Alaska Zipline Adventures
Alaska Zipline Adventures
5
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Zipline through a beautiful Alaska rainforest surrounded by lush trees, mountain views and rushing streams on an unforgettable experience, never leaving the treetops! Top off the journey with an Axe Toss and embrace your inner lumberjack. No hand-braking required, our friendly and knowledgeable guides take care of the all gear and equipment for you. A fun activity for the whole family and people of all ages, both young and young at heart! Complimentary souvenir provided, just our way of saying thanks for spending your time with us!
Juneau, Alaska

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


5.0
983 reviews
Excellent
938
Very good
33
Average
6
Poor
4
Terrible
2

Paul D
Glasgow, UK6 contributions
Jul 2021
You cannot find a better experience. If you're afraid of heights then this won't help but the view from the top and the speed that you go at keeps the scream count high. Must do experience.
Written October 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Erica W
1 contribution
Sep 2023 • Friends
This Zipline adventure was even better than we expected!! Claire and Tams took such great care of us, kept the energy high and showed us a fun time! You guys made it a seamless and entertaining experience. Thank you so much for the fun time in Juneau!
Written October 5, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jonathan T
2 contributions
Aug 2023
Our family of 5 had so much fun doing this. Tams and Karin were the best!!! So much energy, easy to talk to, and a great attitude. My 11 year old daughter, who was originally very apprehensive about the whole thing, was encouraged and ended up having a blast. It was an adventure we'll remember!!
Written August 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

pand155
Beverly, MA64 contributions
On a rainy day in August eight of our family members are going to Eaglecrest ski area to do the “Alaska Zip Adventure”. We ride out in the van and after a fifteen-minute drive we arrive at the mountain and enter the lodge. The guides begin to explain the procedures for the activity and they have us sign our life away by completing a release form that doesn’t hold them responsible for anything. Because I have ALS this trip to Alaska and the zip line adventure are part of my “Bucket List”. We have been planning this trip for a year and a zip line activity is high on my list of must dos. As we line up to get our gear the woman who is in charge pulls me aside and says she needs to talk with and leads me to an upstairs room. She asks why I have a neck brace on and I tell her I have ALS how it affects me and why I’ve come and to ride the zip wire. She says she going to have to talk with the “Alaska Zip Adventure” owner. She leaves me standing there for at least ten minutes then returns to say I can’t ride the zip line. I ask what skills or ability do you have to have to do the ride. She says their insurance won’t let me do the ride. I say I‘ve already signed my life away with their release form and will sign any thing else they want me to sign so that they won't be held responsible. She says the owner read over the insurance policy and he won’t let me on the ride. But with every question I ask all she keeps doing is hiding behind her insurance policy. What is the point of an adventure program not letting a person who is experiencing a disability from participating in their activity? She couldn’t explain to me what skills you had to have to be successful or how I was deficient. Since that day Alaska Zip Adventurer has added a statement on the registration page of their web site saying saying, ”that people who are pregnant or have medical conditions are not suitable”. Does that now mean that someone with “hay fever” can’t do the ride?
It’s a quiet ride in the van back to Juneau. I thought adventure sports are about taking a risk unfortunately Alaska Zip Adventure owners won’t take any.
Written September 28, 2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we genuinely care about their experiences. Our top priority is the safety of our participants. Our safety record and our reputation are a reflection of these values. Our website has included this statement since our operations began, and it has not changed: "This tour is not suitable for people who are pregnant or have medical conditions." Also, on the page where people book tours on our website it further says "This tour is not recommended for pregnant women or persons prone to seizures or those with neck, back or shoulder problems." We regret that this guest was disappointed by not being able to participate, but guest safey is always our top priority, and we don't want to do anything that would compromise that commitment. We want to ensure that each person has the best possible experience on our tour.
Written November 16, 2008
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Whirly1
Milwaukee, WI80 contributions
The zipline was something that I had been looking forward to for quite a while. But as we finally entered the room where the equipment was kept, I had second thoughts -- after all, I am almost 61 years old and not exactly a super fit athlete.
Almost immediately a staff member approached me and quietly asked, "You're a little scared about this, aren't you?"
I nodded my head and felt a little embarrassed. Without missing a beat, Evan told me that I had nothing to worry about - he would personally look after me. And he did!!!
He helped me put on my gear and just had a calming way about him. Soon we were at the practice zipline and I just wanted to be able to do it.
The instructor was very thorough with the rules and procedures and one by one we each had our practice "zip". I managed to zip along the short cable and safely onto the platform.
The staff member on the landing platform immediately praised and encouraged me. I was ready to go!!!
All 7 ziplines were great. It was an amazing adventure that I wouldn't have been able to do without the dedicated and competent staff at Alaska Zipline Adventures.
Don't let age or nervousness stop you. You won't regret it.
Bravo to the people at Alaska Zipline Adventures!!
Written August 31, 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JuneauAlaskanMom
Juneau5 contributions
Sep 2011 • Couples
I have been zipping in Costa Rica and the other zip line company in Juneau before (which was fun) but I had the most fun with Alaska Zip. I'm a local Juneauite and when my parents were visiting we did this tour. My dad can't super walk well due to back surgery 4 months ago but he was able to do this tour with ease and he had a blast.

My previous 2 zip experiences were similar procedure since you wear a glove with a leather patch on it which you keep on the cable above you to serve as your own break. While I did enjoy this at the time and I thought the alternative would be boring compared to breaking yourself. Boy, was I wrong! Since I didn't have to break myself (they do it for you) I was free to go hands-free, twistie, and adventurously.

This zip line style is perfect for the adventurous and those afraid of heights alike. There were 2 women in our group who were very afraid of heights. Because of the safety measures upon safety measures and the ability to sit back and enjoy the ride without worrying about breaking, these women were able to overcome their fears. Also, they have a couple of beginner zips that are low to the ground if you need to settle some nerves.

I was very happy with our experience and I'll definitely use friends and family visiting as an excuse to go again!s
Written September 30, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

chicagohollie
Chicago, IL4 contributions
Zip-lining looks much more dangerous and scary than it is when you actually do it. At Alaksa Zipline Adventures, they take extra safety precautions. There are two lines (the main line and a backup line). Each line can hold 5000 lbs (people zip one at a time). There are two clips that hold you to the lines (again, each holds 5000 lbs). You are clipped onto a safety line or the zipline AT ALL TIMES, so there is never a vulnerable moment.

However, the best part is that it is so FUN! It is a way to view the Tongass, the largest temperate rainforest, from a completely new perspective. Children and the elderly can both zipline, so it can truly be a family activity. It is really fun to zip through the trees, but it is also fun to watch your friends zip, too.

The owners are knowledgable, fun and conscientious. This was one of the most fun things we did on our Alaska trip! Their website is alaskazip.com.
Written May 30, 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

janders45
Union City21 contributions
Aug 2014 • Couples
My wife and I, both retired and in our late 60's, felt a bit of trepidation before embarking on this adventure. We felt more comfortable after the guide (whose name I forget, but I do recall that she was helpful and friendly and also quite attractive!) explained the safety features and got us all harnessed up. The short practice zip helped too, but there was still an element of fear when I stepped off that first platform. Then the fear was overcome by the pure exhilaration of the moment! I would brag about having overcome my fear, but in reality I must confess that the risk factor at this zipline is vanishingly small - very near zero. It was a great experience looking down from a platform high up in a Sitka spruce that was already tall before Columbus ever left Spain, surrounded by a virgin forest of spruce and hemlock. Who would have guessed that there was a rainforest in Alaska? I highly recommend this experience. It's something that you will never forget.
Written February 3, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for highlighting some of the features that make our tour truly unique! I am thrilled you and your wife were daring enough to try out our zipline (and perhaps overcome your fears a little). There is definitely no other feeling like soaring through the trees, feeling the cool mountain breeze and enjoying the splendor of the Old Growth rainforest. Our guides are there every step of the way to ensure you are safe and comfortable but also to add to the fun. Thank you again for your glowing recommendation for other who are perhaps a little hesitant about ziplining and unsure of what to expect. We hope you are now hooked on zipping and will see you in the trees again soon! Cheers!
Written February 9, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jake m
Houston, TX1 contribution
Sep 2013 • Friends
This tour started on a cold rainy day with a late bus arrival to pick us up. After freezing in the cold for a late bus, we were corralled into the back of a small cramped bus with the rest of our group. We were sitting in the back, but as the bus drove on a windy road we were doing all that we could to prevent from getting car sick in a stuffy crammed van. Once we arrived the everyone was pleasant. We proceeded to start the zip portion of the tour and it is just a weak tour. On a scale of 1-10 in excitement, this zipping was a 2. We felt like we were just herded through the motions like thousands of others before us without any personal touch. It didn't help that the weather was horrible and we were part of a large group. After the zipping we were given the "opportunity" to buy more stuff and loaded up into the crammed van again. We just expected much more. Our opinion was it wasn't worth the money.
Written June 8, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your tour experience. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad, and use our Tripadvisor reviews as an opportunity to evaluate our operations and look for ways to provide a quality tour. Second, I apologize that our zipline tour did not exceed your expectation and regret to learn that you felt you did not receive the personal touch you were looking for. I would like to take a moment to address some of the concerns that you outlined in your comments. Our zipline course is located in the heart of the Tongass National Forest which is a temperate rainforest. The Tongass receives quite a bit of rainfall each year, keeping the forest green and lush especially in September, which is the beginning of our fall season in Juneau. I am sorry that the cold rainy day dampened your experience but unfortunately the weather is out of our control. However, we do provide extra rain gear to add to our guests layers and there is a warm, cozy lodge to dry out in before returning to your ship or hotel. For our tour groups we try to never have more than 12 people ziplining together which is significantly smaller than other zipline tour operators in Southeast Alaska. There are two guides that accompany each group and we strongly feel it is our guides that offer the personal touch. We hire the most friendly and personable people we can find who enjoy sharing Juneau, the outdoors and the forest with our visitors. I am sad to learn that you felt rushed or herded along through the tour. It is our desire to make connections with everyone we meet and as a co-owner very involved in the daily operations of our tour, we will continue to oversee and encourage our staff to go above and beyond to ensure our guests are safe and having a good time. The zipline course itself has 7 ziplines and a suspension bridge, ranging from 100ft high to 800ft long. We feel our videos and pictures on our website and social media sites provide an accurate sense of what our participants are signing up for before coming on the tour and it is our hope that our guests find zipping through the treetops and ending the excursion with axe throwing a great way to spend their time exploring the rainforest and Juneau area in a unique and thrilling way. Back at our lodge after the tour we do have a gift shop available if guests would like to enjoy a locally brewed beer or take home a souvenir from their trip but we never pressure our guests to buy anything. The gift shop is there as an added service for those guests wanting to take a T-shirt or mug home with them to remember their zipline trip or time in Alaska. I strongly feel we offer quality and Alaska made products and none of our staff work for commission or required to sell a certain percentage of merchandise. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We will continue our efforts to strive to offer an exceptional tour experience and will take your review into consideration. - Gin Anderson
Written June 14, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RamFamMP
Menlo Park, CA76 contributions
Jul 2019 • Family
Matt and Jillian were the best guides! Warm, friendly, cheerful, funny and most importantly - safe! We were a group that ranged in age from ten to fifty eight, and each one of us had a terrific time. Our guides made this great experience that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Juneau.
Written July 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 979

Alaska Zipline Adventures - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Alaska Zipline Adventures Information

Excellent Reviews

938

Very Good Reviews

33

Alaska Zipline Adventures Photos

449