We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durban Day Safaris

Features Animals
Durban, South Africa
More
About Durban Day Safaris
Travel in and around Durban city with experienced and knowledgeable guides. We offer Big5 safaris, Durban city tours, Zulu cultural experiences and more. Collection from anywhere in Durban. Day and overnight safaris to Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park are a favorite with local and international guests. Get up close to Africa's Big5 in one the oldest and most scenic game reserves in Africa. For those wanting a safari experience closer to Durban, Tala Private Game Reserve is very popular. A Zulu cultural experience is a must when visiting the Kingdom Of The Zulu. Shakaland provides the perfect experience for guests wanting to get a proper understanding and feel for Zulu culture and tradition. A half day tour of Durban city will give one a look into what makes this city tick. Visit landmarks such as The Moses Mabhida Stadium, The Presidents House, Suncoast Beach & Casino and Wilson's Warf. Take a safari or tour with the top tour provider in Durban.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Durban Day Safaris
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
112Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hamconnie wrote a review Nov 2021
Temple Terrace, Florida2 contributions
We were scheduled for an overnight safari, but we had to cancel due to the new strain of COVID (our cruise was canceled). John Kearney of Durban Day Safaris quickly refunded our monies. We were devastated to have to cancel this wonderful safari and will book this Safari again in January 2023.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you for your review Hamconnie We were so excited to be back up and running and to take you on a safari! We will be waiting and ready to assist you with planning a safari in 2023. Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Terri B wrote a review Nov 2021
Stuart, Florida7 contributions
We booked a shore excursion from Durban for an overnight safari that allowed us to do both Hluhluwe-Imofolzi and St. Lucia wetlands croc and hippos tour PLUS an amazing cheetah experience at a cheetah preserve. John was so kind and catered to all our needs. Then Omnicron disaster and our Christmas cruise was cancelled by Norwegian. I immediately contacted Durban Day Safaris and they immediately refunded the deposit paid by all three couples in our group. You can trust this company!!! We will rebook as soon as this nightmare is over and I wouldn’t dream of using another company. John and his people will customize for you and their prices are very reasonable!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure helping to plan your safari for yourself and the rest of the tour group! Hopefully things will return to normal soon and we can get you on a safari and also have that cheetah experience;-) Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
JamesComrades wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Small group safari. Top class service. Top class guide. Very knowledgable. Accommodating our requests and what we wanted to see where possible. Booked again but unable to go due to COVID. Refunded immediately on request. Will definitely rebook. Would recommend very highly.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded Feb 23, 2021
Hi JamesComrades Thank you for your review. Unfortunately two cancelled Comrades Marathons meant you have to delay your trip to Durban for another year. Hopefully next year all will be back to normal and you and your group can take part in the marathon and take a safari with us. Kind Regards John
Read more
David D wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Paul gave us a tour in 2017 and we were just reminiscing about how great a time we had. I would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded Dec 25, 2020
Thank you for your message! Hopefully we will be able to welcome everyone back to Durban sometime in 2021. Paul and the rest of the guiding community cannot wait to start guiding again full time! Have a Merry Christmas and keep well! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Moka T wrote a review Apr 2020
Tokyo, Japan310 contributions130 helpful votes
I wanted to reserve a one-day tour that goes to two places. I found Durban Safaris’ Cheetah Encounter and Big-5 Drive, so I contacted the company and explained my situation: solo traveler on a cruise arriving in Durban with limited time. Within 10 minutes, John replied that he could arrange the tour if I found at least one more traveler, and he could customize it to fit the ship’s port times. I found other travelers on the cruise and after that John quickly made arrangements for us. I was very pleased with the prompt service and great tour that had been arranged. I was all set to go, when I unfortunately had to cancel due to COVID 19. I was so disappointed. I contacted John about the situation and as always he promptly replied and kindly set up the refund of my deposit. Going on this one-day safari is still one of my bucket-list items. When the situation normalizes and I can go to Durban, I will definitely contact John at Durban Safaris based on the prompt service, customer support, and flexibility to suit travelers’ needs. In addition, I wish the best for John and everyone at Durban Safaris during this difficult time.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DurbanSafaris, Owner at Durban Day Safaris
Responded Apr 7, 2020
Thank you so much for your review! What started out as just an inquiry for just yourself quickly grew into a decent sized group. Thank you for being the go to person on the ship when other passengers wanted to join the tour. We were so close to being able to show you our beautiful province. Hopefully in the future we will be able to get you on a safari! Thanks again for being the ships go to guy, it was a pleasure working with you! Kind Regards John Kearney
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Durban
from $167.36
More Info
from $133.21
More Info
from $206.47
More Info
from $239.10
More Info