We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colona Divers Marsa Alam

Features Animals
Marsa Alam, Egypt
More
About Colona Divers Marsa Alam
This tranquil coast line which is more than 100 kilometers long and in generally referred as ”Marsa Alam” is a remote location with untouched diving sites and desert views. While remote, it is easy to reach with direct flights to Marsa Alam or via Hurghada. We have daily diving and snorkeling trips where we choose the coral reef along the coast depending on the weather, wind and our guest’s experience. There are many excellent dive sites to spot turtles, dolphins and even a dugong! We pride ourselves with the comfort of our fleet. Our boats are all equipped for divers and snorkelers. However, if you wish to come out with us for a relaxing day without getting your hair wet, you will find the boats both spacious and comfortable.
Travelers talk about
200Reviews12Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 187
  • 10
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carolyn B wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
I went diving for 2 days with Colona. I had the best time. The dive instructors are very experienced. They were patient with me, helped me out when I needed it and showed me the best that Marsa Alam has to offer under water. I would not hesitate for a bit to go diving with them again.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from NiklasF_11, Manager at Colona Divers Marsa Alam
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Thanks a lot for your great review. We hope top see you here again in the near future.
Read more
Paul E wrote a review Dec 2019
7 contributions
We can’t thank lisa enough for all the hard work she done for us as Lerner divers she was nice and calm and talked everything through would highly recommend also a big thanks to jimmy and Mohamed very friendly staff
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NiklasF_11, General Manager at Colona Divers Marsa Alam
Responded Jan 1, 2020
Thanks a lot for your kind review. Hope to see you here again in the near future.
Read more
pariseri wrote a review Dec 2019
Paris, France38 contributions42 helpful votes
We did a one week diving with Colona. The experience was far from perfect. During the two first days we had a dive master that was swimming around very fast and it seems that is only job was to make us stay at the same exact depth than him and not more than a few meters after him. It was very annoying. He was pretty aggressive asking to stay close to him .I have around 150 dives and I never experienced this kind of behavior. Because of this aggressiveness, after a dive I didn’t do, my wife come back crying while she is comfortable under water and always try to stay close to the DM as she is not adventurous. We believe that the dive master was exhausted by too much days of work and we are not angry at him but more to the fact that he have to handle this problem alone because it seems there isn’t any management in this dive shop. Nobody come to ask us what the problem was, except another dive master. The lack of management is total as every morning when coming on the boat nobody knew at what spot we were going and who was diving with whom. The decisions were made when sailing, pretty strange!!!They also try to give you the more weight they can, a way to be quiet I imagine. Another bad thing on this boat was the food, pretty poor and almost the same every day ,no snacks ( but ,and it’s a good thing, sea sick tablets),after dive like in almost every boats…It seem a normal thing as one day we took another boat that the dive shop rent and even a dive master told me that the food will be better, and it was, with snacks after the dives. And the food came for the same price. Then why did we dived one week with them (and it seems the weather was not enough good to go to Elphinstone)? Mostly by laziness, we had to find another dive shop, and because all in all the team was nice as was the boat ( even if we were a lot to gear up at the same time) but we will not dive with a Colona dive shop again and also we sometimes dives at 8 divers for one DM even if most of us was enough experienced. We don't plan to dive again with Colona but we hope that our feedback will help the management to improve the shop.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NiklasF_11, Manager at Colona Divers Marsa Alam
Responded Dec 30, 2019
Hi, My name is Jimmie Gunnarsson and I am the manager for Colona Divers, Marsa Alam. I am really sorry to hear that we were not able to give you the dive holiday you expected. We are a small dive operator and therefore should be able to be more personal and flexible to look after our guests requests and needs. This we have apparently failed when you were with us. I will not try to find any excuses for what happened the week you were here but I will try to explain and give my point of view. Regarding the dive guide there are no excuses, that kind of behavior can only be necessary if you have less experienced divers but since you are more experienced you shouldn’t have had that from the guide. No matter experience level of our guests we always try to help them improve their diving and just putting more and more weights on is not helping, there are many other advices you can give regarding buoyancy if that is the problem so again, my apologies for this. Regarding the dive sites this is actually how we are working, we decide in the morning where we are going, taking the weather and also where our divers have been before into consideration. If we then see that there are many boats on the spot we have decided it can be changed again to do the best for our divers, BUT it should be communicated on the boat to our guests. We actually very rarely have complaints for the food but what bothers me here is that you experienced the food on the other boat so much better. We have to step it up for sure then. Regarding Elphinstone we are going when we consider the weather to be ok and also if we have enough divers to go. Since we are a small dive operator this can be a problem sometimes, but normally we share boat with other dive centers. So for this matter, I don’t know if we considered the weather not good enough, or if it was any other reasons for not going. I am grateful that you took your time to write us this review since this hopefully will make us better and for others not to get the same experience that you had.
Read more
CJM1955 wrote a review Dec 2019
Redhill, United Kingdom32 contributions42 helpful votes
We did seven days diving with Colona Divers Marsa in October 2019. We were collected every day from the Ja Lamaya hotel and taken to Port Galib which is about a 15 minute drive. We had pre-booked so they knew we were coming, this is advisable as they are very popular and can get busy in peak season. Good sized boat with two toilets. You can either go up to sundeck sun and shade available, but if you don’t want any sun you can just sit inside. The dive guides provided a good briefing and generally the groups were were split into similar experience and air consumption. Normally one dive before lunch and then another a couple of hours after lunch depending on the location and the weather. Lunch was good and quite varied and there always seem to be enough food. The boat crew to ask for cash payment for the lunch as it is not included in the cost of the diving. After arriving back at the port the minibus normally waiting and another 15 minutes we were back to the hotel. A very professional dive school but operated in a relaxed and friendly manner whilst always ensuring that the safety of the customers is paramount. The boat crew were friendly and helpful. The dive guides extremely welcoming and were happy to mingle and chat to the guests. A really enjoyable 7 days diving. Jimmie, your team are a real credit to you. We will be back. Thanks very much Colin and Jennie
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NiklasF_11, Owner at Colona Divers Marsa Alam
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Thanks a lot for your review. Hope to see you here again the near future!
Read more
JonandNyc wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at the TUI Sensimar Alaya hotel in October 2019, booked two days diving with Colona through our TUI Rep. Collected from the hotel and taken by bus 15mins to Port Ghalib to board the boat. On time, no fuss, straight to the boat, equipment already on board waiting for you. Dive and boat staff all very helpful. Approx 30mins by boat to the dive sites and lunch on board good. Second day the boat was a little quieter so option for third dive in the afternoon. This is when we managed to find a seahorse! Loved it, absolutely amazing, made my holiday. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NiklasF_11, General Manager at Colona Divers Marsa Alam
Responded Nov 5, 2019
Thanks a lot for your nice review. Hope to see you again at the Red Sea in the near future.
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Marsa Alam
from $62.57
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $184.62
More Info