Cape Town took us a different route through the wine lands which was another interesting journey. Many of the vineyards were collecting their harvest and we saw lots of activity on the many vineyards we passed. All in all the trip was packed with activity and interesting facts from start to finish when we were dropped back at our door. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shark and Safari - Day Tours to anyone wishing this type of experience. We walked into the office on Bree Street to enquire about a morning safari accessible near to Cape Town. Andrew gave us all the information we needed and we booked there and then. We had done our homework before our trip and knew that the safaris on offer near Cape Town are more conservation game reserves rather than wild safari experiences. We decided to book The Inverdoorn Safari and we are so glad we did. The day did not disappoint. We were collected at 7am from our AirB&B in Waterkant and taken on a 3 hour drive through stunning mountain scenery which was a treat in itself. Tony our driver was entertaining and so knowledgable about the area we drove through. We arrived at Inverdoorn and we immediately boarded our safari jeep and were introduced to our guide Vanessa. The jeep had approx 12 pax and there was plenty of room for everyone. The tracks were rough but Vanessa drove the jeep very carefully which resulted in a very comfortable ride. During the 2 hour safari we were delighted and excited to see 10 different species of game. Elephants, Lions, Giraffes, Buffalo, Zebra, Wildebeest, Springboks. Oryx, White Rhino and last but not least Cheetah. We were given the opportunity to photograph all the animals we spotted and at each stop Vanessa gave us a great deal of information about each species. The animals are free to roam around the vast reserve and there is no guarantee that any will be spotted but the many trails that criss cross the reserve give the jeeps access to different angles of the habitats that increase the opportunity of seeing the animals. On our tour we got up close to most and the ones that were more elusive and therefore distant (giraffes, rhino and buffalo) were easily brought into sight using our binoculars (highly recommended that you bring some). The safari drive concluded and we were given an open air buffet lunch which was delicious. We sat under awnings looking out over the game reserve. The journey back to Cape Town took us a different route through the wine lands which was another interesting journey. Many of the vineyards were collecting their harvest and we saw lots of activity on the many vineyards we passed. All in all the trip was packed with activity and interesting facts. I would have no hesitation in recommending Shark and Safari - Day Tours to anyone wishing this type of experience.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew_SharkSafari, Manager at Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Thank You Esther for the great review.
Read more
Alan C wrote a review Dec 2019
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom219 contributions86 helpful votes
From the time that I booked this online in the UK to the day of the trip itself I knew I was dealing with a competent and well run organisation. We booked a private trip because we wanted to spend longer at the Harold Porter Botanical Gardens, as well as visitng the penguin colony and the whale watching at Hermaneus. Our guide. Andrew, planned the day well and even had a good knowledge of the plants at the garden. we saw many penguins and also a number of Southern Right Whales. We enjoyed lunch at a good waterfront restaurant. This is a first class operator and can be recommended for any organised tour in Cape Town.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew_SharkSafari, Manager at Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear Alan, Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your wife. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Alex J wrote a review Dec 2019
5 contributions
I booked a shark Safari with this group on November 4th. It was canceled due to bad weather and at the time I was promised a refund. Over 4- 5 weeks later I have still not received it. I would strongly advise you not to book with this tour group. Most likely you will be traveling from outside of South Africa and once they have your money, their interest in you is over and if the tour does not happen, you won’t get your money back. I have lost a lot of money, please do not let the same thing happen to you. There are plenty other reputable companies in Cape Town that will be able to provide you peace of mind.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CT_wander, General Manager at Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear Alex, This issue was resolved once you had sent us the correct bank details. Unfortunately, as your booking was not processed through our normal booking channels, there was more administration required. We encourage all our clients to pay via the payment gateway on our website. This will ensure a timeous refund in the case of poor weather. In your case, we went out of our way to accommodate you but several administration errors occurred. We are sorry we let you down.
Read more
yasser a wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
I went with my wife to this trip thinking it was a safari. I paid about 350 for each ticket trip. It took us three hour to reach the destination. When we reached the ranch, a driver took us in through a fence where there a couple disoriented animals. One fat lion that looked like a dog. Two male elephants...saw them in a far distance ...seemed like a nice gay couple. Most of the ride was spent looking dirt , rocks , and some trees..............In conclusion ...dont waste your time, go to the zoo. It is cheaper in every possible way. Plus, you see animals. Oh ..I forgot about the "lunch", i think its the Lions leftovers. Enjoy :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CT_wander, General Manager at Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear Yassra976, We are sorry that the tour did not meet your expectations. Inverdoorn is dedicated to conservation and education. As only a 10 000 hectare reserve there are limits to the carrying capacity of the land. There is actually a lot of animals on the reserve but as they are free-roaming, except for the lions, you are not able to spot them all every time. The 3 lions at the reserve were rescued from canned hunting facility and do not have developed natural instincts. T have a 1000 hectares to themselves.
Read more
tara_j93 wrote a review Sep 2019
Maroochydore, Australia39 contributions25 helpful votes
My partner and I especially decided to travel to the western cape so that we could cage dive with the great whites. We had been told by several people to make sure we book a tour that provides regulators so we can stay under the water, however it appears that most shark dive companies I’m Gangsbaai don’t do this and they use the breath hold technique. We were a little sceptical but decided to do it anyway. We originally booked this tour with Shark and Safari which had good reviews, however we somehow ended up on a tour with ‘Sharklady’. Their service was really good and they were helpful, however everything else was quite disappointing. We were taken out on a boat with roughly 18 people and put into groups. We were expecting to be able to spend a bit more time in the water than what we did. We were lucky enough to see a juvenile great white, however we spent only 20 minutes total in the cage and then spent another 2 1/2 hours sitting in the boat waiting, and watching everyone else get seasick. I a quite a small person, and I was quite disappointed that I was given a wetsuit that was way too big for me, and had holes in it. The water temperature is roughly 13° and the last thing you want is to be cold while doing this. We were also told we would be wearing a 7mm wetsuit and mine was no more than 3mm. A lot of other companies also offered weight belts, which shark lady did not. I feel like this would have made a huge difference as obviously wearing a wetsuit makes it very hard to keep yourself down there. My partner and I spend a lot of time in the ocean diving so we had pretty high expectations. We were transferred from Cape Town which is a two-three hour drive away so in total we actually spent more time driving there and back and wasted a whole day for 20 minutes of thrill. Considering we paid $250 AUD to do this, I feel like it definitely could have been better organised and we left feeling pretty ripped off.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CT_wander, General Manager at Shark & Safari - Day Tours
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Hi Tara_93, We are sorry to hear that you had a very poor trip. We have taken this issue up with Shark Lady. We have normally received great service from this partner. The dive time on the day is subject to the weather, tides and the shark sightings. Normally if all things are going well, multiple dives are possible. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Read more
Previous