We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monzi Safaris

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 81 McKenzie street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 35 590 1697
Website
Description:

Monzi Safaris is a tour operator situated in St Lucia South Africa. We...

Monzi Safaris is a tour operator situated in St Lucia South Africa. We specialize in game drives to Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve(a big five reserve)

We also offer tours to Cape Vidal,estuary cruises,birding safaris,horse riding, whale whatching and night drives.

Monzi Safaris is also the proud owner of Monzi Safaris Tented Camp. This luxury en-suite tented camp is situated right in the middle of town, surrounded by restaurants.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.28*
and up
Full-Day Hluhluwe Imfolozi Park Big Five Game Drive
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 65 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Do it

You have to get up early but it's worth it. Including (simple) breakfast and lunch (meat on brain). Nice driver Anton who knew very much about the park and animals. They pick... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ReisDNA
,
Arnhem, The Netherlands
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You have to get up early but it's worth it. Including (simple) breakfast and lunch (meat on brain). Nice driver Anton who knew very much about the park and animals. They pick you up at 5 am, back at 3 pm (1 hour drive from St. Lucia).

Helpful?
Thank ReisDNA
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review... More 

St Lucia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

When a cold day full of rain and wind ends up being successful and qualify as one of your best memories, you know something went right... Our half day Safari with Monzi Safaris was a wonderful experience right from the start. I just want to thank Monzi Safaris for their excellent tour. Me and Elne had one amazing day. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank iGwalaGwala
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Margi thank you very much for this great review... More 

Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2017

Monzi Safaris exceeded all expectations as it was the best place I've stayed in St. Lucia, an area which I have been visiting since childhood. Monzi's gives you a great experience at a very reasonable price and the staff is friendly with clean facilities. I would highly recommend booking a boat trip to view some Hippo's and crocs while you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rynie22
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying I had an excellent knowledgable guide, just the company behind him is.......When you take tours with them for a full day everyone pays the same decent amount of money. But to then put 10 people in a truck where there is just place for 9 is just screwing over someone, in this case me. When... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SvenDriessen
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you feel you were screwed over, we have since changed our policy on how many pax to carry. More 

Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
280 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Our guide pick up us on 5.00a.m at our guesthouse,about one hour drive to park's entrance,after half hour we have breakfast on picnic place,and then some few hours driving passing very beautiful scenery with many game: elephants,white rhino, giraffes, and wild dogs. About on afternoon our guide prepare for us very testy lunch,we came back to St Lucia about 3p.m

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

thank you for this great review. More 

California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2016

We booked the Cape Vidal snorkeling tour with Monzi a month before our arrival in October. They had us move our date which we did. In large part, we picked a tour because we didn't have snorkel gear nor did we know the safe places to snorkel. We made the long distance call to give our credit card details and... More 

Helpful?
Thank duncanblizzard
Avarua, null, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2016

As we arrived we were welcomed with open arms. The reception staff were amazing and extremely professional. They organised a boat cruise for us at late notice which i highly recommend, it was a great experience. After the boat cruise we drove ourselves to the boat club for dinner (recommended by Monzi) it was great to sit outside and enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016

I was looking forward to snorkeling at Cape Vidal with a guided tour. Unfortunately, as another reviewer has already mentioned, you drive for a short amount of time and then are dropped off at the beach for 3 hours to snorkel on your own. How is this a guided tour? I had a rental car and could have done this... More 

Helpful?
Thank PNWmtns
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Hi. Could you please contact me on henre@monzisafaris.com? I need to know who this guide was please? Also I would gladly refund you as I agree this is a sub-standard tour. My company policy is that my guides have to get into the water with my guests for safety reasons. If you look at other reviews we normally have good... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

Very dissapointing. You drive in the river during 2 hours. Few explanations on the animals seen. Then you stay during 3 hours by yourself at the cape vidal beach. Bbq is organised End of the activity.. Does not worth the money spent at all !

Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Please let me know when you did the drive and who your guide was...As you can see from the rest of our reviews we get very good reviews on our drives, therefore your review is of great concern to me. Please email me on henre@monzisafaris.com More 

Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2016

absolutely amazing place to visit. All the necessary shops are about 100m away from the Lodge so everything is walking distance from your rooms. Amazing service from the friendly staff and the breakfasts was awesome! You don't even do your own dishes... The beach is about 2km from the rooms and the road to the beach is safe!

Helpful?
Thank dbooysen
Henre1, Manager at Monzi Safaris, responded to this review

thank you very much for this great review... More 

Travelers who viewed Monzi Safaris also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Monzi Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monzi Safaris and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Monzi Safaris staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?