Horseback Africa
Horseback Africa
5
About
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Horseback Africa and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles207 reviews
Excellent
185
Very good
13
Average
3
Poor
4
Terrible
2

Danielle Stuart
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
We had a great three-night stay at Horseback Africa. The calm and open environment allows you to feel like you are hours away from the busy city life. The horseback safari is amazing and there are plenty of animals to see; our guides were also incredibly knowledgable on the animals (and even the plants) we encountered on the trail. I would also recommend the animal interaction tour!!
The staff and hosts are friendly and helpful, and I would highly recommend staying here a few nights for a short getaway from the city.
Written October 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Moyahabo B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Friends
We did the animal encounter with the Lion walks. I really enjoyed it. The Crew is soo friendly, from stepping in and the last step I felt so welcomed. The Lion walks stood out, its scary at the beginning but enjoyable as it goes. Love it Love Horse Back definitely going back for more.
Written April 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

fireman452
Tallahassee, FL1,491 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2016 • Couples
Collin was not on the property when we were there, Matt was the person that took us on the walk. The young lions that made the short walk with us were very enthusiastic and a pleasure to be with, I wish we could have spent more time on the walk with them, but we can not say we were not warned, a young lady staying there from Canada told us the night before that her walk that day was also VERY short, the time spent with the cubs was great, and in fact the presentation made by Matt prior to the walk was MuCH longer than the actual walk itself. They are very concerned that they do not get painted with the same brush as other locations that use their older lions for hunting. They have great intentions to put their lions back in the wild in groups and are quick to point out behaviors that demonstrate their ability to do so. Know that your support of this project is going to people with the Best Intentions and they do their homework. Of course they lose some of their lions to disease etc, this is not a Disney Story, this the the natural world. We wish them the best. The accommodations are very basic e.g. do not expect a face cloth to wash with in the room and we would have thought for the price of about 126.00 per night that this would have been offered, but we also understand that they are working to promote Lions and need the support of those that stay there to make this happen.
Written May 28, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Samantha M
Boston, MA3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2017 • Solo
Have you ever dreamed of getting the chance to see some of the not for tourists part of a far off land such as Africa? How about making it extra special by taking a tour via ambulance ride? Well, Horseback Africa is your chance!

Start off your morning here with a cup of coffee and a haphazard briefing of horse safety. The instructor will gauge your level for riding by asking the sole question"how many times have you ridden a horse in your entire life?" Saying one time in your life (as a child being led in a line of horse) and that you are very cautious about horses somehow places you at an intermediate to advanced level.

Next, take a walk on the African wild side by being placed with a young crazy inexperienced horse, while the easiest beginner horse instead goes to a gentleman who stated a riding experience or 50-60 times.

After absolutely no care is put into horse assignments, you will have a very brief explanation of your horse and some confusing riding instructions. I was put to ease by being told "we call your horse Mary Jo, like marijuana, because she acts like she's on drugs". Lovely.

Now completely terrified and still confused about the instructions we were quickly given, we were placed on our horses and given a shot each of sherry. In my case, I wish it had been 15 shots. We watched a couple horses make huge green grassy dumps, and we were on our merry way.

Not having been given sufficient instruction on when or how to let your animal graze and if I should stop her if she starts waking too close out of the route toward animals or not, I was pretty stressed as we saw our first antelope. This is when I first found out that. "Oh the horse we assigned you really loves to just stop and eat along the way".

I had just barely started to feel mildly comfortable when our guide decided that it was time for us to trot. What? I can barely walk in this thing, and was expecting a leisurely stroll with the focus on animals. We did a slight trot and all was well. Then we continued. We were now made to stand up on the horses to have them pick up the speed while we stood up and down. It was sort of like what you'd do in a soul cycle or flywheel spinning class - except this was on a large speeding horse running through the jungle. A horse who had been described to me as "the one who acts like she's on drugs"

At this point I'm in panic attack mode, absolutely hate it and start crying. I tell the guides several times I'm a beginner, nervous, and not comfortable with this. Why they continued to have us trot and stand and run, I have no idea, as even I know common state dictates you shouldn't have a scared person on a horse.
Then came the final stretch. Now my heart is racing and I'm sweaty and actually physically crying on the horse. Our guide wants us to canter despite the fact that not all members of the group are prepared or comfortable with this (specifically me). My idea of keeping safety a top priority would to go the level of the most beginner of the group. I thought the goal of the safari was to safely see animals. Apparently not.

The guide makes a compromise to allow me to step aside with my horse to let the others run past. I ask won't this startle and excite her and make her misbehave? "No no she's fine just relax the harness and let her graze". Are you sure?! Meanwhile another guide is speed galloping back and forth past us with no care in the world while the other guides yell at him to slow down, which is making me extremely nervous. The group then starts to gallop on their horses past mine and lo and behold - to no ones surprise, my horse freaks out. She does that weird horse on back legs type of move and speeds backwards away from the group as fast as she can, sending me flying onto the grass.

The instructor looked at me laying their with, what I later found out to be a broken pelvis, and snapped at me "this is what happens when you're nervous and don't have control of your horse"

When I finally got back to the offices, after laying in pain the grass until someone could get a cell signal (while being aided only by another guest) the woman at reception acknowledged the situation by telling me that since I was headed to the ER she couldn't offer me the promised drink we were supposed to have for the lunch after. Oh okay.

There was a "walk with the lions" session following, and considering how the horse ride was I am glad I didn't see how that one played out.

Stay away, unless you consider an extraordinarily expensive , lengthy hospital stay in another country your idea of a good time. No refund offered, either.

Oh - and for an extra customer service gesture, They came into my hospital room shortly after to retrieve from me broken riding gear I still had on, as I lay there crying in bed.
Written November 24, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Do you not wonder why all the other responses are so positive?
Written December 5, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

canuck1663
Bradenton, FL8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014 • Couples
It was an amazing experience to interact with lions in the wild. The professional staff were very informative and safety conscious. This was the highlight of our trip.
Written September 11, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Escupazz22
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland102 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Couples
I would assume that there are not many places in the world where you can go for a walk with young lions, They are running free, scampering up trees and practicing their hunting skills on each other. On top, we even had the opportunity to Bottle Feed a two months old male cub. All this was accompanied by interesting facts about lions. Colin, the founder of this amazing place was able to trigger an awareness of the importance of their conservation. Thank you to everyone at Colin's Horseback for making our visit such an unforgetable experience !
Written February 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nicolette B
100 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2018 • Friends
Since 2005 I went there 3 times all together, the last time was Jan 2017, I couldn’t go that far back on “month visited”. The reason why I want to write something so long after is that I will not go again. The first time it was such a wonderful experience, a matching horse picked for you suiting your experience and character ( Cognac in my case), extremely friendly family who were treating you like valued individuals and making sure you had a lovely time seeing as many animals as possible coming close to them. That is the general idea as you are approaching other grass eating animals on a horse they are not frightened and you can get close to them. Over the years it has changed so much, like they are optimizing everything in order to get the most money out of every visitor with as little effort as possible. E.g. although we were a large group no chance anymore to get picked up at the hotel -we were told to take the train instead and get picked up from there -fair enough but when we got to the pick up point we had to wait because they were expecting more people to get the bus full- after a while the driver decided to go as the others didn’t show up- first thing when we arrived we get asked where the rest of our group is and even after we said we are a complete group and have nothing to do with their organization they really treated it as if it was our fault and we should be more people. The horse back safari was just about riding, we saw some animals in the far distance but it didn’t seam to be there aim to get close or see more, sorry but I can ride a horse anywhere that wasn’t the reason to go, this time the horse they picked for me wasn’t at all suitable, such a lazy unmotivated animal! No one cared though. The “finance manager” I think it’s the daughter in law got so annoyed with us while telling us where the ladies and lockers are because one of us pointed out some cute kittens. Ok it is her job to make sure everyone is paying but she was so rude and we got the feeling she hates human beings really or females maybe. She should not work with people at all! Before we got a lift back to the train station we had to wait around for ages for some people who weren’t in our group walking with the lions to get the bus full again. A hole day of waiting and traveling to see a couple of wilder beasts in the distance! The father and the two sons are extremely friendly and do an excellent job with the animals and I understand a lot of money is needed to make ends meet but as I know what it used to be like I am still very disappointed, like my colleagues in my group and we will not go again.
Written August 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We were trying to work out when you were here so that we can try and rectify the problem. You are welcome to write directly to us so that we can discuss in detail so that you feel better about it.
Written August 16, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vitor983
Cordeiro2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2013 • Friends
This is a must do on the Pretoria area. I spent a weekend at the lodge,did the horseback ride and the lion tour. The staff is super nice and we felt very welcome! I definitely recommend.
Written September 16, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MarijnS
Amsterdam, The Netherlands54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013 • Family
If you are looking for beautiful landscape, warm people, great accommodation and to be surrounded by the most beautiful animals all day....... Visit Colin's Horseback Africa... you won't regret it!!!! We stayed for 4 days and had the time of our lives!!! A good thing to know, is that all the work they do, they do with passion. It feels like you join a warm family. They have a great knowledge of lions, servals, horses, snakes and many other animals, and they treat them with a lot of respect. They are heavily involved in lion and serval conservation and awareness program. They will tell you all about it. Join them for a walk with lions, do a horseback safari or join them as a volunteer and help them out. Please join Horseback Africa for a wonderful experience!!!!!!!
Written September 3, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

1mlovinglife
Canberra20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2012 • Business
This is the place to go for a great horse ride. They take the time to match you to one of their many horses and adjust the ride to suit the group. The family are in to polo riding as well, lessons are available there too. The trail ride takes you through a large area where you get to see many different animals with ample opportunity to canter if you want to.

They also have a walk with the lions tour which is optional. They breed lions and you get the chance to get up close and cuddle the cubs, fantastic, where else can you do that really? They also have accommodation there. I have stayed there twice in different types of rooms and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a family company and go out of their way to make sure you are happy and get what you need. I am planning to go back there in a couple of weeks.
Written January 9, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 161
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Horseback Africa - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Pretoria HotelsPretoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pretoria
All things to do in Pretoria
Day Trips in Pretoria
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars