We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Ascending Path
Visit and experience a unique Alaskan wilderness on our authentic glacier adventures. Within an hour of Anchorage we can have you on a glacier, and enjoying real Alaska on a spectacular guided hike. An amazing train ride gets us to the Spencer Whistle Stop which offers excellent Iceberg viewing and Glacier hiking. Your family can even paddle a Tandem Sea Kayak past icebergs and ride a Heli to climb on the Spencer Glacier itself.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
307Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 296
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
emptynesting2008 wrote a review Sep 2019
Omaha, Nebraska39 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Just when I thought our first trip to Alaska couldn't get any better, we go Kayaking with Ascending Path and Jonathon as our guide with Andy's help to get up past the ice bergs and on our way. Jonathon was amazing, informative and made our first kayaking trip EPIC!. August 16th, Spencer Glacier had a major calving event and of course the winds were against us. The winds pushed all the huge icebergs against the shore where our kayaks were to launch. Jonathon and crew were forward thinking enough so they staged kayaks further out were we could avoid the majority of the glaciers. Saved the DAY! I highly recommend Ascending Path. We visited with a 'local' on a Denali Bus tour and she echoed our sentiments that Ascending Path is the best for kayaking adventure.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from APmanagement, General Manager at Ascending Path
Responded Sep 27, 2019
Hello, I am so happy you enjoyed your time kayaking at Spencer Glacier with Jonathan! Thank you for the review, and I hope we get the chance to adventure with you in the future. Next, you'll have to give Ice Climbing a try!
Read more
VJD505 wrote a review Sep 2019
Oregon Coast, Oregon272 contributions95 helpful votes
A couple of weeks ago we went on the kayak with icebergs tour. Originally born and raised in the desert, the closest I'd ever come to an iceberg is watching Titanic lol. We were staying in Anchorage and took the train to Spencer Glacier. Our guide was Steven (sp?) originally from Florida. Steven was so friendly and professional. He met with us on the train where he provided us with a brown bag lunch. When we arrived at Spencer Whistle Stop he had a bus waiting where he then drove us to a yurt where we gussied up for our adventure. He provided us with a brief safety training and took us out to our kayaks. It was an amazing adventure! Steven was informative and patient...we didn't feel that he was rushed. He took his time and gave us a history of the location and the glacier and then took us on a small hike. He talked about not only the glacier and the icebergs but the incoming vegetation and the meaning behind it. All in all it was an incredible adventure and he made it that much better because it's obvious that he loves what he does and his enthusiasm made all the difference! It was a nice train ride back to Anchorage, save for the annoying teenagers back and forth, in and out every few minutes. The only thing that was a slight inconvenience was the directions that Ascending Path provides to the train station. The directions say "park across from the Ulu factory under the bridge", VERY confusing; if you're facing the front of the factory, it's behind you and wayyy to the left at the old fashioned train station..we almost missed our train because GPS only got us to the general area. Also, what would be great is if parking would be included with the price of the tour. Provide a parking slip we can place on our dashboard and that would be much appreciated. The parking requires you to download an app and pay through there after setting up a user id and all the yuck that goes with it... When you're about to miss your train that is VERY stressful add to that a surprise parking fee of $15... bummer! But at the end of the day all was forgiven after a wonderful adventure. Thank you Steven for a great tour. We highly recommend this tour, it was very relaxing and worth every penny!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from APmanagement, General Manager at Ascending Path
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Hello! Thank you for your review. Stephen is amazing, and I am so glad you enjoyed your experience. Spencer is a truly magical location, and we love showcasing its unique beauty. Also, thank you for your notes about parking. We strive to streamline experiences, and will address parking concerns prior to the 2020 Summer season.
Read more
Josh H wrote a review Sep 2019
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada56 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked the afternoon kayaking trip. The day started out great with the Alaska Railroad ride from Anchorage to the Spencer Whistle stop. The train ride is very scenic, with beautiful views of the bay. The on-board staff are very friendly and narrate the trip, pointing out whales, moose, eagles, and other wildlife if they show up. Our AP guides found us on the train and gave us an excellent lunch. When we got off, they put us on a bus and took us into the lake on which Spencer Glacier is situated. Unfortunately, things turned south after that. They gave everyone a thorough training in how to gear up for kayaking, how to steer, and how to paddle. They asked our group of about 15-20 how many of us had kayaked before... I was one of about 6 that hadn't. When they put us out on the water, we quickly discovered that the conditions were not good, with strong glacial winds blowing in the wrong direction. About 3 kayaks including mine had trouble navigating the icebergs and couldn't keep up with the others. Very challenging for someone who hasn't operated a rudder before. After about 10 minutes, they had everyone turn around and go back to shore, where we were informed that they were going to have to cancel the paddle because it wasn't safe. Except then they didn't cancel it. Then they said that they could take some people out and wanted others to do a hike instead. We were basically "voluntold" to hike even though we wanted to try again. It was extremely disappointing to watch them take 80% of the group back on the lake and then have 6 of us pretty much getting segregated as the ones who didn't make the cut. So we ended up in a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 young kids plus a guide) hiking to a lookout point to see the glacier from a distance instead of kayaking up to it. To be fair, our hiking guide Jonathan was awesome and the lookout was the best part of the day, and I appreciate the correct choice to put safety first. But coming 3000 miles to Alaska to kayak and then being told we couldn't, while others could, was an enormous bummer. If they had grounded the whole group, it wouldn't have been so disheartening, but it was only a few of us, so I felt kind of singled out. The waiver did not indicate that experience was realistically required. They told us they'd refund the difference in price between the guided hiking trip and the guided kayaking trip, we will see if they do. For just a hike, the price was too high.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from APmanagement, Manager at Ascending Path
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Thank you very much for your detailed review about your experience. I'm glad to hear you had an overall fun time on the trip to include the train ride, the hike and the incredible lookout views of the glacier, lake and icebergs! Unfortunately as you mentioned, in the rare event the weather/winds become an obstacle, it is our awesome guides discretion whether to continue on the lake with some or all members of the group. You had just 14 other guests with you that day and we apologize for this disheartening decision which was based on safety. As you have since seen, we have refunded you the difference between kayaking and hiking and we hope you will adventure with us again next time you are in this beautiful state of Alaska. Cheers!
Read more
Blaine wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
My girlfriend and I had an amazing time kayaking and hiking near Spencer Glacier! The Ascending Path crew was very organized, knowledgeable, friendly, and overall just a fun team to hang out with. We would highly recommend the glacier kayaking to all those visiting Alaska. Special thanks to Matt W., Andy Bandy, and Jonathan for making this adventure so memorable!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from APmanagement, Manager at Ascending Path
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Thank you for your awesome review of our stellar guides and your Kayaking with Icebergs experience out at Spencer Glacier! We hope you will adventure with us again next time you are in Alaska!
Read more
Jamie W wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
My family and I had an amazing time kayaking in Spencer Lake among beautiful icebergs with Spencer glacier in the background. The guides were fun, informative, and had everyone's safety in mind. I would highly recommend this excursion as well as this company!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from APmanagement, Manager at Ascending Path
Responded Sep 5, 2019
Thank you for your review! Spencer Glacier is truly magical, and we love showcasing its unique beauty.
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Girdwood
from $185.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $598.27
More Info
from $434.81
More Info